We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newfound Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newfound Lodge
1192 Tsali Boulevard, Highway 441 N., Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
williamson, wv
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have stayed at Newfound Lodge several times, The rooms are always clean, if a bit outdated. The new ower seems to be making improvements in landscaping, etc. Love sitting on the balcony and wtching the river flow and seeing ducks, otters, etc. will definitely e back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
27
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

It is the first to
E we stayed here and the rooms were filthy and we found dirty ubderwear in one of our bathrooms! Will not EVER be returning! We told the manger about the dirty rooms and they only gave us $20 back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmond, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Room outdated. Linens old and very very worn. Shower curtain was stained with mildew, not just a couple stains but the whole bottome of the curtain. Wallpaper peeling off in several places. Room smelled like a wet dirty dog. Something bit my legs in several places during the night. Definately not worth $78/night. I definately would not stay here again..

Room Tip: For the price you can get a much better room across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Love staying at the Newfound Lodge, always stay there when I go to Cherokee, this time was great, just as before when I stayed. My cousin and I stayed Friday night and Saturday night. It was great, sitting on the balcony watching the river. And the beautiful groundhog came out and looked at us, sit up on his back legs. Heard his name is George!! Loved George! Look forward to going back, hopefully it will be in October. Staff was wonderful and very polite. I think Sheila was the one that talked with us, it was so very nice!! Thank you so much Sheila for everything you done for Patsy (my cousin) and myself - Karen Pearson. Also ate at the Newfound Lodge Restaurant, it was fantastic also, we ate breakfast there this morning!! Room was very clean, beds were comfortable, view was amazing!!!!

Room Tip: I have stayed on the second floor with a king size bed twice, balcony overlooking river, beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

An inexpensive place to stay for a night in Cherokee, N.C. It's on a main thoroughfare in the Cherokee Indian Reservation, one lined with Indian t-shirt and gift shops. It doesn't have much curb appeal and it isn't fancy but the rooms are nice sized with a small refrigerator. Most importantly, each room has a balcony with rocking chairs overlooking the river. One could sit, rock and enjoy the flowing river for hours. There are ducks who like to be fed and a beaver or muskrat, not sure what it was, but it liked French Bread. It isn't fancy but it was just fine except no wifi. The lobby smells of smoke. One is offered the Comfort Inn lobby across the street if wifi is needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawndale,nc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights when the trout derby was going on. we arrived at 11 that moring an room was ready its a large room an very clean to be an older motel. staff was realy nice.not bad for the price we do plan on staying at this motel next time we come to cherokee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

It was $75 on a thursday night. Was really looking for cheaper from the reviews. It was clean and the staff very nice! The private balcony overlooking the river is nice. Would most likely stay again. Close to Harrahs too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newfound Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newfound Lodge

Address: 1192 Tsali Boulevard, Highway 441 N., Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Newfound Hotel Cherokee
Newfound Motel Cherokee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newfound Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Newfound Lodge to your Saves list