We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean room. Good view from balcony. Helpful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Cherokee

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Cherokee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Cherokee
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   44 Tsalagi Road, US 19 South, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very clean room. Good view from balcony. Helpful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Just returned from staying at Comfort Inn on Tsalagi Rd Cherokee NC on
Friday. Was concerned about hotel from reading reviews. However, we were not disappointed the room was clean bed very comfortable. Had separate sitting room, one sink in hallway and one in bathroom. Had requested balcony on river and this was very relaxing. Desk clerks were very helpful. Continental breakfast room did not have doors that were locked so you could go in anytime.. Had use of the microwave anytime we needed if we had something in room that needed to be heated. Only thing that we could have had extra was fridge. Stayed a week and hope to go back next November.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    51
    25
    15
    8
See reviews for
32
84
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Pros: The exterior has a very New England looking charm to it. Rooms had 2 queens with a separate living area. Balcony overlooking creek. Room has 2 vanities with sinks. One was inside bathroom and the other outside bathroom. Breakfast area was nice with waffles and the regular free stuff.

Cons: None

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Good location, great room, great view, nice balcony. No internet as advertised, but wireless in the lobby. Room was big, big hill down to the river, peaceful setting. The continental breafast is pretty bare, but the room, pool, view and location cerainly makes up for it. For a mountain property in Cherokee, this is one of the better ones. No elevator, so be sure to request a ground floor room if you can't take the stairs. We did not get the room we requested, but since it was not available we were upgraded. First one we went to had no view with a high wall balcony, but they gladly moved us. Front desk needs a little bit more help with customer service, but overall for Cherokee we were pleased.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Ga.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

The room was just okay. The bathroom is really small and the air conditioner seems to stop working at night. Both nights we stayed, we woke up sweating. The front desk clerk that checked me in has got to be one of the rudest I have come across in all my traveling. She never said anything except to "sign here". I probably would not choose this hotel again when I am in Cherokee. The river view was okay. Very far away down a really steep hill. Okay going down but coming up....... The grandkids did enjoy the pool the days we were there, tho.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed in early June, 2009. The promised free "high speed internet access" is a myth. The rooms have no WiFi. The hotel possesses 5 Ethernet adapters and once those have been handed out, you're out of luck. The desk clerk told me I could access their WiFi from the sitting area in the lobby, so I bundled up my laptop and took it there, but was unable to connect. Just as well - they would have kicked me out at 11:00 pm when the night clerk came on duty anyway. If this is the best a place can do for internet access, they have no business advertising that it's available. The hotel also advertised a shuttle to the casino. Turns out it's a shuttle the casino operates (not the hotel) and there was a charge for it. We never saw the shuttle stop at the hotel and ended up driving there ourselves. The room itself was acceptable with a pleasant view of the river out the back. While I wouldn't call it "infested", we did find see small flying insects in the room and some small crawling bugs by the back door that opened to the balcony. The continental breakfast was about a "B-"; overall, this Comfort Inn rates about "C-".

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Don't expect to use the internet! Wireless did not work. Front desk clerk said it wasn't working so he gave me a ethernet brdge to use and that didn't work. I'm a Choice Hotels Diamond Elite member and asked for my points back because I could not work from my room and had to now leave early to go back home. The clerk said he'd have to talk to the manager and I asked to have the manager call me on the cell. Instead, the clerk said he called the manager and the manager said to tell me no. He didn't have the balls to call me himself and explain. Merry Christmas! I stay 60-80 times a year in Choice Hotels and this is the worst treatment I've received. Whatever happened to Satisfaction guranteed?

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Internet
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

We had several problems with this hotel. For one, they mixed up our last name with our first name on the reservation so they couldn't find it. Finally they straightened that out. Then when we went to the room, we slowly started realizing that it was crawling with bugs. At first glance, the room looked fine. But then we noticed there were small roaches on the night stand, migrating towards the bed. After a while, I had killed over 2 dozen roaches. My husband wanted to check his work email and the only place the Internet worked was at the front desk, even though "free high speed Internet" was heavily advertised. We were so disgusted by the roaches that we decided to check out and the front desk guy said we wouldn't be charged. We hope that's true and we keep checking our account to make sure.

This place is bug infested so do yourself a favor and stay away!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — bugs!
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Cherokee

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Cherokee Hotel
Comfort Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Cherokee Nc
Address: 44 Tsalagi Road, US 19 South, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Cherokee 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Cherokee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.