We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and Wildlife” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mile High Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mile High Campground
Save
You added Mile High Campground to your Saves list
Box 30, Bradley Loop Road, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Views and Wildlife”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a private campground right off the blue ridge parkway which is at a mile high elevation. Campground host was very friendly and accomodating for us to pick our own site. We chose site 21 which like many other sites offered spectacular mountain views and was also very spacious and private. If I was rating the views alone it would easily be a five star rating. We saw an elk each evening during sunset hour each night we stayed. Plus the view of the sunset was gorgeous.

I would like to emphasize that although private this campground is very primitive. Yes they offer hot showers but the facilities are not well maintained and very primitive. In addition, their is only one bathroom with hot showers in the front of the campground and flushing toilets in only one other location for the entire campground. We used our outside shower and used their bathroom facilities only if needed. The campground host said they were going to update the showers this year and adding additional flushing toilets.

In conclusion, in spite of the description of the bathrooms, we left with plans of returning because of the views, the wildlife and the understanding of what we can expect of primitive facilities.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I and our friends have enjoyed this place now for many years. We usually come on Memorial Day weekend as we did this year. It did not seem like the camp was ready for guests. The bathrooms were not as clean as they could have been. The camp sink was filthy and clogged up. There was a lot of debris in the bushes, just at the edge of our campsite, things like a bed pillow, etc. not just a candy wrapper or something. This will not keep us from coming back but your prices have gone up. The care should at least be no less that you take to prepare for us.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a nice getaway for our 1 year anniversary. After reading reviews about MileHigh Campground, we decided this was our place. However after driving 7 & 1/2 hours to get there and checking in to our bunk house, we found a rickety shanty full of dirt, leaves, spiders, cob webs, etc. the floor was 1/4 inch plywood and the fiberglass roof had holes which were patched up with bud light beer boxes and duct tape!! We paid $60 for 2 nights here and when we went back to the "host" for a refund, he said all deposits were non-refundable. Don't let the website's beautiful pictures fool you, we were afraid to enter the "new" shower house. It's a shame that such an amazing view and location were trashed and were so misleading. Go elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our family has gone the last two years and it was our best of the year both times. There are flushing toilets and hot showers for the wife and a sense of solitude on getting away for me. nothing to fancy but clean and well kept. We tent camp so its great in the middle of the summer since it doesn't get to hot up there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kite
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have been staying here for years. We always get a bunkhouse cabin. Host are friendly, helpful, and most of all we are one big family. Can't wait until we go again...

Room Tip: We like the cabins best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcampbell53@yahoo.com
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Mile High Campground. We had a large campsite with a small fire ring and a beautiful view. The campsites are well spaced from each other.

The bathrooms are pretty rustic, made of plywood, and the potty rooms, at least were clean. The shower rooms were kind of gross--I had my shower shoes and I needed them! The sink was pretty nasty with hair and dirt behind the fixtures. Sorry, but I notice things like that!

My biggest complaint about the campground was the fact that ALL of the trash bins are open. I have always understood that it is not the right thing to do for the wildlife in the area to feed them people food. All of the National Park campgrounds have closed trash bins and post signs all over the place asking campers not to feed the bears. So why does this campground ignore that premise? Is the owner trying to invite bears because they think it will attract campers hoping to see some wildlife? Don't know if I'll go back...

Room Tip: If you go, request a site with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was our first time here, and our first time in the Smokies. We considered the NP's Balsam Mountain campground, but after checking it out, glad that we stayed at MHC. We were tent camping, but noticed every kind of mode there - rv's, popups, 5th wheel, etc.
Pro's: great views, outstanding hospitality, interesting wildlife sightings, QUIET, sites had privacy, awesome sunrises, sunsets, stargazing, hot water, showers, firewood, spacious sites, uncrowded (we arrived w/o a reservation but had plenty to choose from), at least 10-15 degrees cooler than other campgrounds in the valley, which was our primary reason for going there. Each site is unique in size, depth, view, distance to bathroom, etc. No cookie cutter sites like in the NP campgrounds. Thursday night potluck gathering with other campers was a blast, and some of the best food I've ever had while camping!
Cons: bathrooms are "rustic" but hey, they don't advertise anything but "primitive" so you know that going in! A few steps up from an outhouse (not heated, lights only at certain times of the day run by a generator). Depending on which site you are at you may have a bit of a hike to get to the bathroom if you don't have a trailer or rv, so keep that in mind if you have children or frequency issues.

Other: they have a Dutch Oven cook off there the last weekend of July which sounds like a lot of fun, but if you plan to go, definitely make a reservation as it sounds like it's pretty full
up then. Some of the sites are small but perfect for backpacking-sized tents, very few of the sites look big enough for larger trailers and RVs.

For the sake of comparison, the Balsam mountain campground has bathrooms with flush toilets, but no hot water/showers, the sites are extremely small and shallow (those with larger trailers/RVs actually have to park in the roadway itself) and there seems to be little or no privacy and space between sites, much like all the other campgrounds in the GSMNP. And it's much further away from Cherokee, very remote, no real views to speak of, and certainly not the hospitality you get at MHC!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mile High Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mile High Campground

Address: Box 30, Bradley Loop Road, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Mile High Campground Hotel Cherokee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mile High Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.