We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most discusting Hotel I have ever stayed at there was BLOOD!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
manm1231005
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most discusting Hotel I have ever stayed at there was BLOOD!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The bathroom floor had hair in it and the towels were folded but appeared dirty! As if thats not bad enough I pulled down the covers an there was blood!! Yes BLOOD on the flat sheet this is completely unsafe place to say that the Lord we only had to stay for one night. I will never stay at a Holiday inn ever again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    64
    53
    22
    8
See reviews for
34
93
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
claxton ga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

our stay there was extremely nice. our room was spotless and without fault. the staff was very nice. the only thing i would say negative about it was they could use a few more parking spaces. ive stayed in hiltons that were worse

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Just returned from the Survivor Bike Rally this weekend which is an annual thing for us. We were originally booked at another hotel, who seemed to loose our reservation, and were referred to this one from a friend. Of course, after reading the reviews, we were a little bit worried that this stay would not be so accomodating. No worries though, we bought a cooler to keep in our room. So, no refrigerator...no problem! Yes, the ice bucket is in the bathroom. So what, we kept it on the desk. Paper thin walls...not on the 3rd floor. We slept just fine! The room was huge and very clean. Housekeeping was friendly. Good luck with the baby, Audrey. Breakfast was great, nice selection of items, and convienient too. No waiting in lines just to be seated. Thank you to the gentleman at the front desk on the night we checked in. It's deffinitely nice to see a friendly, smiling, welcoming face. First impression is everything! Parking was no problem...plenty of room for our trailer, car and bike. No problems with the Casino being across the street. Nicely located and easy to find. Lots of shops nearby and just a short trip to the fairgrounds. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. They have won our business and we will be back again next year!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Just came back from a 2 night stay, was somewhat hesitant after reading some of the previous reviews. After getting key went upstairs to check out room before taking anything up, room was on 2nd floor, everything was fine. The room was clean, and all the ammenities were there. Yes the ice bucket is in bathroom but it has a plastic bag in it so the ice need not be in direct contact with bucket . Really don't see much difference between ice bucket in bathroom than keeping toothbrush there.

There is seating for 32 in breakfast room. Also 4 tables by pool if you want to eat outside. There are 2 trays in room, one with the ice bucket on it & one with in room coffee pot, so you can take one down & take breakfast back to room if you want. I felt the continental breakfast was more than sufficient. There is a refrigerated case with milk, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, & cream cheese. Hot cinnamon rolls, hot eggs (one morning scrambled with bacon on the side, the other a type of omelet with cheese & sausage & gravy. Cold cereal, bagels, toast, fruit. Packaged instant grits & oatmeal. Various teas & coffee.

Would definitely stay again when in area

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Not sure what or who was in the room above us but they were loud. You could hear their conversations and it sounded like they were stomping on the ground every time they walked. It is close to the casino but there is nowhere to eat that is quality. I would reccommend staying futher out away from the casino and driving in. Since the casino is still not serving alcohol and you cant buy any within the reservation, you may as well stay where its quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed here two nights and was very happy with hotel, staff and location. We had a problem with our portable refridge we use on trips bacause of meds we have to take. The check in clerk move us to a more expensive room with no extra charge which had a fridge we could use until could get a fuse for our fridge. Very thoughtful and appreciated. Because of location could walk to auto store and get fuse also is across street from casino and near Indian village. Has a very good free breakfast with hot cinnamon rolls[my favorite]. Is near entrance to Mts also.
would stay again when in area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

I checked into a king suite on 6/19 for one night. Upon entering the room, the musty and smoky smell was almost unbearable. The linens on the bed appeared as if someone had just slept on them. When I pulled down the sheets, there were stains from bodily fluids. Behind the night stand was an empty bottle of Coca-Cola, food wrappers, and cigarettes. The walls were dirty and stained both in the room and the bathroom had stains on the wallpaper as well as pink mold growing on the wall. The refrigerator had liquid stains on the inside. The suite had a small kitchenette that should have contained plates, utensils, etc. The only items in the cabinet were a dirty potholder, can opener, and a plate that still had doughnut and other pieces of food attached. I spoke with the front desk clerk who told me that no other rooms were available. She also mentioned that she had informed management about the number of guests complaints concerning the hotel's cleanliness, but the management did not seem to care. This hotel is not worth the rate they are charging - do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Address: 376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.