We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovating but still a nice place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Needs renovating but still a nice place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed one night in a king suite and a two bedded queen suite.

The hotel itself is directly across from the Harrahs Casino which is the biggest attraction in town. There is plenty of free parking.

The front desk manager, David, could not have been more accommodating. He went out of his way to help us, particularly when one of the originally assigned rooms had the strongest stench of rotting bananas (we also found old bread rolls in the cupboard next to the fridge in-spite of the room appearing to have been cleaned).

A suite means you have an extra sitting area in the room with a small 'wet bar' with a fridge in it (no freezer in fridge). It is not divided from the sleeping area. Noise levels were typical but this hotel has the downside of casino visitors arriving back late and making a lot of noise in the corridors. We were woken twice.

The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the floors were clean. However the wallpaper is peeling in places (particularly the bathroom) and the tiles need re-grouting. The fridge has seen better dates as has the paintwork. David mentioned they would be renovating shortly. I hope so - the staff were great, but they can only do so much.

We got a decent rate with AAA. We were acknowledged as club members and received a room upgrade.

The pool is outdoors and therefore was closed, so we didn't get to try it. Breakfast is included and is the usual fare - bacon, egg product omelets, pancakes, cereal, and muffins. It wasn't bad and it wasn't memorable. It was a great place to stop over in but I wouldn't stay for longer than that.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear PMayes,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    47
    21
    8
See reviews for
33
87
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Conyers, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Girls weekend outing initial arrival was 11:00 pm our room was on the 2nd floor. The room appeared clean with exception of a strong smell of pesticide fumes. We were ready to hit the casino, so we'll left our bags packed on the floor and left the room. Arriving back at the hotel at 4:00 am, ready for bed, pulling back the sheets, soiled stained and pubic hair not on one bed but the other bed as well. We called the front desk in which she immediately came down, saw the bed was made without changing before new guest, she ordered room service for new sheets. I immediately requested to be moved into another room, if the sheets weren't changes. I'm sure the room wasn't properly sanitizes. The desk manager order no compensation but apologized for the room condition. There was a huge Bingo turn out all Hotels were booked. November 1-3rd during our stay. With the excretion of the room condition, the overall stay was well. That was my 1st visit to that particular Holiday Inn never had a problem at any other locations.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Savvy B,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. I was delighted to read that after some initial issues with the room you received, these were soon sorted and this allowed you to enjoy your stay with us. We will always endeavor to ensure that all our guests stays are comfortable.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Right across the street from HARRAH's so an excellent choice if you want to visit the casino. Rooms are clean and decent and staff is friendly. Only breakfast ends a bit early ( 9.30) but its a great location to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cushing, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Had to change our reservations at the last minute due to date change, staff worked with us to do so. Drove all day....about twenty hours with daughter and our three granddaughters...nine, five and ten months. We were exhausted by the time we arrived past midnight at 1:45 am. We ended up with two rooms, both clean and pleasant upon our arrival. Through our whole ordeal, the staff has been more than helpful with all of our needs. The location is easy to find and accessible to all activities in Cherokee.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland TN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were there over the Thanksgiving holiday 2013. Room was a corner king, 2nd floor. Everything was clean and up to standards. The 3rd floor room above us must have had a group of elephants check in and we swear they were jogging around the room. Each and every foot fall echoed like a clap of thunder into our room. Next time, will request top floor and corner again to avoid so much overhead noise. Upon awaking the first morning at 8:45am to the stupid alarm clock which I did not set, I made a diligent effort to make sure that I turned that feature OFF. Forgot to check the next night, and once again, I was thrown out of bed by the alarm clock going off again. I guess the housekeeping department thinks this is funny to set it, or they do it to get you up and out. Breakfast is served until 9:30 weekdays and 10am weekends. It was actually pretty good. The coffee was really good and they had actual half and half in a pitcher. Lot of things to choose from, eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, gravy, pancakes, etc. Better than most places offer. It is so close to casino, but we drove over just the same. It is a safe enough place to walk, but it was ice cold and a bit further than I wanted to walk when returning late at night to the room. If the casino hotel is not available, this is a good option. Would recommend it with the above warnings.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room or you will hear a lot of noise from your neighbors above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear WanderingWomanTN,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the breakfast selections we offer. Please allow us to apologize for the experience you had with neighboring noise and the alarm clock affected your stay negatively. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you are traveling to Cherokee to gamble I recommend this hotel. It sits across the street from Harrah's outdoor parking lot and the casino is easy to get to. There are no sidewalks so I'd suggest crossing at the light and walking through the Harrah's parking lot. Our room, a queen junior suite, was a little shopworn: peeling wallpaper, stains, very dark in the "living room ". The towels were plentiful and thicker than the usual HIE. The beds were very comfortable. Awful powdered eggs on the breakfast bar and glacial wi-fi rounded out this stay. The staff was very friendly and the parking was a breeze. So would I stay here again? Maybe, if I felt I needed to be that close to the casino - otherwise I'd stay at the Hampton Inn down the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear BobZAtlanta_Ga,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We apologize you were not well satisfied with the room accommodations you had and our breakfast options. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We just returned from a great 3 night stay at HIE. Nice staff at the front desk, good selection for breakfast, great beds. Great location, it's a five minute walk to Harrah's. Would recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Address: 376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.