We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Cushing, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Had to change our reservations at the last minute due to date change, staff worked with us to do so. Drove all day....about twenty hours with daughter and our three granddaughters...nine, five and ten months. We were exhausted by the time we arrived past midnight at 1:45 am. We ended up with two rooms, both clean and pleasant upon our arrival. Through our whole ordeal, the staff has been more than helpful with all of our needs. The location is easy to find and accessible to all activities in Cherokee.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    64
    54
    22
    8
See reviews for
34
93
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland TN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were there over the Thanksgiving holiday 2013. Room was a corner king, 2nd floor. Everything was clean and up to standards. The 3rd floor room above us must have had a group of elephants check in and we swear they were jogging around the room. Each and every foot fall echoed like a clap of thunder into our room. Next time, will request top floor and corner again to avoid so much overhead noise. Upon awaking the first morning at 8:45am to the stupid alarm clock which I did not set, I made a diligent effort to make sure that I turned that feature OFF. Forgot to check the next night, and once again, I was thrown out of bed by the alarm clock going off again. I guess the housekeeping department thinks this is funny to set it, or they do it to get you up and out. Breakfast is served until 9:30 weekdays and 10am weekends. It was actually pretty good. The coffee was really good and they had actual half and half in a pitcher. Lot of things to choose from, eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, gravy, pancakes, etc. Better than most places offer. It is so close to casino, but we drove over just the same. It is a safe enough place to walk, but it was ice cold and a bit further than I wanted to walk when returning late at night to the room. If the casino hotel is not available, this is a good option. Would recommend it with the above warnings.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room or you will hear a lot of noise from your neighbors above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear WanderingWomanTN,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the breakfast selections we offer. Please allow us to apologize for the experience you had with neighboring noise and the alarm clock affected your stay negatively. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you are traveling to Cherokee to gamble I recommend this hotel. It sits across the street from Harrah's outdoor parking lot and the casino is easy to get to. There are no sidewalks so I'd suggest crossing at the light and walking through the Harrah's parking lot. Our room, a queen junior suite, was a little shopworn: peeling wallpaper, stains, very dark in the "living room ". The towels were plentiful and thicker than the usual HIE. The beds were very comfortable. Awful powdered eggs on the breakfast bar and glacial wi-fi rounded out this stay. The staff was very friendly and the parking was a breeze. So would I stay here again? Maybe, if I felt I needed to be that close to the casino - otherwise I'd stay at the Hampton Inn down the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear BobZAtlanta_Ga,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We apologize you were not well satisfied with the room accommodations you had and our breakfast options. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We just returned from a great 3 night stay at HIE. Nice staff at the front desk, good selection for breakfast, great beds. Great location, it's a five minute walk to Harrah's. Would recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We choose this place after completing two day Blue Ridge Parkway road trip hoping to get some good sleep (we definitely got good sleep). Great location, easy access to both Parkway and Great Smoky Mountains. Facility is neatly maintained, enough parking, friendly staff and nice breakfast. There is no casino in the hotel itself. Harrah's casino is right across the street and we liked our time in the casino. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I decided on a last minute trip and was lucky to find they had rooms. Though the price was more than I wanted to spend, it was last minute and it was during leaf color changing time. The room was decent, it had a small refrigerator and microwave. The only room left was a two queen room which also had a small couch (pull out bed) and coffee table. I guess based on other reviews we must have had a suite. As someone else mentioned the internet bandwidth is not very good. If you're doing the occasional email then I think you're fine, but if you needed to do heavy online work this might not be the place. Breakfast was good, the standard Cinnamon rolls and pastries, but they also had some eggs, sausage and biscuits along with bacon. Though I didn't try it they have a pancake maker, it guess you press the button and 1 minute later out pops a pancake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear David W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've stayed here several times over the last 5 years and are always pleased. This location is very convenient to both the Great Smoky Mountain Nat'l Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway. The rooms are comfortable, and the breakfast is the usual HI Express fare. The staff is always courteous. We bring a motorcycle in a trailer and always have ample places to park. The food choices in Cherokee are limited, but the Harrah's casino is across the street and has restaurants. Would definitely recommend this property

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Address: 376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.