We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Columbus, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice place, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were in the area to go some gambling. We didn't want to stay in Harrah's as the price is just too expensive.

This hotel was surprisingly nice. They let us check in early (noon) and the hotel was very clean and the staff were nice.

The only complaint was that the a/c seemed to be leaking water. The next morning when we got up, the rug was damp around the a/c unit. I am giving it a 4-star because of this.

The breakfast was very good...eggs, sausage, pancakes (yes, pancakes), etc. More than a normal continental breakfast.

I would go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    57
    45
    21
    8
See reviews for
30
86
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Upon check in, there was an error with our room(smoking vs non-smoking). They were very nice and switched us to a King room. At check out, the manager adjusted our bill, since the fellow at check in said he would, due to the mix up. Everyone was friendly, room location great. Comfy bed, nice TV, clean room, nice towels, free internet and breakfast. (eggs were weird!)
We were within walking distance of the Casino. We attended a concert and walked back to hotel at 12:30am. Watch the street is busy and not well lit at places, best to walk through Casino parking lot and cross at light. We would go back.

Room Tip: We are Priority Club Reward members.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NH
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A great place to unwind after two days of driving the Blue Ridge Parkway. The room was clean and comfortable. We would stay here again. Also, close proximity to Smoky Mountains National Park. Mingo Falls, near the park, is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, SC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This Holiday Inn, like so many others i've been to, The staff is great. If you go there there are very few rooms with a view of the mountains, and unless you just want to gamble, the mountains is probably why your there to begin with.
Thier exercise room is average, the pool is outside, and no hot tub.
What ever you do, make sure you don't get room 240. The window is just under the canopy, so you will hear every car coming through to unload, and every conversation under there. The AC is on the celing and the thermostat doesn't stay where you set it, plus with it on the celing you can hear all the conversations above you too.

Room Tip: Remember do not get room 240
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ty W,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The scenery was beautiful, surrounded by the Smokey Mountains but really the disappointment was non-stop and the best thing about this hotel was leaving!!!
1.) Dirty tub
2.) No complimentary water/snack for being a Silver Priority Club member
3.) I had late check out but different staff members continued to knock on the door hours
before I was due to check out
4.) Burnt comforter
5.) Staff smoking outside in the front entrance and was often absent from the desk, no where
to be found
6.) Only one choice of fresh fruit at breakfast
7.) Juice machine was broke so they had gallons of this orange juice just sitting out at room
temperature
8.) Towels were yellowish, good thing I bought my own rags
9.) Dirty carpet, time for a carpet cleaning
10.) Internet was out

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Toi S,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach,VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Celebrating our 20 yr anniversary across from the Cherokee Casino was the greatest mini vacation. The beautiful scenery and wonderful atmosphere of the Smoky Mountains was breathtaking. The hotel and its staff were great and the breakfast delicious. The only issue I had was at around 4am I could hear the voices coming from the next room...noisy and somewhat loud. Other than that, the room was clean and bed comfortable. Only had a day to visit the quaint town, but if I were to visit again, I will definitely be going back to this hotel...even if I lost money at the casino, the convenience, location and comfort of this Holiday Inn Express was a big win for me!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good value, close to the casino, comfortable, clean and a good breakfast. But..... there are no refrigerators in the rooms which is crazy. If you want one, you need to ask. That was my only complaint. Only way to keep anything cold was to fill the ice bucket, but the ice machine was most of the time out of service. But hey, I've had worse

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Karlosbb,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is a great pleasure to read you found our rooms comfortable and enjoyed breakfast. I apologize for any inconvenience experienced due to the room amenities and hotel facilities which fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Address: 376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.