We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C'Mon Holiday Inn ... You can do better” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“C'Mon Holiday Inn ... You can do better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The scenery was beautiful, surrounded by the Smokey Mountains but really the disappointment was non-stop and the best thing about this hotel was leaving!!!
1.) Dirty tub
2.) No complimentary water/snack for being a Silver Priority Club member
3.) I had late check out but different staff members continued to knock on the door hours
before I was due to check out
4.) Burnt comforter
5.) Staff smoking outside in the front entrance and was often absent from the desk, no where
to be found
6.) Only one choice of fresh fruit at breakfast
7.) Juice machine was broke so they had gallons of this orange juice just sitting out at room
temperature
8.) Towels were yellowish, good thing I bought my own rags
9.) Dirty carpet, time for a carpet cleaning
10.) Internet was out

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Toi S,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    58
    47
    21
    8
See reviews for
32
86
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach,VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Celebrating our 20 yr anniversary across from the Cherokee Casino was the greatest mini vacation. The beautiful scenery and wonderful atmosphere of the Smoky Mountains was breathtaking. The hotel and its staff were great and the breakfast delicious. The only issue I had was at around 4am I could hear the voices coming from the next room...noisy and somewhat loud. Other than that, the room was clean and bed comfortable. Only had a day to visit the quaint town, but if I were to visit again, I will definitely be going back to this hotel...even if I lost money at the casino, the convenience, location and comfort of this Holiday Inn Express was a big win for me!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good value, close to the casino, comfortable, clean and a good breakfast. But..... there are no refrigerators in the rooms which is crazy. If you want one, you need to ask. That was my only complaint. Only way to keep anything cold was to fill the ice bucket, but the ice machine was most of the time out of service. But hey, I've had worse

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Karlosbb,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is a great pleasure to read you found our rooms comfortable and enjoyed breakfast. I apologize for any inconvenience experienced due to the room amenities and hotel facilities which fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel has a great location; you can walk to Harrah's, less then two blocks. There is good trout fishing just across the road. Rooms are clean and up to date, the morning free breakfast is good and there is a good selection of items.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Convenient location, if you are unable to get room in the Cherokee casino hotel. Walls a bit thin. People constantly slamming doors, lot of socializing in hallway, and in nearby rooms. Could also hear the feet pounding on floor upstairs too. 3rd floor is for smokers only - good Thing!! Rooms clean, large bathrooms, and variety of breakfast choices - free!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We arrived before check in time and they told us we could leave our car there while we went to the casino and gave us directions for crossing street. Room was average size and clean. No refrigerator or microwave in the room which is negative for us. Front desk gave us directions for getting to Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg as the road over the mountains was still closed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear jesathome,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us. I’m glad you found the hotel to your liking and I will pass on your comments about the staff being friendly and helpful to them all, it’s always nice to hear we are getting it right.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Way understaffed. Housekeeping was bad! On checkin..no towels or soaps and coffee pot was nasty. Next day did get towels but did not make bed nor touch the coffe pot..old filter still there. Great location and cinnamon rolls were good but had a full house and no staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear HeidiJ433,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience our housekeeping may have caused during your stay. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are very unhappy about your experience. Rest assured, your input will be shared with our management team and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Address: 376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.