We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just 2 getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Thomasville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just 2 getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is a great hotel.Just a short walk from the casino.The staff and management was friendly.The room a good sized room,very clean,bed was comfy,had a flat screen tv.If u come 2 cherokee give this hotel a try,u will enjoy this hotel!!!!

Room Tip: 1 king bed leisure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    61
    49
    21
    8
See reviews for
33
88
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because Harrah's was booked. This motel is very close so we were able to walk o the casino. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfy, the staff was friendly, and the continental breakfast was great! We will stay here again when we visit Cherojee again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending the weekend with my wife and neighbors at the Holiday Inn Express in Cherokee, NC. Very clean and up to date hotel. Breat free hot breakfast each morning. Convenient to Harrah's casino. About a 2 minute walk seriously. We enjoyed all of our experiences and had a great time. Adam the GM was also most gracious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon in February. The front desk workers were nice, but nothing too special. We got to our room (King Bed Executive Suite) on the second floor. The room was a nice size. I found a long hair on one of the night stand lamps. Also, when I walked into the bathroom there were strands of hair on the floor. When it was time to go to sleep. The bed was comfortable. If you like your room dark at night, you may not like that there was light coming from above, under, and the side of the door. It didn't bother me too much since I was worn out from the day's events. Also, there was light coming through the drapes. We stayed again the next night (Friday). Our final morning I woke up at 7:00 with foot steps and noise of doors shutting. As we walked down the hall to check out, we could hear different conversations going on after we passed the different rooms. (About the casino: it was raining while we were in Cherokee so we drove. Parking is free for the casino)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear KP333,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review your recent stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

I am sorry to hear about your experience at our property. I hope you can believe me when I say that your experience is not the norm for our property. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and the negative impressions you may have had.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fast check-in, great location, clean rooms and the beds were great! I have to say the breakfast was one of the best for a hotel - the eggs were really wonderful! There was plenty of room to eat with the staff keeping things clean and stocked. Love this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This Holiday Inn is located across from Harrah's in Cherokee.
- 4.0 Stars
- Front Desk Friendly with Fast, Accurate Check-In
- Accurate Check In
- 3 Floors
- Outdoor Pool (closed in winter)
- Rooms clean and stocked
- Comfortable Bedding
- Plenty of HD stations including 4 HBO channels
- Free Web - Good Speed both wired and wireless
- 5 minute walk to Casino - use traffic light crossing for safety
- Casino was large, very clean and nearly empty during my visit
- No issues to report

I stayed at the hotel during the off season so it was quiet with limited guests so I cannot report on the thin walls others are reporting. It was quiet during my stay.

Safe Travels!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Overall the hotel was clean enough! We arrived pretty late in the evening and there was someone to greet us at the desk. However when we came out of the room to go to the casino there were a couple of guys who obviously werent staying there just roaming the halls. This kind of worried my wife but I was with her at all times.

Room- Was clean. Bed was comfortable compare to other hotels that we stayed in.

Breakfast- need to be upgaded. I couldnt even eat it and decided after one bite I would not try any longer.

We would probably stay again because there is not allot to choose from close to the casino but hope they make some upgades

I did a vlog on the trip from the hotel if you would like to check it out at:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NwVTALlImaE

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear csgsu,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the rooms.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding breakfast experience. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Address: 376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.