We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Clean and pleasant his hotel offered us a good traveling experience. Looking for a hotel near the Harrah's Casino Cherokee, this Holiday Inn was exceptionally clean, easy to find, and across the street from the Casino. Other reviewers had panned the hotel, but location was key, and we were nicely surprised that the entire hotel was spotless, the baths and rooms plainly but nicely appointed, and the staff helpful. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side, away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    52
    39
    19
    8
See reviews for
27
80
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went to Cherokee a couple of weekends ago for a high school cross country regional event. We had points so stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast bar was good, too! For those wanting to go to the casino, it is an easy walk across the street. We went over there to find a restaurant for dinner and ate at Brio Tuscan Grill which was great!!! We'd definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express again if we have reason to go to Cherokee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I reserved a std room via web site requesting nonsmoking room. When I arrived there were none available (despite Platinum member) and was offered a nonsmoking executive suite 'discounted' at $150, 50% more than my reserved room was to cost. The room was okay but I could not sleep due to cigarette smoke invading my room. This 'nonsmoking executive suite' had a connecting room next door. Also, at 2 AM, my considerate neighbors turned their tv on LOUD for 1 1/2 hour. I had to open 2 windows to try to get fresh COLD air in to flush out the smoke - it did not work very well. MISERABLE night.
Breakfast has less variety than any other HIX I have stayed in (I have spent 5 of the past 7 weeks in HIX around the country). Tables were dirty, oatmeal had no variety.
The fitness room was the sparsest I have seen in a hotel with visibly cheap equipment and only 3 pieces of them.
I received no recognition as a platinum member.
I will not return to this hotel again, and do not recommend you stay here, either. Little sleep, more money out of my pocket, unhealthy conditions = stay somewhere else.
As a side note I notice customer service people respond to these complaints (there are many for this hotel) with nothing other than apology. I would like to know what is being DONE in response. Money refunded would be appropriate. Reconsidering the archaic smoking policy requires reconsideration.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have stayed here before and they are consistent with their customer service and quality of stay. It is in a great location across the street from Harrah's Casino so all you have to do is walk across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I checked in on a Thursday not sure from all reviews what to expect. I have a mobility issue that causes us a lot of problems when we travel. The desk clerk was amazing and upgraded us to a suite that was handicap acessible. The room was huge, the bathroom also very big. The tub is a bit high for me to get in and out of easily, but then anything over 2" is a stretch for me. I did manage ok and there are plenty of grips inside to hold on to. The shower head is very low so that was a challenge to hold on for balance and hold on to spray my head. The bed is firm, but comfortable and a lil high, but also doable. Over all it was a good trip, one of the better ones. Holiday Inn is not Harrah's by any stretch of the imagination but it was nice, comfortable and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 222 and loved the view and the peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

it was nice and roomy great breakfast in the morning and walking distance from the casino staff wasn't very friendly and the bathtub was yellow but i would go back and stay there prices are high for a king bed smoking room for one night was $150.00 and its out of season. it would be nice if they had a shuttle service to the casino seeing how they are a branch of the casino but it was a nice place to stay

Room Tip: the whole 3rd floor is smoking so if you dont like smoke dont get a room there cause the hallways an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Wayne.IN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After spending the week-end in South Carolina with family, we decided to stop in Cherokee so we could visit the casino there.This hotel is right across the street from the casino. We arrived at 1:30pm and were told that no rooms would be ready until 3pm. So we did a little sightseeing and returned a little after 3 and got checked in immediately. The staff was very friendly. The room was large and very clean and comfortable. There was a breakfast buffet though we didn't eat there. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express
Address: 376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.