We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Side Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Ft.Wayne.IN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Side Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After spending the week-end in South Carolina with family, we decided to stop in Cherokee so we could visit the casino there.This hotel is right across the street from the casino. We arrived at 1:30pm and were told that no rooms would be ready until 3pm. So we did a little sightseeing and returned a little after 3 and got checked in immediately. The staff was very friendly. The room was large and very clean and comfortable. There was a breakfast buffet though we didn't eat there. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    52
    39
    19
    8
See reviews for
27
80
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

You stay here because you expect it to be the same level as all Holiday Inn Express hotels. It was up to the standards of most. Though the desk staff might have been a little more outgoing. The restaurants they recommended were not very good. If you like to gamble the casino is right across the street. Otherwise there is plenty of lodging in Cherokee as it is right on the edge of the National Park and obviously gets busy during the tourist season.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is a review for all the people wanting a honest review, and a good nights stay without costing a fortune. I have traveled all over the world, stayed in hundreds of hotels. I do not understand the bad reviews that some people are giving this hotel. It is a Holiday Inn Express! Not the Four Seasons! It is a basic room, clean, well maintained with nice front desk people. I stayed on the second floor and can smell smoke from a mile away, yet there was no smoke smell that I could pick up on. This is only a short walk from the casino, and convienent to everything. Do people really expect the red carpet to be rolled out, and angels descending when you check in? If you want Mandarin Oriental in Las Vegas...Go to Vegas! This is Cherokee, Holiday Inn Express. Get over yourselves!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a very large room. It seemed clean except for a black ring of mold around the edge of the tub. The room had a very strange odor - sort of bad sulpher type of smell. The hotel was full however, so there not many options. It was OK but very over priced for what we got. The staff seemed very overwhelmed. The breakfast area was inadequate for the number of guests, not enough seating, and they kept running out of things like forks. There were 2 people running back and forth like crazy trying to restock the breakfast area, but there was always a line because the pancake maker ran out of batter, there was no gravy for biscuits, and people were hovering like vultures waiting for you to get up so they could sit in your chair and eat their breakfast. It was really uncomfortable. I will definitely look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear coffeebeagle,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. Our hotel was very busy during the time you stayed with us. I'm sorry for the inconvenience you encountered over breakfast. Additionally, thank you for letting me know about your room's strange odor so we can ensure this is addressed. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Please let our duty manager know when staying with us so we can address any concerns you might have.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went for a weekend getaway .. Lovely Hotel . I do not understand some of theses reviews ?. staff were pleasant ..Breakfast was more than what I expected. :) . Room was very clean .. We stayed on 3rd floor with the smokers and it was not at all that bad .We left some items by mistake and called the Hotel and they are sending them to us ..No problems at all ..Easy check-in . We will stay again..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights at this hotel and I wish we would have stayed in gatlinburg instead. Cherokee is a run down dump. No good food in this town and the casino is worthless. The hotel was very clean downstairs with a nice pool area and breakfast. The rooms were not very clean and the decor was very outdated. We has suite which just meant we had a stained couch without any line s on the pull out bed. The staff was very friendly but the whole experience was less than desired.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lanier, GA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Couldn't get a room at Harrah's last Friday night so we booked here. I thought it was a little pricey but we needed something within walking distance of the Casino and this fit the bill. It was clean, quiet, room was a nice size. We had a broken iron that was replaced with a brand new one in less than 5 minutes. No problems with noise even though I believe the hotel was full. Breakfast the next morning was a nice touch, more choices than I expected. Eggs, biscuits, sausage gravy, pancakes, bacon (which was gone when we got there) cereal, muffins, etc. Juice and coffee. Not many places to sit and it was very busy on a Saturday morning. The staff was friendly and did a good job keeping things filled up. We had no problems with smoke or any smoke smell in the room as some have mentioned. We were on the second floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/ Hotel Cherokee
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee
Holiday Inn Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn
Cherokee Holiday Inn Express
Address: 376 Painttown Road, Highway 19 and Highway 441, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the Cherokee Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites be your center of operations when you visit the Cherokee area. Located at the entrance of Harrah's Cherokee Casino our brand new hotel is also just minutes from the Great Smoky National Park, trout fishing, whitewater rafting and Cherokee historical attractions. Our 93 room property not only offers beauty in landscaping and architectural design, it offers the latest in technology and superior customer service to make your stay a truly unique experience. Our spacious rooms are beautifully furnished and are equipped with high speed internet, state of the art telephone system with voice mail, remote control cable TV, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. There are 16 suites and four ADA accessible rooms for those who might need expanded options. Your complimentary breakfast will be served in our beautiful two story Great Room which features a massive stone fireplace. You will enjoy working out in our well equipped fitness center overlooking our courtyard and pool area. When you visit Cherokee you don't have to gamble on comfort or convenience. At Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites great service is always a sure bet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.