We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously the best breakfast restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peter's Pancakes & Waffles

Peter's Pancakes & Waffles
1384 Tsali Blvd, Cherokee, NC 28719-8201
828-497-5116
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Cherokee
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Greeneville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seriously the best breakfast restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Almost stopped at the Frontier Pancake House in Cherokee but then I saw that Peter's had WAAAAY better reviews. We had stayed at Harrah's overnight and were on our way home. Going to Peter's was out of our way but so worth it. The crispiest of bacon, the fluffiest of pancakes, perfectly cooked eggs, and surprisingly great coffee. I highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    109
    35
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatsworth, Georgia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast that hits the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Peter's is a tradition with my parents spanning dozens of visits to Cherokee. This particular trip was only my second but I was very pleased. The sign outside may say "best breakfast in town", and I am quite sure it's in the running. What can you expect at Peter's? Let's begin with a line of folks waiting on a table, and that's a line that often stretches outside. If you're coming in the fall or winter months, bring that coat. Parking may be an issue as well and you may actually have to find a place across the street or at an adjacent building. The interior can be very close quartered at times as the tables fill up and the staff are bustling about taking care of patrons so get a booth if you can. The food is country breakfast Americana. Meats, eggs, biscuits, pancakes, coffee and juice. If you like country ham, you will find some of the best here. Omelets are large with three eggs, pancakes are light and fluffy, and nothing is disappointing. The wait and serving staff are warm and attentive, and the prices are reasonable. The restrooms on the other hand, at least for the men's part, are very small and cramped if more than two people are there. This being my second visit, there was the typical unwelcoming smell that greets you when you enter the restroom and it has been present on both occasions. It won't keep me from returning, but sure could use some resolution. Overall, Peter's is a very good visit. If you're looking for that big satisfying country breakfast to start your day in Cherokee, look no further.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Small "local" restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

When in the area and decide to have breakfast, my husband and I usually eat here. It is often crowded since it is open year round, and the majority of other restaurant in the area, close for winter. The waitresses don't check back enough to suit me, but they are friendly, and the food is good.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Love the breakfasts but not their "butte”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Peter's Pancakes has wonderful breakfasts. I have tried many of their options and love the grainy, nutty pancakes, but beware of their butter -- it is NOT! Unhealthy margarine from a tub. Bring your own real butter!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fast, great service, large portions, very good breakfast ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Can't go wrong for breakfast here! At first impression the place needs a facelift, looks like a dive. But, service was great, real good breakfast, for the value, we will def go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter's Pancakes & Waffles also viewed

 

Been to Peter's Pancakes & Waffles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peter's Pancakes & Waffles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.