We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would drive farther next time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Cherokee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Cherokee to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Cherokee
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20 River Road, US Hwy 19, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Brookfield, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“would drive farther next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

the room was ok no bugs that were alive we did find a couple dead ones but looked really close and decided that one was a beetle type and the other had been dead a very long time no signs of anything recent so we stayed the room was over priced for what it was.would stay elsewhere next time

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    37
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
51
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mascotte, Florida
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed @ this Econo lodge June 14th -16th. We dont normally stay at Econo lodge, But while at Harrahs casino we were told that you may have rooms open. Upon arrival we were met by the Gentleman whom we thought must have been the owner due to the service he provided. We were surprised to find that he was a new hire and was not the owner. Roger is his name and the pride he takes in that Hotel was truly amazing, we have stayed in much more expensive hotels but Mr Scott made the stay great. he even call us after we reached the room to check on us! We have always stayed other places but from now on we will stay with you as long as you have a people person like Mr. Scott we will return and tell our friends about you. The room was above average and clean . The Breakfast was good. Mr Scott was there when we came in and still there when we got breakfast also. Great Job Econo Lodge and Roger

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel definitely met all our needs in every way! The staff was very friendly and helpful and wonderful to talk to! The owner was sweet as well. The room was perfectly cleaned, smelled nice and had everything we needed. The bed was absolutely one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in! The hotel is convenient to everything, we walked every time we went out except to drive to the casino, which is very close as well. Our experience was so nice, we hated to leave! Thank you so much to all the staff who were so kind to us! You made our honeymoon more memorable. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would love to return in the future!

Room Tip: Each room had a couple of chairs and a little table outside. I recommend a little picnic outside yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I give five stars when a property meets or exceeds my expectations, and this one did. Our second-floor room was obviously recently redone, with all new carpet, fixtures, bedding, etc. But the whole property sparkled--from the clean as a whistle parking lot to the lovely planters along the balconies and lot to the super clean windows. Breakfast area is small but cozy with a decent selection.

The front desk was also nice enough to move my reservation (after the cancellation deadline) to the next day when our van broke down and we were not able to get to the hotel.

We were going to stay in Gatlinburg on our way out of GSMNP, but we were horrified at the atmosphere there. We'd definitely base ourselves in Cherokee if we were to come back: it's smaller, quieter, has a lovely river park, and has a more interesting cultural feel because of the reservation nearby. I worried about motorcycle noise, but it wasn't too bad. We were there midweek on June 11, before the busy season really hit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoCherokeeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank You for your response. are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next stay with us,Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel offers a good view off of the balcony walkways of the Smoky Mountains. Pick a second floor room and rocking chairs are right outside your door to relax and enjoy the clean mountain air. The continental breakfast is ok with cereal, breads, toaster waffles and not much more but we have had a lot worse. No pool but the river park is right across the highway and if you can brave the water temps (not us Floridians) swimming is really close. The best thing about this property is the housekeeping staff who I believe is second to none in the cleanliness of the rooms and the entire property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconoCherokeeMgmt, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Thank You for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will choose us for your next stay. thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Price was high for the lodging and amenities probably because it was Memorial Day Weekend. We booked in advance and it was hard to find available rooms. Regardless, the hotel staff were very helpful, even called the room to make sure everything was good. Breakfast was mostly pastries and toaster waffles but plenty of choices of cereal and grits, oatmeal, etc. Would probably stay again if in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
We appreciate all comments from our guest. This is how we know what we need to improve on in the future. Thank you so much for choosing us and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed on the second floor which the hotel clerk said was recentely renovated. Simple room but clean and new. Only mins. from the casino and plenty of food. 20 mins. from great hiking in the Great Smokie Mountains. We were so pleased we stayed another night. Front desk very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Our guest are our #1 priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Cherokee

Address: 20 River Road, US Hwy 19, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Cherokee 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge nestled in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains is a conveniently located hotel in the downtown area on the Cherokee Indian Reservation adjacent to the Oconaluftee River and is minutes from most of the areas popular attractions like Harrahs Casino, Paula Deen's resturant, The Cherokee Indian Museum, Oconaluftee Indian Village, Unto These Hills a powerful outdoor drama that brings to life the tragic history of the Cherokee people, Oconaluftee Island Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Other points of interest include: Santa's Land. Cherokee Bear Zoo. Cherokee Fun Park Tubing on the River. Fontana Dam, Deals Gap (Tail of the Dragon), Cataloochee Ski Area, Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge, Great Smoky Mountain Railway. Come stay with us and enjoy being in walking distance to restaurants and many shops with a theater complex just across the street from the Econo Lodge. Activities include tubing, world class trout fishing, bonfires and picnicking on the river. The Econo Lodge is also just 30 minutes away from Western Carolina University. Guests of this Cherokee, NC hotel are invited to enjoy many great amenities like free fresh coffee, free wifi, free local calls and a free deluxe continental breakfast. Business travelers will appreciate the access to copy/fax services and free wifi. Traveling families will enjoy our larger family suites. All of our spacious guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, cable television with free Showtime and refrigerators. Handicapped accessible, smoking and non smoking rooms are available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure the Econo Lodge hotel offers a convenient location, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Cherokee area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Cherokee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.