We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Cherokee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Cherokee to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Cherokee
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20 River Road, US Hwy 19, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Price was high for the lodging and amenities probably because it was Memorial Day Weekend. We booked in advance and it was hard to find available rooms. Regardless, the hotel staff were very helpful, even called the room to make sure everything was good. Breakfast was mostly pastries and toaster waffles but plenty of choices of cereal and grits, oatmeal, etc. Would probably stay again if in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
We appreciate all comments from our guest. This is how we know what we need to improve on in the future. Thank you so much for choosing us and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    41
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
29
56
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed on the second floor which the hotel clerk said was recentely renovated. Simple room but clean and new. Only mins. from the casino and plenty of food. 20 mins. from great hiking in the Great Smokie Mountains. We were so pleased we stayed another night. Front desk very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Our guest are our #1 priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed here with some hesitation being that I've always stayed to four to five star hotels, and I was not disappointed at all! The room was top notch clean even the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and the staff was so friendly it was like they appreciated you spending your money and nights at their hotel. The hotel was within minutes of the casino and the bingo hall..I will definitely go back here when I return as long as they keep the same people in charge. They even call you to make sure you are satisfied with your room. I dont remember getting that at none of the more expensive hotels at all! Somebody better step up their game because this hotel was far from five star listing but beat out some of the ones I've stayed to, especially with their high class service and friendly faces.

Room Tip: Choose this one over the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that we measured up to five star hotels that you have stayed in the past. We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Our guest are our #1 priority and your comfort and satisfaction means everything to us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a great property, if, like me, you like old school, park at the door, motels. Clean as can be and very conveniently located right between the "cultural district" and "casino district" (as the road signs say) of Cherokee. We stayed one night in a room with two double beds which also included a fridge. Yes, the TVs are the older type but they work just fine and they had TNT so I didn't have to miss DALLAS, lol. Again, very CLEAN and extremely comfortable beds. The young man at check-in, Chris I think it was, was very friendly and professional and nicely offered me an upgrade to a room with a king bed, although I kept the one with two doubles as I was traveling with my mother. We were down this time to do the Cherokee museum and the train in Bryson City. We're coming back in June for the outdoor drama, and I just booked a room at the Econo Lodge for then too - highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Our guest are our #1 priority and your comfort and satisfaction means everything to us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, TN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Paid 79 dollars, which I thought was steep over the phone but I found the place well worth it. Very clean room, very nice people. For just a brief visit to the area, this place is a terrific choice for a reliably clean, cheap room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Our guest are our #1 priority and your comfort and satisfaction means everything to us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have stayed at places at lot more expensive and not nearly as clean. Room was modern , clean, safe and smelled so good. I have never seen a bath tub sparkle like that, I would like to take the cleaning staff home with me. Front desk people were so friendly and knowledgeable. Felt so welcome!!!!!!! An the price was amazing.

Room Tip: We had full beds really would have been better with queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Our guest are our #1 priority and your comfort and satisfaction means everything to us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Econo Lodge Cherokee was clean and well maintained. It is an excellent value. The staff was friendly and kind. We had a pleasant hotel experience, enjoyed Cherokee and will be back. We hope to plan a family reunion in Cherokee in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Cherokee, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit with us. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Our guest are our #1 priority and your comfort and satisfaction means everything to us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Cherokee

Address: 20 River Road, US Hwy 19, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Cherokee 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge nestled in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains is a conveniently located hotel in the downtown area on the Cherokee Indian Reservation adjacent to the Oconaluftee River and is minutes from most of the areas popular attractions like Harrahs Casino, Paula Deen's resturant, The Cherokee Indian Museum, Oconaluftee Indian Village, Unto These Hills a powerful outdoor drama that brings to life the tragic history of the Cherokee people, Oconaluftee Island Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Other points of interest include: Santa's Land. Cherokee Bear Zoo. Cherokee Fun Park Tubing on the River. Fontana Dam, Deals Gap (Tail of the Dragon), Cataloochee Ski Area, Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge, Great Smoky Mountain Railway. Come stay with us and enjoy being in walking distance to restaurants and many shops with a theater complex just across the street from the Econo Lodge. Activities include tubing, world class trout fishing, bonfires and picnicking on the river. The Econo Lodge is also just 30 minutes away from Western Carolina University. Guests of this Cherokee, NC hotel are invited to enjoy many great amenities like free fresh coffee, free wifi, free local calls and a free deluxe continental breakfast. Business travelers will appreciate the access to copy/fax services and free wifi. Traveling families will enjoy our larger family suites. All of our spacious guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, cable television with free Showtime and refrigerators. Handicapped accessible, smoking and non smoking rooms are available. Whether traveling for business or pleasure the Econo Lodge hotel offers a convenient location, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Cherokee area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Econo Lodge Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Cherokee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.