We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1636 Acquoni Road, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Fruita, Colorado
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Good bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Last minute decision, called the hotel and found they had a good deal since they had lots of empty rooms. Used to be a Best Western so the sign is odd, missing top part. No elevator, had to carry luggage up the stairs. Not an updated room, but ok for one night's sleep. In a quiet area, but I did ask for a room away from the road since part of the building is very close to the busy street. No breakfast provided and the buffet at the attached restaurant looked a little limited for the price so we went to Peter's Pancakes for breakfast instead.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    29
    22
    17
See reviews for
28
42
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nancy, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed there four nights (July 26 to 30) with my sister, it was the third time. We wouldn't want an other place to stay at when we come to this area. This hotel is perfectly located in a quiet section of Cherokee, it's like the end of a valley, with misty mountains all around. We love that view in the mornings ! Several nice little shops nearby, as well as some restaurants (very average food) and a bear zoo. You drive just a few minutes (very easy drive even at night time) and you are at the Harrah's casino. The nice surprise there is that they now have bars serving alcohol beverages ! That's certainly a "plus" for this lovely - and recently extended - casino.
The staff at the lobby was courteous and fast. No problem. Our room was located on the first floor, but no noises from the adjacent rooms or the room upstairs. We had a view on the little plaza with the shops, which was nice. We ate at the restaurant each morning, the buffet was pretty much the same every day but was very good, and the staff very friendly. A warm hello each morning, and they did remember we like to drink a lot of coffee so they were always there to fill up our mugs.
The room was clean and the beds pretty much comfortable. Last time we had stayed there, three years ago, some of our things had been stolen (a new sweater and a perfume) certainly during the time where the room-maid did clean our room. We had written a complain with the manager, that was at the end of our holidays. Back in France, we waited for a response but none came. We heard the manager was now a new one. We sent her a e-mail and got a very friendly response with a voucher (discount) to use on a future stay at a Best Western.
This summer, we have had none problem of this sort. So we're glad we had decided to trust this hotel again. Because it's such a friendly hotel in such a gorgeous area. We can't wait to be back !

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

We have stayed here for a several years when we drive the Blue Ridge Parkway. Checkin staff is second to none. The restaurant seems to have slipped over the years. It seems there was a lot more menu choices in years past.

The rooms are large and set up well. With comfortable beds.

The only thing I would say is the motel management needs to stay on top of preventative maintenance. It would seem to be cost effective to keep up with things rather than replace them after they break.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Great stay. Very Happy with the accommodations.
I would definetely stay there again in the future. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I am writting this while I am sitting at the table in my room-with free wi-fi. The beds are new. It is the only '''new''' thing in the room. But everything is good enough. Unlike Holiday Inn, where breakfast is great and free, here, it is 6.00 dollars and is very good. You are about 2 miles from the Harrahs Casino--but that is no problem at all. There is a local bus that runs every fifteen minutes---by taking this free shuttle you get to see the very nice town of Cherokee. This shuttle will take you to town where there is a movie multiplex and loads of stores. Right outside the door of the Best Western is a small but nice grouping of eateries and shops ( perhaps 40 total). Not bad at all. tip! park at ends of the building if your room is up stairs--there are no stairs in the center of the buildings

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

The room was surprisingly clean and looked newly rennovated. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cherokee.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

We stayed at Best Western durning our Christmas travels between TN and NC. The room was warm and clean. There were plenty of towels and soap in the bathroom. The staff was courteous and helpful. We plan on staying there this year, as well.

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn

Address: 1636 Acquoni Road, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Cherokee Indian Reservation the Magnuson Great Smokies Inn is less than half mile drive to the entrance Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway,also less than 3 miles from Harrah's Cherokee Casino and many other attractions. Guests can also enjoy white water rafting and tubing in the area. Guests will enjoy free wireless internet, a outdoor pool, business center and pets are welcome with additional charges and restrictions. Spacious rooms with a choice of one king bed or two queen beds, in-room hairdryer, free local calls, iron and board and microwave and mini-fridges in select rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.