We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1636 Acquoni Road, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
nc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Great stay. Very Happy with the accommodations.
I would definetely stay there again in the future. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone traveling in this area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    26
    21
    16
See reviews for
27
40
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

I am writting this while I am sitting at the table in my room-with free wi-fi. The beds are new. It is the only '''new''' thing in the room. But everything is good enough. Unlike Holiday Inn, where breakfast is great and free, here, it is 6.00 dollars and is very good. You are about 2 miles from the Harrahs Casino--but that is no problem at all. There is a local bus that runs every fifteen minutes---by taking this free shuttle you get to see the very nice town of Cherokee. This shuttle will take you to town where there is a movie multiplex and loads of stores. Right outside the door of the Best Western is a small but nice grouping of eateries and shops ( perhaps 40 total). Not bad at all. tip! park at ends of the building if your room is up stairs--there are no stairs in the center of the buildings

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

The room was surprisingly clean and looked newly rennovated. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cherokee.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

We stayed at Best Western durning our Christmas travels between TN and NC. The room was warm and clean. There were plenty of towels and soap in the bathroom. The staff was courteous and helpful. We plan on staying there this year, as well.

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed at the best western from oct10th-12th 2009. We did not get any MAID SERVICE. We called the front desk on Sunday night, and told them we did not have any towels that were clean, no soap or tissue for the bath room.Our'MAID' did not come in the room during our stay. She did leave us a envelope to 'tip' her. Our trash can were flowing over in the vanity area, and in the room. THE STAFF DID SEND UP SOME TOWELS. We had to ask for everything else again.I could expect this from motel6&super8, but not from BEST WESTERN.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This rustic hotel, although hard to find with the road construction, was amazing. The front desk staff was great. They were very knowledgable about the surrounding community and the events that were taking place. They done there best to make sure that everything was just right. The house keeping staff couldnt have been better. If we asked for anything it was delivered to us in a matter of minutes. Very friendly people every where. Cant wait to go back again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldau, Switzerland
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

When you arrive at this hotel the check in seames always to be a problem. I did not see the reason but it seams staff are not prepared like in other hotels. There were many people waiting for check in and the staff was overstressed.
The rooms are OK. The A/C is really old fashionned and too loud for hotel with this price. This time we did not use the restaurant as we did know it from previous visits.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn

Address: 1636 Acquoni Road, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Cherokee Indian Reservation the Magnuson Great Smokies Inn is less than half mile drive to the entrance Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway,also less than 3 miles from Harrah's Cherokee Casino and many other attractions. Guests can also enjoy white water rafting and tubing in the area. Guests will enjoy free wireless internet, a outdoor pool, business center and pets are welcome with additional charges and restrictions. Spacious rooms with a choice of one king bed or two queen beds, in-room hairdryer, free local calls, iron and board and microwave and mini-fridges in select rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.