We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1636 Acquoni Road, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Last minute decision to visit Harrah's Casino, they were booked and offered us comps to stay in this motel. I have to say when I read the reviews I was really worried it wasn't going to be clean or efficient but accepted the offer anyway. I have to say some of the reviews I read were totally misleading. We arrived and had no problems whatsoever with anything. The room was very clean, the office is opened 24 hrs, very friendly staff and was a very pleasant stay for us. We will definitely consider this motel of choice the next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    23
    19
    16
See reviews for
26
37
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

There are only a few middle-priced hotels in the Cherokee area, and the Magnuson was one of them. The Casino will obviously be the most modern and expensive hotel in town, but at around $160 a night, is it really that expensive? Then there are the dozens of old-fashioned mom and pop motels, offering inexpensive rates of $40-60 a night. I'm a little leery of staying in cheap motels like that, so I Pricelined a $73 rate and ended up at the Magnuson.

The hotel and the grounds are nicely taken care of, and the rooms are clean. The cleaning staff were plentiful, and very friendly. The hotel is close by everything, and within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. The pool is a good size and would be great to swim in.

Something to know about Cherokee: It is a dry town. The only alcohol served is in 1-2 high end restaurants and the casiono. They do not even sell beer in the supermarkets, so plan ahead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Got the room thru HOTWIRE for $78/night. Great price considering I booked it the week before the trip. I was expecting worst after reading reviews and having been to a couple of hotels in area at the last minute because of Casino for higher prices,this hotel was wonderful whether there for the casino or there for the sights. Room (216) was clean. Did not look like it need remodeling or updating. Bed was comfortable. There wasn't any noise that we heard. TV was old but who goes on vacation to watch TV. I DVR the important Shows. Clean refrigerator and microwave in room. Great for leftovers. Make sure you get food before 10pm or you will have to go to Casino. Who goes to the mountains to expect Belks, Macy's or Dilliards?? Family owned Mom and pop shops make up the uniqueness of small town USA. It was too cold for pool which is surprising for Aug. but pool looked clean. Overall, I have not one bad thing to say. Definitely on our list for a return visit if we can't get into HARRAHS Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Do not touch this 'hotel' with a barge pole. Not what we expected at all. Some staff helpful, most couldn't care less.

Room was clean to a point: no visible dirt, but carpet felt disgusting underfoot. Weren't overly confident the beds were clean either. Hairdryer had literally been burnt (half of it was melted) but it was left in the room for use. When reported at reception, they barely stopped themselves laughing. Cherokee was an awful town, and this hotel sat perfectly in it. Not recommended at all! The worst point of our road trip by a very long way!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We love the outdoors but not the congestion of tourists. This hotel is so close to all the smokey mountains best but away from the craziness of the tourist areas. There is no breakfast but right around the corner is Peter's Pancakes-a wonderfully delicious diner. We brought all four little kids, swam in the pool and enjoyed our clean room!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walhalla, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was a casino comp, and not as bad as other reviews led me to believe. It was clean, the pool was good enough. No resturant on property, but plenty close by. It is OK when you don't expect the Ritz.

Room Tip: Inside by the pool during season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leusden
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

On our Duxieland tour we visit a lot of towns and cities. One we looked forward to was Cherokee. Big mistake. Nothing like you imagine. A casino and miles of the same shops and trashy buffets. Perfectly in this dissapointment is this hotel suited. Just a shack with unfriendly staff, lousy rooms and ni services whatsoever. Happy for us just ine night. T'morrow tge beautiful mountains and on our way to Nashville...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn

Address: 1636 Acquoni Road, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Cherokee Indian Reservation the Magnuson Great Smokies Inn is less than half mile drive to the entrance Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the Blue Ridge Parkway,also less than 3 miles from Harrah's Cherokee Casino and many other attractions. Guests can also enjoy white water rafting and tubing in the area. Guests will enjoy free wireless internet, a outdoor pool, business center and pets are welcome with additional charges and restrictions. Spacious rooms with a choice of one king bed or two queen beds, in-room hairdryer, free local calls, iron and board and microwave and mini-fridges in select rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Great Smokies Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.