We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful, peaceful river views"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Valley RV Park & Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Valley RV Park & Campground
Save
You added River Valley RV Park & Campground to your Saves list
PO Box 471, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“"Beautiful, peaceful river views"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Our first experience at this campground and it was amazing. Our family stayed for a week in a full-hook up campsite that was right on the river. You could look out our door and see the rapids falling over the rocks. The campground was quiet and peaceful with all the campers being very courteous and helpful neighbors. Will definitely recommend to friends and family. The lack of cell phone reception really helped me relax and enjoy my vacation time with my children and husband. The roar of the river put me to sleep each night and helped me sleep all through the night. Can't wait to visit again!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside site if they are available. They do not have concrete pads but the view is wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you are looking for a super nice campground on the river, this is it! We stayed Memorial Day weekend along with many other campers but never felt overcrowded. A couple of things to know - they don't accept credit cards - all cash. When you call for a reservation, they will hold it but you have 2 weeks to mail check for guarantee. So, make sure to reserve well in advance. Also, they do have RV sites on the river which is awesome! The river is beautiful and worth the extra money however, all the sites are really close and you can hear the river from just about anywhere in the park. No Wi-Fi connection at our site but may have more luck if closer to office. The campground is close to town and the National Park so many activities nearby. Looking forward to going back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were at this campground over the Labor Day weekend. It was a bit crowded as was every other good CG in the area. Nice sites. We could not get river front but had a great time. Place was clean and people friendly. Only down side is we lost money at the casino but I guess that was not their fault :) Would try and get a river front site if you can.

Room Tip: riverside if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

W/ national park campgrounds closed, we tried River Valley. Our site was right by the river, so we definitely enjoyed the roar of the river rushing by. There was very little grass, so our site seemed dirty/muddy, & there certainly wasn't the privacy that we have experienced at Deep Creek & Smokemont in the past. Bath house was adequate.

Room Tip: If you are in a pop up camper or tent, opt for a site by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went camping her with my family and we had a great time! We stayed on the riverfront site with picnic table, fire-pit, water,and electricity. Everyone that works there is very friendly and always willing to lend a hand. The bathrooms would get a bit dirty at times but they would clean it everyday so it happens. Its very relaxing and you can leave your stuff and not worry about anything getting stolen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We camped here during the Cherokee Trout Derby. The area was clean and quiet. It was great spending time with our family and relaxing. It was completely amazing to me that you leave you things the open and not worry about them being stolen. We could leave for hours and everything would be as we left it once we returned. I would recommend this campground.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel, FL
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a great riverfront site with table, fire pit, electric and water ($37 per night). The river blocked the noise around us. The bathroom is centrally located, but like most campground bathrooms was a little dirty. Mold all over the shower curtain and the tile grout. This could easily be fixed with a little effort. The laundry is expensive $2 to wash and $1 to dry (dryers don't work so plan to put clothes through three cycles). Staff were friendly. Close to town. You can do a short tube float from your site. I'd stay here again. The nearby Yogi Bear KOA is jam packed with campers and I would avoid it.

Room Tip: Stay on the river if you are camping or have a pop up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Valley RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Valley RV Park & Campground

Address: PO Box 471, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 48

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Valley RV Park & Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.