We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Valley RV Park & Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Valley RV Park & Campground
Save
You added River Valley RV Park & Campground to your Saves list
PO Box 471, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
nc Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good place to camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were at this campground over the Labor Day weekend. It was a bit crowded as was every other good CG in the area. Nice sites. We could not get river front but had a great time. Place was clean and people friendly. Only down side is we lost money at the casino but I guess that was not their fault :) Would try and get a river front site if you can.

Room Tip: riverside if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zanesville, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

W/ national park campgrounds closed, we tried River Valley. Our site was right by the river, so we definitely enjoyed the roar of the river rushing by. There was very little grass, so our site seemed dirty/muddy, & there certainly wasn't the privacy that we have experienced at Deep Creek & Smokemont in the past. Bath house was adequate.

Room Tip: If you are in a pop up camper or tent, opt for a site by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went camping her with my family and we had a great time! We stayed on the riverfront site with picnic table, fire-pit, water,and electricity. Everyone that works there is very friendly and always willing to lend a hand. The bathrooms would get a bit dirty at times but they would clean it everyday so it happens. Its very relaxing and you can leave your stuff and not worry about anything getting stolen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We camped here during the Cherokee Trout Derby. The area was clean and quiet. It was great spending time with our family and relaxing. It was completely amazing to me that you leave you things the open and not worry about them being stolen. We could leave for hours and everything would be as we left it once we returned. I would recommend this campground.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel, FL
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a great riverfront site with table, fire pit, electric and water ($37 per night). The river blocked the noise around us. The bathroom is centrally located, but like most campground bathrooms was a little dirty. Mold all over the shower curtain and the tile grout. This could easily be fixed with a little effort. The laundry is expensive $2 to wash and $1 to dry (dryers don't work so plan to put clothes through three cycles). Staff were friendly. Close to town. You can do a short tube float from your site. I'd stay here again. The nearby Yogi Bear KOA is jam packed with campers and I would avoid it.

Room Tip: Stay on the river if you are camping or have a pop up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candler, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We reserved our spot on the river a month ahead just because we knew how busy they are this time of year. I had never stayed at this particular campground and, I admit, I was skeptical it would be much pumnkin because it was so cheap. I was WRONG WRONG WRONG!! The employees were fantastic and very helpful. Our spot on the river was as big as promised. The park was quiet and the childeren well behaved. Bathrooms were great, clean, and well stocked. We are already planning another trip there soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooper city
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

we love the place Its terrific , great location , wonderful and refreshing, one major drawback NO WI FI and if you have ATT no phone reception so we drive to town to get emails and make calls, other than that its heaven

Room Tip: no WIFI and no phone reception sometimes thats a good thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Valley RV Park & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Valley RV Park & Campground

Address: PO Box 471, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 48

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Valley RV Park & Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.