We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay! Will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee

Save Saved
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   674 Casino Trail, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #11 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay! Will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Microtel Inn & Suites in Cherokee was a great place to stay while visiting the Harrah's Cherokee Casino over the weekend in September. It's small but cute and very very clean. The staff at the front desk were pleasant, courteous and helpful with any questions we asked. They even had cookies baking in the late afternoon for the guests! The room itself was very clean and tidy. We only stayed for 1 night so the size of the room was sufficient for what we needed.

There is a grocery store and a McDonald's within walking distance from the hotel as they all share the same parking lot. The hotel itself is .5 miles from the casino. If you are feeling energetic you could walk as there is a sidewalk the entire way. We opted not to do this as we attended an event at the casino in the evening and didn't want to walk back later at night. The hotel will also call a local shuttle service for you that is available until 10pm on most nights if you don't want to drive.

I would definately stay here again when attending future casino events! Thanks Microtel!

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevators and ice/vending machines for a quiet sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    144
    70
    30
    20
See reviews for
136
191
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Recently I stayed at the Microtel Inns & Suites in Cherokee, NC. During my stay, I received exemplary service that cannot be overstated. Staff member Ms. Rori was friendly, courteous, professional and knowledgeable.
When I discovered that the wireless service in my room was not properly operating, I reported it to Ms. Rori who went above and beyond to ensure that it was fixed and working within minutes. I provided my feedback in person to the General Manager the next morning. I am hoping that employees who provide great customer service such will be recognized and rewarded financially and by promoting them to management levels within the company. Thanks again Ms. Rori for your exemplary service!
In addition, Ms. Liz who was working the night shift, was most helpful and professional helping another customer resolving a printing issue.
Thank you again for your considerate service. I will be certain to recommend your accommodations and great service to my friends and family.

HZ
Jacksonville, FL

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I'm convinced that customer service doesn't get any better than this! The entire staff whether management, front desk, or housekeeping were incredibly friendly and always greeted me with a smile and hello. The rooms were cozy and very clean with a spectacular view of the Autumn leaves. Another plus is that the location is perfect with easy access to the casino, dining, grocery, and other great attractions. Very impressed with this place! Oh yeah, great breakfast too!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Great hotel! This hotel is very comfortable and clean. Management and staff are very friendly. They go out of their way to serve their guests. Dog friendly environment with a fenced area for use. Continental breakfast and afternoon snack delicious. Location a plus. Grade A+.

Room Tip: When you make reservation if you have special needs let them know and they will do what they can to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Microtel in Cherokee, N.C., which is just about 1/2 mile from Harrah's Casino. The hotel and rooms were neat and clean. The staff was very pleasant. There a Food Lion grocery store and several fast food restaurants in the same right next door, which is very convenient. They had a very nice breakfast set up in the morning, complete with waffles, gravy and biscuits, assorted pastries, etc. My only compliant is the price was a little expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Location, location, location. Great Smokey Mountains Nation Park, Blue Ridge Parkway, Pisgah National Forest, Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge, Asheville, just to name a few.

Price, well, checking rates this Microtel is usually a bit higher than a lot of the other economy/budget type hotels in the area, including the Microtel in Gatlinburg, but always reviews better than the rest. Considering the location, I believe it's in line with the rest of the market.

Once or twice a year I leave Florida for the mountains to decompress. After staying at the Holiday express in Dillsboro, a few miles south, I decided to give this place a try so I could bring the dogs. Three years later I'm still staying here.

The staff have always been great. It's as if they've figured out that the money in their paycheck comes from the guests. Not always the case in the economy/budget hotel market.

Rooms are very clean, but be aware, pet friendly rooms are just that. Sometimes their's a faint oder of a previous pet. I expect some guests are leaving their pets for extended periods of time while at the casino, which I haven't been to. I usually walk next door to grocery store, buy a bottle of fabreeze, hose the room down, problem solved. I don't blame the hotel for this, or the dogs (and I blame everything on my dogs). It's irresponsible pet owners not making the proper arrangements. The ones that don't marshall up their animals poop outdoors. You know the type.

The third floor ice machine has been on the fritz for a while now. C'mon guys. I know your better than that. That's why your getting a four out of five instead of a five out of five.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Luzerne, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Fairlly new hotel not far from the Casino. Easy to find but a little off from the main attractions. Very clean with ok breakfast. I am not a big morning eater so cereal, fruit & toast was enough for me. Next door to a grocery store in case you need anything. Great cookies in the lobby all day. Clean...clean...clean. Beds are great with new pillows etc. Can't go wrong staying at this Microtel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee

Address: 674 Casino Trail, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cherokee
#5 Family Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Inn & Suites offers 63 guest rooms with queen beds, smoking or non-smoking, pet friendly, outdoor pool open seasonally. Walk to many area restaurants. Free WIFI, free local and long distance calls, free deluxe Continental breakfast. In-room coffee, hairdryer, security safe and cable. Clean rooms and friendly staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites
Microtel Hotel Cherokee
Microtel Cherokee
Cherokee Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.