We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At $72 a night, I expected a great experience but this KOA didn't deliver.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA
Save
You added Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA to your Saves list
92 KOA Campground Road, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Kernersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“At $72 a night, I expected a great experience but this KOA didn't deliver.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Our site was $56 a night, plus $3 resort fee(?), plus $6 tax, plus $7 for internet service - it adds up to EXPENSIVE. The deluxe pull-through site was nice. There are older and newer sections in the campground and the newer ones are much nicer. The bathrooms were the biggest letdown. First, they are old. They were also dirty when we arrived in the afternoon and they were not cleaned overnight or the next morning. We left a day early and went to Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    38
    23
    22
    12
See reviews for
67
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We arrived and checking in was an experience. Noone knew what they were doing. Then we had to find out own way to the kabin even though we had never been there. The kabin door had huge gap like to have not got it open and it took 2 people to lock and unlock it. The floor was not clean. The grounds outside had not been cleaned. Then there was the bath houses. Never was clean then to try and shower. That was a night mare. Needed a life vest just to try and showere. Sometimes there was no hot water. This was an expensive and terrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

we were there and thought it to be clean. The host didnt even take us to our place. We never saw him hardly except when he wanted to press the rules. The prices at the store were out rageous I guess they knew in an emergency wer would have to buy something. we watched as one lady with 2 dogs just let them poop anywhere instead of the pet walk and never pick it up. NO one picked up the poop at the pet walk either. We walked our pet there. They warned about picking up after your pet . We were here for 2 months and i used over 100 bags for my pet.We wanted some family members to come and stay for a few days but the cabins are too expensive to have nothing but beds. The bigger cabins that have a bath are too much too. MOst of the washers were broken which is unbelieveable for a place as big as that. It was not a pleasant experience. Next time we will stay the KOA in Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This was my second trip to KOA this year. We had five adults, three teens, and one toddler. We had a great time. This was the first time visiting Cherokee KOA for two of the adults, and they loved it too. The group is already planning a one week vacation back at the facility. We all started out at our favorite tent sites, but we ended up upgrading to one room cabins because of rain on the second day. The staff was extremely helpful as usual, especially Victoria. This was my first time staying in a cabin, and I did not have any problems. Prior to moving our things into the cabin, I search high and low for the infamous bed bugs, but I didn't find any. Also, all of the mattresses were in thick vinyl covers that had zippers on them. Our group rented more than one cabin and none of us had any problems. Also, we didn't have any bug bites in the morning. I would definitely rent a cabin again. Some of us even rented bedding from the KOA and didn't have any problems other than the bedding being old, especially the blankets. I definitely suggest bringing your own linens. Some of the bathhouses are old, but the newer bathhouse is a lot better. The newer bath house has continuous hot water showers inside the bathroom area. If you are looking for a four or five star hotel experience, this facility is not for you. However, if you are looking for a nice family camping facility, give this KOA a try.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We love the Cherokee KOA and this weekend we stayed two nights in a kabin. Morning after the first night I noticed a few spots of blood on our sheets (we brought our own). I figured we scratched mosquito bites and let it go at that. Last night I woke at four-thirty in the morning and felt things crawling on me. I woke my husband, he turned on the light and we were swarming with bed bugs! Needless to say, we showered, packed our things that were not on the bed (we left everything that had touched the bed: pillows, a blanket, sheets, our pj's), and sealed everthing we could in plastic trash bags. We had our dog with us and also threw the pet bed away. We took no chances! We informed the staff before we left (around 6:45 am). The lady was very understanding and offered a different kabin, (which we refused). Instead we requested and did recieve a full refund, no questions asked (which we found telling). Thank goodness we found the bugs before we got home and needless to say, we will not be staying in a Kamping Kabin again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, nc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

This was our first trip to any KOA and the "premier" river side site was covered with waste back up & the river was no where in sight. The creek however, you could see, but was covered with chain link fence & you had to go down to the kamping kabins to have access to the creek. The best river sites are taken up by their kamping cabins. There was never any hot water & they were under staffed. Our site was not worth the price & the traffic was too much.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This KOA is a great place to go for an easy-going family vacation. There are daily planned activities for the kids like tie-dying, crafts using recyclables, scavenger hunts, etc. They also have nightly events like outdoor movies, Wii sport tournaments, candy flashlight hunts, skits, etc. They have both indoor and outdoor pools, plus a small putt putt course, and the jumping pillow was a big hit for my 6 & 7 year olds. Bring your own bike or rent one. They also shuttle you to nearby recreation such as tubing, rafting, horseback riding. We stayed in the Kamping Kottages which completely met our needs with the kitchenette, two beds and a bathroom. We were on the river so we could sleep to the sounds of the rolling water every night. The staff, which included young adults from the Sunshiners group, were so friendly, so helpful, and just plain courteous. Couldn't have asked for a better experience at a campground.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

Address: 92 KOA Campground Road, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Cherokee
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a location! The Cherokee/Great Smokies KOA is bordered on one side by the serene Raven Fork River and on the other side by three tribal trout ponds. It lies just across the road from Great Smoky Mountains National Park and 1 mile from the Blue Ridge Parkway. From almost anywhere on the KOA's grounds, take in 360-degree mountain views. The resort kampground offers Kamping Kabins, Kottages and Lodges, large RV sites, tent sites and tepees. This KOA is ideal for the biggest group gatherings with year-round indoor and seasonal outdoor pools and hot tubs, food service, an island pet walk, an outdoor movie-cinema, a Jumping Pillow and adventure mini golf. Kampers enjoy the shuttle to area attractions and events too numerous to count. Check online for special events, theme weekends and seasonal activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cherokee / Great Smokies Koa Hotel Cherokee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.