We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change of pace.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel to your Saves list
Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel
777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I have seen a few casino resorts and enjoyed my stay at this one. It has great potential. Convenient location for sightseeing at the Biltmore, the Smokies, and outdoor activities. Beautiful grounds with the creek running through. I read earlier reviews and was pleased that my room in the 'older' tower was clean, smoke free, comfortable, and nicely appointed, but the walls were paper thin and they wanted $11/day for Wi-Fi. The casino gaming is limited. I came out ahead playing the video poker machine 'jacks or better'. The buffet was $15.50 and a good value, however, some questionable selections had one in our group running for the room. Indoor pool. Nice and friendly staff throughout. I will certainly return when the construction is complete.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,471
    807
    312
    140
    150
See reviews for
506
1,324
253
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We had a great time at the Casino. We went with some friends who have a lot of points and were able to stay free. We had 3 meals in the hotel at 3 different restaurants and they were all excellent. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

I could not believe the amount of cigarette smoke in the casino, every hallway, restaurant , and even the elevators. Even when we went to the casino floor very early in the morning with no more than 20 players on the floor. It was awful. Our room was supposed to be smoke free to - It wasen't.. The restaurants were smokey too. We stayed two nights. When we arrived home, we washed all our clothes, worn or not and put our suitcases outside for the day to air out.

The machines were not as I remembered either. (our 3rd trip), Cherokee can be only described as greedy.

I also had 3 rewards offers and 1 cash coupon none of which worked.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north ga
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Service was great. The room was big, clean except for carpet. Loks like they need to rent a steam cleaner.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

My wife and i spent our 35th wedding anniversary at chrokee could have gone to most any place we wanted but we chose cherokee as we do once a month every month of the year. Our host handled ourr wishes to the tee including choclates and flowers for my wife,,, the room was great as usual, the seafood buffet was excellent, the slots are alot more loose than they use to be I won 2300.00 on a2cent machine and 900on a 25cent machine my wife won750 on 25 cent machine. for the people who think the machines are tight give cherokee another try, we will be back next month.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abingdon,va
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

iam a diamond player ,go often. every time i find machine to play that i like,they remove it from buliding.can"t seem to win any more guess they have to pay for constuction.have casino host doesn't help me at all when i complain or need something.she never has answers.was at show was seated 2 rows from back,remember diamond player thought i earned special treatment .very unhappy these days

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, N.C.,USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We drive to Cherokee every few months to play at Harrah's. This is our favorite property! All the rooms are exceptional. The mountain views are fantastic. The food at the buffet is always very good. The creekside cafe has the best breakfast. Currently the hotel is constructing additional rooms, casino area, and auditorium, but there was no inconvenience to guests. We always have good luck on their slots! We have visited most of Harrah's properties and none compare with Cherokee! It's worth our six hour drive!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel

Address: 777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#2 Family Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Harrahs
Harrahs Cherokee Hotel
Harrah's Cherokee
Harrahs Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Casino Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Hotel Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Cherokee Casino Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.