We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel to your Saves list
Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel
777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
281 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very nice casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My friend and I didn't stay at the hotel, but we did eat there and we spent about six hours gambling at different table games, video poker and slot machines. We had a good time and I felt the experience was on par with many Las Vegas casinos which I've visited many times. One difference is alcoholic drinks are only available for purchase rather than free if you are gambling. I'd definitely recommend Harrah's because it's unique to have that kind of experience right in North Carolina's mountains.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,456
    1,206
    431
    166
    171
See reviews for
893
1,967
416
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville Tn
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Both the hotel and casino are huge so put on your walking shoes. The staff at the hotel couldn't be more helpful. We were waiting for check in time in the hotel lobby when a staff member came and asked if we were waiting for a room. He took our confirmation for us over to the desk and checked us in. Our room, in the Soco Tower, was much larger than a normal hotel room. We had a small table with 2 chairs and a sofa with a king sized bed with a bench at the bottom of the bed. The bathroom had all the amenities along with a jetted tub. I was also surprised to find a small fridge since I didn't remember it being in the brochure.

We had breakfast at Paula Deen's and can't wait to go back.

The only negative thing would be there were a few things on the carpet that should have been picked up by a vacuum. I was able to pick them up and put them in the trash.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street. The view was of the Day's Inn across the street. I'm sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a great time in the casino and loved having real cards and dealers at the tables. We ate at Paula Dean's place for breakfast and it was horrible, even the biscuits that she is so famous for were not good, seemed like they were made from a mix. The food court is so limited and overpriced that unless you are starving for tasteless food stay away. As the others have said you will walk forever to get to your room but I liked the exercise after sitting for so long in the casino. The room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The staff here is outstanding. Everyone I have encountered seems to actually be glad to see you. While this attitude is not rare in Las Vegas, it is not as widespread in other places. They get it, they realize the guests are the folks who make their paychecks. The rooms are very large and spotless. The food in Paul Deen's is good country cooking. They also have Ruth's Chris and a buffet. The buffet is equal to any you might find in Vegas, but it is only open at supper time and is very pricey, but you can sure load up on lots of good stuff if you like buffets.
All in all it is a top notch hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is close to Vegas Style along with Casino. Great weekend get away and they have real tables to gamble on not machines. OF course Slots were great too. Clean not so smokey and Paula Deen's Restaurant was great as usual. Hotel was beautiful and connects to Casino, makes it really nice to get to. Everyone was very nice and helpful!

Room Tip: We slept in Mountain Towers, great big room Big tub and overlooking so you could see mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

On this trip we stayed in the creek tower. I think the mountain tower is the oldest, but it's still my favorite. Creek Tower was roomy, updated, and clean. We stayed with the kids from Wednesday through Sunday on this trip. The pool is still closed and will not be re-opened until very late summer at the earliest. On a good note, they did replace some of their old work-out equipment and re-opened that area after relocating on the ground floor. We ate at the large buffet each night (which was very tasty) and even brought 6 pies back home with us. The beds in the Creek Tower mist be newer. They were certainly more comfortable than in the Soco Tower. We had a fine trip and our host was fabulous as always.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with Children of any age, ask for the Creek tower or the Mountain Tower. Book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had not been to Cherokee North Carolina in several years (like 8) but we were sent some comped hotel stays and golf outings so we decided to take a short weekend trip. We were so surprised to see the expansion they have put on this property-it was first class, and tons of fun just a few short hours from Atlanta! We met another couple at the property-beautiful drive through the Nantahala Outdoor Center-and had an amazing weekend. We enjoyed the beautiful Sequoyah National Golf Course(reasonable $40.00 greens fees), had a lovely dinner at Ruth's Chris Steakhouse(not so reasonable, but very good), really enjoyed the new Brio Italian Restaurant(the Chicken Limone was sinful!!); and even took in a first class concert by Reba McIntyre in the new Events Center. This property had everything we look for in a weekend get away to Vegas, with out paying for airfare!!

Room Tip: The Creek tower is the newest and nicest, with double sinks and very modern decor, but we were told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cherokee hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
1.9 mi away
Baymont Inn Cherokee / Smoky Mountains
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cherokee
0.4 mi away
Cherokee Grand Hotel
Cherokee Grand Hotel
#18 of 28 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
#14 of 28 in Cherokee
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel

Address: 777 Casino Drive, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Green Hotel in Cherokee
#1 Family Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherokee Harrahs
Harrahs Cherokee Hotel
Harrah's Cherokee
Harrahs Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Casino Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Hotel Cherokee Nc
Harrahs Cherokee Casino Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Cherokee Casino & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.