We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very different experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of End of the Trail Horseback Riding

End of the Trail Horseback Riding
103 Guy Bark Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719
(828) 497-4803
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Activities in Cherokee
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Adventure
Attraction details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very different experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our guide was such an incredibly nice and gentle man. His horses were the same, very gentle, and incredibly obedient and intelligient. The only reason I did not give this five stars is at times it was a little scary going up or down some parts of the mountain. There was no flat terrain to trot the horses, it was truly a moutain ride. I am not that familar with horses so I don't know if they are made for that kind of terrain, it seemed hard for them to navigate at times through all the loose rocks - but they were amazing. The view when you get to the top is incredibly beautiful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    4
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tignall
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice mountain ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great trail ride up the mountain. Good horses and Goodlow is a very nice person and guide.Pretty views from top of mountain.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great experience, great value!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Myself, my wife, and 2 children ages 7 and 10 visited Goodlow and his horses this past week. Steep trails, and a beautiful vista view at the top. My kids loved it, and my wife and I enjoyed ourselves too. The price is very reasonable, considering what other places charge, for basically the same experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great guide, great horses, fun rride, pretty woods, great view at top.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Owner/operated This was a great experience! The price was right on, the guide was knowledgable and friendly, and the scenery was varied and beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseyville, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not what i was expecting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I had not planned on going to End of the Trail for our first time riding horses but ended up here by mistake. First impression of the place was not good but decided to stay and give it a try. My daughter who is 7 and I had never been on a horse before and were both put on with no instructions on how to handle the horses,i was very nervous for her to ride a horse alone but was assured everything would be alright. The trail we went on was very steep, narrow and full of large rocks that the horses had to maneuver around. I myself did not enjoy it at all since she was behind me going to the top and i could not make sure she was doing things right with the horse while going up the side of a mountain. My daughter enjoyed her ride and had a great time but i did not feel it was a very safe experience and would not go there again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodlow b, Owner at End of the Trail Horseback Riding, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I have not had time to respond to your review until now but I remember you well, You were given instructions just like everyone else . but when you are timid, instructions sometime go out the other ear. The horses evidently know what they are doing even when the rider doesn't. Most of my trail is wide enough for a 4-wheel drive vehicle, I often drive my truck up there, it may seem steep for a flat-lander but to us locals its just a winding road to the mountain.Perhaps the other customer that rode with us may have been too out spoken to you and prevented you from enjoying your ride cause your daughter sure did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed End of the Trail Horseback Riding also viewed

 

Been to End of the Trail Horseback Riding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage End of the Trail Horseback Riding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.