We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a picnic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oconaluftee Islands Park

Oconaluftee Islands Park
Hwy 441, Cherokee, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
dayton
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a picnic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful, quiet place for picnic and stroll. Found a great picnic table and ate lunch while the ducks swam by.....
There is a actual flushing bathroom with toliet paper and enough picnic tables and quiet places to eat alone and still enjoy the view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    45
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Small park area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Beautiful Smokey Mountains, and bubbling creek in the area. There really isn't a lot of attractions nearby unless you like shopping. Go to Bryson City if you want a little more to see and do.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park, No Dogs Allowed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Only saw park from sidewalk on other side of river. What a shame irresponsible dog owners make a bad name for those who clean up after their pets. I carry and use puppy poop bags-All the time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“We spend a lot of time here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a very nice park. It offers picnicking, swimming, tubing, fishing, walking paths. My daughter absolutely loves this place. It has a bamboo forest which is really cool to see. The river is very shallow for the most part. You can walk across it. There are spots that are deeper. My daughter loves to walk in the river and look for cool rocks. There are normally ducks floating around and will walk/swim right up to you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ducks, ducks amd more ducks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a very nice and scenic park in the middle of Cherokee. The first time we went was to take a walk with my wife and two kids (10 and 7). We never made it past the ducks. We had some bread in the car and that was the kids wanted to do. Several dozen quacker showed up and before we knew it we were surrounded begging for food. The next all the kids wanted to do was go back feed the little critters. So of course we did. If you have you little ones of love ducks, this park is a must see.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oconaluftee Islands Park also viewed

 

Been to Oconaluftee Islands Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oconaluftee Islands Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.