We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOCI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of the Cherokee Indian

Museum of the Cherokee Indian
Highway 441 and Drama Road, P.O. Box 1599, Cherokee, NC 28719
828-497-3481
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Cherokee
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site tells the history and culture of the Cherokee Indians through displays and modern computer images.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Cherokee, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“MOCI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very informative. Hands down one of the best ways to learn about Cherokee History. It begins with the Paleo period and ends in present day. To really experience all the Museum has to offer it is best to stay an hour to an hour and half. It is self guided and you can always go back to the box office for any questions you may have. The gift shop also has some locally made crafts. Ask the employees to point these out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    110
    27
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The original Smokey Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is one of most informative and well designed museums I have ever visited. Without a stop here you trip to the Smokies would not be complete. Taking the time to learn about the Cherokee history gives you a better understanding af the area.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very interesting historical presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The museum told a great story about the history of the Cherokee Indian tribe in America. Lot's of information that I was totally unaware of and the presentation was extremely well done. We took a lot more time to tour the site than I had thought we would, and I certainly recommend that one go through the craft center which you can browse either before or after you take the tour through the museum.
An excellent presentation.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Given the fairly melancholy tourist appeal of the surrounding town, you would be justified in expecting a small, sad museum. But this is one of the best culturally specific celebrations I've enjoyed.

After a lovely origin-myth movie in a cozy little amphitheater, you wind through a timeline of the Cherokee people from 11,000 years ago to the present day. Unlike many similar approaches to presenting history, this one's physical layout never leaves you wondering where to go and what to examine next. You follow a winding path from room to room that offers well thought out displays and many detailed and informative displays. (It's a nice metaphor for the trails that have been integral to Cherokee life for millennia.) The architecture is appropriately dimensional and enhances presentation. We particularly enjoyed the small holographic show in which a Cherokee medicine man discusses traditional healing practices. The syllabary board (and its amazing story) is also cool.

There are many rooms along the way. To my layman's mind this is a very comprehensive look at the history of the Cherokee people as a whole up to the removals, and of the Eastern Band from that point on.

This museum will best serve visitors who, like me, enjoy taking the time to actually read the wealth of information presented in writing next to artifacts and displays. But those who like to just breeze through a museum and glance at the visuals will probably enjoy their experience here, too. (There are also several displays with audio presentations that repeat automatically via hidden speakers.) I was a nerdy kid and would have loved this place back in the day; children and teens who need a lot of whiz-bang might get impatient here despite the multimedia elements.

The museum trail ends at the entrance to the gift shop. Unlike many museums, you aren't forced to walk through the shop to leave, but I recommend making the left turn into the shop here: The shop is extensive and has a lot of great merchandise, attractively presented.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really fascinating visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a really interesting and revealing history of the Cherokee and I would recommend it to anyone staying nearby. It's put together in a really engaging way for all ages and definitely holds your attention. Be warned if you're European it will cause you significant shame...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Cherokee Indian also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Cherokee Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of the Cherokee Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.