We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for an overnighter” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Cherokee

Sleep Inn Cherokee
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherokee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sleep Inn Cherokee
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn Cherokee to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   US 441 South, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place for an overnighter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

this is a nice place if you are traveling through town and need a place to stay overnight, the beds are comfortable, and the linens are clean,, the staff is friendly as well. but for any stay of 2 or more days i wouldn't recommend. housekeeping services are second rate at best, they never vacuumed the floors, never cleaned the bathroom, all they did was make up the bed, i made coffee in the room. the pot still has coffee in it and they never replaced the filter packs. we had a room with a wirlpool tub. you needed a stepladder to get into it. the shower had the poorest water pressure i have ever seen.. when we approached the staff about the cleaning, they told us it would be taken care of, but it never was

overall i would rate this place about a 3 or 4 on a scale of 1-10, 1 being the lowest 5 average.

  • Liked — location was quiet but still nearby everything
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    3
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

our family of five have stayed here two years in a row,we liked it so well last year we came back this year as well. plan on keeping it our usual spot to stay in this area. clean rooms, great staff(i saw a staff member showing an elderly lady how to play solitair on the public computer that is available!)love the location, just off reservation and away from the casino crowd, yet close to everything. great place.

  • Liked — great staff and location
  • Disliked — our bathroom door lock was broke
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

There were four adults in our party that stayed two week-end nights at the Sleep Inn in Cherokee, NC. We found the hotel to be very comfortable overall. The Staff were very courteous, helpful and friendly, but the hotel itself is lacking in some areas. The elevator stopped working our first evening there, so we took the stairs for the rest of our stay. ( We were on the 3rd floor). The shower dripped our entire stay(we kept the door closed to the bathroom stall, so it didn't keep us awake). We did report this immediately, but it wasn't taken care of before our leave. There are overhead lights in the rooms, but no table lamps for the late night reader that doesn't want to keep the roomate awake with the lights. One of our rooms had small ants which we reported but weren't taken care of before our leave. The bedside table is tiny and will only hold the telephone, so you really can't have the clock beside your bed. The rooms seem to be clean, linens were clean, the continental breakfast had a variety of items, and the dining room was clean. My belief is there are not enough staff to take care of problems. I think the staff that is there is probably over worked . The grounds definitely needed attending too.
The plants around the pool area were dead and there is a gorgeous shrub near the front left corner that is in dire need of pruning to remove the dead branches from the weather.
The building is nice, the setting is nice, but overall the Sleep Inn needs attention.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — overall maintenance lacking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

We booked on the spur of the moment. Found clean accomodations, friendly, helpful staff, staying again this year.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

Should you listen to me? Overall I like a clean room. Has to be clean. Prefer a new hotel or a recently renovated one. Usually stay at mid-range places and a resort is a treat for me. Typically I stay at a Hampton Inn and occasionally a Ramada/Hilton.

The Good:
Our room was very clean. The staff was about what was expected. Not overly eager to assist but answered questions and were pleasant. Breakfast was OK - just bad configuration of the dining area made it crowded. Pool was nice.

The So-So:
Know going in that this is a drive away from anything. You have a long walk ahead of you if you want to walk to eat or shop. A shuttle will take you to/from the casino. The pool is detached from the hotel and was a bit cold - but it was in single digits and snowing outside which was neat to see while I swam in the pool. Not sure if all rooms are this way but the room did NOT have a tub - only a shower. Something to check on.

The bad:
Not much. Elevator was a bit slow and a staff member told me it gets stuck on occasion. The door did get stuck open once and had to be "convinced" to close. Like I said before - hotel sits alone on the south end of town.

Food:
The snow forced some closings. Took takeout buffet box from a steakhouse opposite the casino (and south some) and it was nothing to write home about. Ate at J. Arthur's restaurant in Maggie Valley. Pretty good but will try elsewhere if in the area again. BEST meal of the weekend was at Peters Pancakes and Waffles just outside the park entrance coming from Cherokee.

To do:
Was supposed to hike but Newfound Road was closed. Cherokee Indian museum was very nice. Did several dayhikes in the park and took in Mingus Mill for photo shots. Went to Maggie Valley twice to tube but it was sold out each time we tried. My advice is go early, buy a ticket for a later time, go eat something in Maggie Valley, and come back. There was more to do but a lot was closed b/c of the weather.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2006

We were very concerned over our hotel reservation since we booked the reservation after we had read the website reviews. It was to late in the month to schedule somewhere because all hotels were booked up. Our room had a neat appearance and was clean. The only thing was our shower stall had been sprayed with cleaner and not rinsed off so there was a strong scent which did not last long after we rinsed out the shower for a few minutes.
The room does not have a bath so if you have small children that are used to taking baths, they will have to adjust and take a shower with parents.
The Continental breakfast was a pleasant suprise with a variety of hot and cold foods.
The hotel front desk was courteous. However they should keep personal conversations reserved for breaktimes and not in front of hotel guests.
Overall a good stay. I would stay there again if I needed to but for next year we plan to stay at another hotel.

  • Liked — breakfast--better than anticipated.
  • Disliked — The heated pool was outside the hotel building
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2005

We stayed at Sleep Inn in Cherokee the night of July 3rd. There was no remote control and the advertised casino shuttle was not running (no one on duty to drive). HBO was advertised and was not available. There was only one person on duty in a full hotel. We turned down the sheets on the beds only to find makeup smeared on the pillowcases and obviously slept in (filthy) sheets. We had to go downstairs at 10:30 pm to get our own sheets and change our own beds. We went downstairs for breakfast (sub-standard) only to find a plastic ice bucket with at torn hand lettered sign on the buffet that said TIPS. The manager was on vacation (during the week of July 4th) and the employees said they could not make any adjustments. I called twice on July 6th when the manager was supposed to be in. I left my phone number both times and never received a call back.

I contacted Choice Hotels about this fiasco. They were unable to do anything because Sleep Inn is a franchise. i'm not sure the purpose of their customer service department since they apparently have nothing to do with the operations of their franchises. They got in touch with the manager who said he sent me a letter, but I never received one. I am demanding a refund of my $141 that I paid for the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I am currently working through VISA to protest the charge. My suggestion is that you avoid Choice Hotels and this Sleeep Inn in particular.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Cherokee

Address: US 441 South, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Cherokee 2*
Also Known As:
Cherokee Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Cherokee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.