We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added River's Edge Motel to your Saves list
River's Edge Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1026 Tasli Blvd, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were intrigued by the great reviews so we decided to try it. It doesn't look like much from the outside, but our room appeared newly renovated. Surprisingly nice, great bed and linens, but the balcony overlooking the river is what makes this place special. Don't expect breakfast, but expect a very decent, clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    56
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
76
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

There are balconies and the river is pretty. We stayed here because Harrah's was so unwelcoming we had to cancel our reservation. We were in a pinch and honestly this motel was fine. It was clean enough. the front desk closes at 8 and you can't even get ice after that. We stayed here for the first night. The next morning we decided to stay for additional nights but couldnt get in touch with anyone. When we returned to our room the staff had locked us out of our room. Apparently they thought we were not going to pay. The clientele here must be pretty unsavory. We will camp next time we come to the smokeys. This Cherokee motel is not our style.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I was very sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience during your stay with us. I was not aware of your being locked out of your room. We will strive to do better next time. Our guest and their comfort is our number one concern. I will see what steps we can do in the future to keep from having this happen again.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and again I apologize that it wasn't a pleasant one. We appreciate all feedback both positive and negative for this is how we learn what we need to improve on. Thank you for your review and hopefully if you ever choose to visit again you will give us the opportunity to do better.
Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I love the river rushing at the edge of the motel. You can hear the river flowing as you rest peacefully. There is much peace and serenity here. I slept in and felt great! The balcony is so nice to have! I loved every minute that I was there. It was clean and well-maintained all-around. Just call to get directions on checking in before you go, because after dark check-in is at another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. We pride ourselves on having both a friendly staff and clean rooms so we appreciate all input and reviews.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will visit again real soon.
GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed 1 night at Rivers Edge and every room has a balcony over the river. Very clean, had 2 beds. very personable clerk. Had fund feeding ducks. About 2 miles from Harrahs Cherokee Casino, but very close to Indian Museum, and Unto these Hills show and of course all the tourist trappings. Had coffee machine, refrigerator. If you want a place to stay for a night or so, it's great, but there aren't any amenities for children.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor, parking right outside your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We pride ourselves on having both a friendly staff and clean rooms so we appreciate all input and reviews. This is how we find out where we can improve.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will visit again real soon.
GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, MA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Pros: Very nice room, excellent bed, updated look, table with two chairs, private balcony with two chairs and overhead light right over the river. Cons: No breakfast. Outside doors, second floor accessed by metal stairway. Door locks with key, not a card, and there is no chain lock. Bolt lock and door both seemed a bit flimsy. Signs warning about towels being counted every day left the impression of sketchy clientele around us and reinforced doubts about security. Building is literally squeezed between the river and the road, with no breathing room. Parking is difficult – angle parking requiring backing into the traffic on the street to leave. While the balcony over the river is a selling point, the view is of a campground about 30 yards away, on the opposite shore of the river, close enough to hear if the rushing river (at least in spring) were not there to mask the sound. It was too chilly for us to sit on the balcony, but I imagine the smoke from campfires in the campground could reduce the enjoyment of the balcony in warmer weather.

In short, I would try one of the many other hotel choices in Cherokee if we ever returned.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
I was very sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience during your stay with us. We will strive to do better next time. Our guest and their comfort is our number one concern. I will see what steps we can do in the future to improve matters that were not satisfactory.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.. We appreciate all feedback both positive and negative for this is how we learn what we need to improve on. Thank you for your review and hopefully if you ever choose to visit again you will give us the opportunity to do better.
Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have been going to Cherokee for over 12 years. Use to camp, now that the kids are grown, we like the convenience of the hotels. I have stayed in most of the hotels in town at one time or another. This is the absolute cleanest hotel I have stayed, in Cherokee!. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless, but so was the entire grounds. It is very convenient for the fisherman in that family!. I was able to sit on the balcony in comfort to read and listen to the flow of the river while he went out and caught the big fish! :) The last big shocker was the comfort and quality of the bedding. The matresses were great and the linens were top notch! Definately will be staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We pride ourselves on having both a friendly staff and clean rooms so we appreciate all input and reviews. This is how we find out where we can improve.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will visit again real soon.
GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have rarely stayed in such a nice motel for only 70 dollars. The building literally stands on the river, so you have quite unexpected and very nice views from your spacious balcony. Our room was very clean. Convenient location in Cherokee, but there was not going on very much this time of the year (April), except in Harrah's casino which we chose, but considering their prices, cannot fully recommend, for dinner. We visited the Cherokee's museum the next morning, stayed for 2 hours and truly liked it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth C, General Manager at River's Edge Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We pride ourselves on having both a friendly staff and clean rooms so we appreciate all input and reviews. This is how we find out where we can improve.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you will visit again real soon.
GM-Beth Cline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to River's Edge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Motel

Address: 1026 Tasli Blvd, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River's Edge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled and located on the Cherokee Indian Reservation in the heart of the Great Smoky Mountains, River's Edge has everything to offer. You can sit on your own private balcony overlooking the Oconaluftee River, or just step out the door to choose from convenient restaurants, stores, and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your River's Edge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Cherokee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.