We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A skip away from Harrah's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cherokee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cherokee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cherokee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Tsalagi Road, P.O. Box 1926, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A skip away from Harrah's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Harrah's was sold out for a concert so we stayed at the Hampton Inn, Cherokee. The room was clean and the staff was helpful. The tv channels were underwhelming but there were plenty of things to do besides watch tv. The WI-FI was free and speedy enough to keep me satisfied. Hot breakfast in the morning was also good. The only drawback to this property is that it is being renovated and the renovations are NOISY! I will visit again for the value and location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    113
    63
    23
    13
See reviews for
104
157
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a nice place to stay, with clean, quiet, rooms and newly freshened decor. Missed a few of my favorite TV channels (HGTV!) but otherwise it was a good stay. WI-Fi signal was good! Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We usually stay at this hotel when we travel to the western NC section of the Smokies. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The newly renovated spaces are lovely and reflect the history of the area nicely. The only thing keeping me from rating as Excellent is the renovations are still underway. I will probably re- rate this hotel as Excellent among its peers when the renovations complete.

Room Tip: During the renovations, let the front desk know upon checkin if you want to sleep late. They will p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while playing at harrahs Cherokee. Great location but needs to be upgraded to compete with harrahs. Staff pleasant. Rooms were noisy and air was loud. Kept cutting on and off. Breakfast was standard to HI. Heard property was scheduled for upgrade.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I just recently visited the Hampton Inn Cherokee. They have made some great renovations. The hotel is beautiful. The lobby has been redone as well as the breakfast. They have things such as gravy and biscuits, bacon and eggs and so forth. The front desk staff was friendly and the hotel is very clean. They have added an elevator which its awesome! They haven't quite finished all the renovations but by what I've seen so far...it its gonna be like a new hotel! That's awesome!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The stay was adequate, but we still had some issues that have to be worked out in order to live up to its standard:

Room: Typical Hampton Inn, comfy bed, etc. But the room was partially renovated. When I say partially, I mean the walls had been painted - apparently that day...the paint smell was extremely potent. But the carpets and furniture had not been replaced. The bathroom is fine, the shower head is the same as all Hampton Inn properties. This hotel needs to 100% non-smoking. We had two rooms, and the other room was a smoking room (they had no other rooms available for us) and the smell was so strong it was the worst I had ever seen.

Cleanliness: Not good. The room may have been "clean" but the carpets/chair has many many many stains. Our towels were also found on the floor when we arrived at the hotel. We weren't sure if they were clean or not and didn't reassure us about the rest of the cleanliness.

Staff: Mostly courteous. They were not highly informed about gluten free options in the area and no one was available at checkout and under time pressure we just left without receipts.

Internet: While free, a slow crawl.

Location: The farthest away possible from downtown Cherokee (harrah's) and still be considered in the reservation. If you don't mind driving back and forth fine, but nothing is within walking distance.

Hopefully after the renovations are complete the hotel will be marginally better. Meaning after they are complete they should live up to 2007-2010 era of refurbishment, truly due for another to make it "modern," but it will be adequate.

Room Tip: make sure you specify non-smoking ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is an older Hampton Inn that is currently being renovated (as advertised on their on-line directory). We got one of the older rooms and it really needed some work, so you might want to ask for one of the renovated ones.

The breakfast is basic Hampton, but the area is rather small. If the hotel is full, you may have troubles finding a table.

Rather than having the laundry in an isolated area, it is on the second floor surrounded by guest rooms. We were several rooms from the laundry and the noise was annoying. We would not have wanted to be right next door! (Get a high numbered room to be away from the laundry.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel to avoid noise from the very busy road in front of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cherokee

Address: 185 Tsalagi Road, P.O. Box 1926, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cherokee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cherokee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.