We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse Hampton Inn we've stayed at” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Cherokee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Cherokee to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Cherokee
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 Tsalagi Road, P.O. Box 1926, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worse Hampton Inn we've stayed at”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting GSMNP. We did not have reservations. Check in was friendly. We were told the cookies would be put out in just a little bit. We checked back twice that evening and they were never out. Checked several times during our stay and never saw a cookie in the container the whole time we were here. Right next to the elevator, on the 2nd floor, is the ice machine. Before we got to our room we noticed a large puddle of water coming from the ice machine and the carpet was soaked. You had to slosh through it to get to the hallway or to get ice. Our room had a musty smell and was warm. The duvet was very lumpy under the duvet cover. The bed didnt seem to be as comfortable as other Hampton Inns. But we were able to sleep on it. The furniture in this room was dusty. The carpet was old, worn and dirty. Because the room was so warm, we turned up the ac and went to eat dinner, thinking the room would be cooled off by the time we got back. It wasnt, and never did cool off. It was a long warm night in that musty room. (Before we left for dinner we notified the front desk of the leaking ice machine. She said they'd look at it. They threw towels down which did no good. It leaked for the entire 3 nights we were there. On the day of our departure, a "caution" sign was put up next to it.) After our first night in the warm musty room my husband called the front desk and told them the ac wasnt working. We waited about an hr for a service man to come take a look at it. The service man complained about having to do this job and implied that we froze up the unit, which we did not do. He turned on the heat causing such a stink in the room with dust, and who knows what else, backing up into the room. We were moved to another room. Its Hampton Inns policy to offer compensation, in addition to moving a guest to another room, none was offered to us however. The second room was just as the first except that the ac worked. Breakfast was minimal and unlike any other Hampton Inn we've stayed at. The hot items were kept in a freezer and you microwaved them yourself. The dinning area was small but comfortable. We've stayed at a lot of Hampton Inns and this is the worst one we've stayed at. We would not stay at this facility again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    109
    60
    23
    12
See reviews for
100
151
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This Hampton has been newly remolded and is very clean and has comfortable beds.
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, they even placed our pizza order for us and got us a great discount! The breakfast was very good with more selections than usual, pre packaged sandwiches and omelets that you microwaved. We have stayed here in the past and look forward to staying at this Hampton in the future. This area of the country is beautiful many scenic roads to ride on through the mountains.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandersville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I and another couple took a weekend getaway (Sept. 2012) to Cherokee, NC and stayed at the Hampton Inn. We highly recommend this hotel! The staff were so nice, professional, and welcoming. The room was nice, clean, and wonderful for the price. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was good. We will be returning to this hotel when we are back in Cherokee!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

This Hampton is a great value! The location is wonderful! You are surrounded by beautiful mountains and crisp fresh mountain air. You are just minutes from the unique shops that sell great native artifacts and really gives you a great feeling and experience when it comes to the local customs and culture. I have been here several times and have always had a great time. The Hampton is very clean and the staff is great! They also have a shuttle bus that will take you to Harrah's Casino and bring you back to the hotel compliments of the Hampton. I will be returning in November and looking forward to the wonderful atmosphere!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This Hampton Inn on US441 in Cherokee is undergoing a fairly major renovation and upgrade, which is probably needed. Other than that, it is pretty much standard issue Hampton Inn, which is to say it's a good moderate-priced choice if you don't need a full-service hotel. Staff is very friendly, everything is clean, and the included breakfast isn't bad (I like the way this motel puts out several "breakfast bags" such as sausage biscuit with the bag numbers keyed to the same number on the microwave, so you don't have to guess how long to microwave.) But they also have the usual Hampton Inn breakfast options such as fruit, cereal, yoghurt, sweet rolls, juice, waffles, etc.

The location is nondescript, on the highway that leads through Cherokee and on to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Great Smoky Mountains National Park. It's a couple of miles from Harrah's Casino.

The only negative I found was that like a lot of Hilton chain properties this one skimps on the cable/satellite channels. I think there were only 30 or so, not the 100 or more that give you more choice of sports and movies.

I paid just $80 (plus Tribal taxes) AAA rate, low for a Hampton Inn. May be more after the renovation or in peak season such as October.

Note that this is a regular Hampton Inn, not a Hampton Inn and Suites.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor in #119, which is handy since it's near an entrance with parking right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel is being renovated but it was very clean. Breakfast was good, staff was fantastically friendly and helpful. Cheap cab ride to casino. We would visit again. Pool looked nice but we didn't bring suits. Very quiet location with not much drive by traffic as compared to those hotels closer to the casino.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Big impression was the friendliness of all staffs I met, including front desk, house keeping and breakfast room. Unfortunately the facilities needs a lot of improvement, and I think they were working on it.

Room Tip: We had a room not facing the road. We could only saw the small trees on the slop of the hill and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Cherokee

Address: 185 Tsalagi Road, P.O. Box 1926, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cherokee
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Cherokee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Cherokee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.