We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Routine stay at Comfort Suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1223 Tsali Boulevard, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Routine stay at Comfort Suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

$90 AAA rate was high for this Comfort Suites, considering I have reservations at a Comfort Suites in Kingsland, Ga for next month, and it's only $65, and it's practically brand new. That's really my only gripe about the Cherokee location. We had a suite with 2 queen beds, and a couch that pulled out to a single bed. Check-in was no problem. Room was clean. TV worked fine. Bathroom was clean. Nice fluffy towels. Facial soap, body soap, shampoo, lotion and conditioner included. Our room was on the back of the hotel, and we had a window. But the ones on the front have a balcony. I looked in some of the rooms with the balconies, and some of these are suites. So if you get a suite, ask for one of the rooms with the balcony. Tried the hot tub beside the pool, and it felt great. Breakfast had the infamous "egg pancakes". I didn't venture to try them. I did get a "make it yourself" waffle, some sausage gravy (straight from the can, and warmed in the crockpot), and a bagel (with orange marmalade). The Comfort Suites in Kingsland, Ga spoiled me. They had scrambled eggs and patty sausage on their breakfast bar, and now I compare all the Comfort Suites to them. So the Cherokee Comfort suites get 4 stars. I would stay there again, and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    67
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
62
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seneca, sc
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This hotel actually is a better property than the Baymount Inn which is currently rated
#1 by TripAdvisor visitors. The Comfort Suites is very nicely landscaped with Balcony's
on all the front units which I assume are standard rooms. The suites are on the back side
of the property and overlook an old home with surrounding woods. The breakfast room
is much larger than the Baymount and has an attractive attrium in which you can dine.
Breakfast is comparable to most other hotels in this price range with the addition of some
eggs patties (didn't taste too bad) and sausage gravy along with waffles and an array
of cereals, etc.

We had a suite which had a partial wall between the sleeping area and a small sitting
area with a sofa. The one older model TV is on a credenza in the sleeping area and
is not on a swivel stand so you must excert some force if you want to turn it and view
the TV from the sitting area.

The major problem we had was with the terribly stained bed spread. It doesn't take
a rocket scientist to figure out that these things need to be washed now and then.
This one needed it now. The rest of the room appeared to be fairly clean. All Choice
Hotel properties have a notice in the room that says if you've forgotten something see the
front desk for a complimentary replacement. My wife forgot her toothbrush. She went
down to the front desk and asked for one. The front desk clerks answer "We're out of
them". Like it was a bother for him to even answer the question. We ended up walking
across the street to a competing hotel who was more than happy to oblige our request
along with a small tube of toothpaste. Had it not been so late, we would have driven into
town and purchased one.

If the Comfort Suites would tighten up their cleaning policies and correct their employees
attitudes, they should have no problem leading the pack in Cherokee. The question
remains, do they want to?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Overall the hotel is nice. We had a balcony room and its nice to wake up and go out on the balcony and see the Smokey Mtns first thing in the morning: beautiful view!

The only complaint I have is the breakfast. Its so commerical looking that its looks super cheap-egg patties??? Yuck. Sausage gravy in a bowl and biscuits that look dried up. Cereal and fruit. Maybe I have been spoiled by another time I stayed at a different Comfort Suites? But very disappointed with that.

The beds are ok-nothing spectacular. No table in the rooms with balconies, so if you bring food in, you have to either use the little table on the balcony or eat on your bed. And the housekeeping was sloppy. We were told that this was atypical. I dont know for sure. This was our first stay at this hotel while visiting Cherokee.

Overall-ok experience. The hotel was sold out all weekend, and it was packed. I did notice other families also leaving for breakfast so we were not the only ones who didn't care for the artificial eggs and sausage gravy in a bowl with dry/old looking biscuits. But the front desk staff, I have to say is AWESOME. VERY NICE.

Would I stay again? Probably not. But its on the strip and the view IS beautiful...

You have to decide which is most important to you, I guess: breakfast at the hotel or the view..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petach Tikva, Israel
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We wanted a hotel convenient to the park and with a large room. I frequently stay in the Comfort Inns/Suites chain and was not disappointed. Upon arriving, we were switched from the King suite I had booked to a Queen suite , the clerk at the front desk telling us it would be more comfortable with 2 children. Clean, well-appointed rooms. It is located on the main street of Cherokee leading into the park so expect a bit of congestion

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This was a great hotel for a really good price. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful and did their best to answer the questions we had.
We wanted to do some hiking in the Smokies and this hotel put us right at an entrance to the park which gave us access to plenty.
I would definitely come back here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Your typical Comfort Inn. Clean, a bit worn. Free wi-fi in rooms. Noisy A/C wall unit. Free breakfast..gravy & sausage along with carb offerings (sweet rolls, bread, waffles, etc). The difference here was that the desk staff were very friendly.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauldin, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Typical older Comfort suites, we loved the lobby and friendly folks. Let us have a late checkout without any hassle considering we got back from the Casino at 3am. We have already booked our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1223 Tsali Boulevard, Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cherokee
#6 Family Hotel in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Cherokee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.