We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dissatisfied customer” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee to your Saves list
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Tsalagi Rd., Cherokee, NC 28719 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cherokee)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Chattanooga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A dissatisfied customer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Peeling wallpaper in a very small, unventilated, tired bathroom, no water pressure. Stained, worn carpet. No Do Not Disturb sign in room and housekeeping was rushing us on 1st day. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    53
    20
    21
See reviews for
54
72
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've never been able to understand why hotels put guests in rooms miles away from the main lobby when empty rooms are closer, a lot closer. So it was that we had to manoeuvre bags up steps, along to the middle of an empty row, Why, why, why? Dumb that's why.

The wooden effect reminded me of the Great Northern in the mighty Twin Peaks on TV. As did the woods around the site. However there the resemblance ended. The staff appeared to have been struck dumb at some point, either that or had the communication skills of an amoeba. There was no one on the desk at nine when we arrived so after a long drive we had to wait fifteen minutes too get our room.

Room carpet looked liked a night clubs, a grotty night club where day light never ventures. Room wasn't cleaned properly after first night either. A way out of Cherokee with no eats nearby, nice view but lousy location if you want to eat. Breakfast merely Ok, no meats, soulless.
Wouldn't stay again, try the casino, similar priced rooms but a far better location.

Room Tip: Don't stay here - simples
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We waited until the last minute to go to Cherokee on a Saturday night on Columbus Day weekend, so not very many rooms were available in the area. Considering that, this is not a bad hotel. The room was functional and served our purpose which was to go to the casino. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast that came with the room was not terrible. In fact the food was pretty good. The room was clean and the bed was not that bad to sleep in. Granted it is not a new hotel, but for one night in a pinch it was okay. The lesson is that in the fall the area is very popular so one must plan ahead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Outside of Hotel & Lobby looked nice...BUT....Hotel needs maintenance. Room was just OK (Meh). Doors open to outside corridor. Shower did not drain. Toilet had water leak and heard running whole time. Sink also did not drain. Carpets dirty & stained (wore socks so I didn't have to walk on it.) In room coffee maker was broken. Breakfast buffet was a complete joke. Forget about plugging anything in all outlets were either behind bulky furniture or being used.

That said you can tell that upgrades have been made with a more luxurious shower curtain & expanded rod, the bedding was modern & bed was comfy, pillows thin & hard.

This hotel was just a side of the road motel that would be given a glance but most likely passed by due to disrepair and age.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is an old Holiday inn that is outdated. Beds NOT Comfortable. The Free 'Full' Hot Breakfast Had No Pancakes, No Bacon. No Lowfat or Skim milk. The website is NOT Accurate as far as pictures, etc. No 'Free' Paper, as advertised. NO elevators, you must walk up Multiple layers of Steps. Very Dissapointing. Would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a party of 20 people for a family reunion. The rooms were adequate and the food was fine. Unfortunately, while paying for my dinner, I somehow misplaced my debit card. The next day three charges were made to a nearby gas station. I left a phone message for the General Manager to call me, including the nature of my call. Several days later, the Sales Director for Group Sales returned my call.

In addition, my mother left her computer cord in the room. My cousin went to the front desk and they didin't know anthing about it. She sent her husband back to the front desk and they were able to come up with it.

Room Tip: This hotel is on a hill so there are several sets of steps to access your room. If you have a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, Small double room!! Small double beds . Very small and not like the website pictures...
Curtain falls apart, some of the lamps and the electrical outlets don't work, hair dryer didn't work.
No elevator!
Need good renew for the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Address: 37 Tsalagi Rd., Cherokee, NC 28719 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cherokee)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located near Harrah’s Casino, the Oconaluftee River, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Santa’s Land Family Theme Park, Western Carolina University, Cataloochee Ski Area and the Cherokee Indian Village. The Chestnut Tree Inn offers guests an indoor and outdoor pool, free hot breakfast served from 7 am to 11 am, The Chestnut Tree Restaurant, fitness room, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, fax/copy service, wake up service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities with A/V equipment and catering available. A massage therapist is on-call. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, free local calls, room service, air conditioning, alarm clock and electronic door locks. Microwave and mini-fridge may be available upon request. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.