We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT SENIOR FRIENDLY!!! RUDE to Guests.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Save Saved
You added Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Tsalagi Rd., PO Box 1929, Cherokee, NC 28719 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cherokee)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NOT SENIOR FRIENDLY!!! RUDE to Guests.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not Senior Friendly: We had a bad experience at the Front Desk on during check in. Clerk “Mike” was extremely unprofessional and made my 72 year old friend cry because of his rudeness. Chestnut Inn got our reservations messed up and clerk Mike sent us away to the wrong hotel. My friend was called a liar by clerk Mike and he would not take our confirmation number. He said we were booked at Holiday Inn Express and despite our protests, insisted that we go there. Holiday Inn Express sent us back to Chestnut Inn because we were booked there, per the casino. Upon our return we really expected an apology. Instead, clerk Mike said, “ I will check you in when I am ready” and made us wait 10 minutes. When we told him he was rude, he told us that he would kick us out if we caused any trouble. We left the hotel because of his rudeness. The casino made new reservations at Quality Inn and they were very nice. Holiday Inn Express was exceptionally nice when we were misdirected to them. Clerk David even gave us coffee and a cinnamon roll while we waited there. What is up with this Chestnut Inn?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    43
    47
    18
    18
See reviews for
47
60
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The stay was okay. The room was clean. The breakfast was very good. The beds were okay just too short and the rooms were a little small. It has exterior room doors and I prefer interior room doors. The indoor pool area is nice. Good economical choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The friendly staff welcomed us and efficiently checked us in. The hotel room was roomy and comfortable without being luxurious. The breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful offering biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc. I would definitely stay there again. The room rate was reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Dropped in while visiting Great Smoky Mountain National Park during fall leaf season. All the chain hotels crazy overpriced and taking advantage of people so we ventured away to try an indy hotel....priced lower than expected, clean and friendly staff. Helped stock the room with extra blankets and rollaway bed for our third child (five to a room). Free buffet breakfast for everyone in the room. Wasn't five star of course but it was healthy, good selection, restaurant atmosphere, and much better than the typical "continental" breakfast brooming folks out the door at least cost with their little individually wrapped, no-host, sundry snacks. You can leave packed full and ready for a hike in the smokies.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the road. Hotel is oriented perpendicular to Hwy 19 so some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was a little skeptical based on some of the reviews I read on this website, however, we had a great experience here. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Great breakfast buffet with hot foods instead of your typical continental breakfast most places serve. I found the rooms to be very clean and the bed was comfortable. They do not have flat screen tv's but with the beautiful mountains and attractions we were not in our room that much to watch tv. I would highly recommend this hotel. Great price and location! We will stay here again:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarle, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We received a good military discount, a very nice room, and the FREE breakfast buffet was a great surprise. We enjoyed the indoor pool and the gift shop. The staff was very nice and helpful especially Mike. Had a good time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I happend to come along this place by chance. We decided to find a place for the night while we were waiting to check into our cabin the next day. They had late check in available and the staff was very friendly. The rooms are a little older but very clean and redecorated. We also recieved a voucher for a free breakfast buffet the next morning at their resturant. Great food for a buffet... Not just old doughnuts an juice. They had eggs, biscuits, hash, gravy.. Etc. It's a great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean rooms and great breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee

Address: 37 Tsalagi Rd., PO Box 1929, Cherokee, NC 28719 (Formerly Holiday Inn Cherokee)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Harrah’s Casino, the Oconaluftee River, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Santa’s Land Family Theme Park, Western Carolina University, Cataloochee Ski Area and the Cherokee Indian Village. The Chestnut Tree Inn offers guests an indoor and outdoor pool, free hot breakfast served from 7 am to 11 am, The Chestnut Tree Restaurant, fitness room, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, fax/copy service, wake up service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities with A/V equipment and catering available. A massage therapist is on-call. Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, free local calls, room service, air conditioning, alarm clock and electronic door locks. Microwave and mini-fridge may be available upon request. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Cherokee Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Tree Inn Cherokee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.