We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Like Staying at Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cherokee Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cherokee Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Cherokee Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   196 Painttown Rd, US 441 and US 19, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's Like Staying at Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

I can honestly tell you this was a pleasure! The team working at this hotel was so friendly, caring and customer service oriented! Sonya and Christian were so accomodating! When I go to Cherokee it feels so much like being at home! I highly recommend you and your family to lodge at this hotel. The restaurant within walking distance offers a buffet and it's so delicious! I encourage all of you to visit Cherokee and appreciate the heritage of the Cherokee Indians and the city. This is a fabulous city and thank you Cherokee for making my weekend one of the BEST!

Respectfully,

Michelle Dallas

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    23
    15
    18
See reviews for
31
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

The room was clean, bathroom fixtures all new, bed comfortable, continental breakfast good, staff friendly and helpful - We will stay there again !! (by the way - it's now The Inn Of The Seven Clans)

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We stayed there at the beginning of October weekend. I was quoted a room rate which was fine and when we got there the roomrate was advertised as a walk-in rate too.
Everything was fine. The other day I called and wanted to get another room for this
weekend and I was quoted a price $ 50.-- higher than 2 weeks before. When I told
them that I was there 2 weeks before and the room rate was even advertised outside
as a walk-in rate, the hotelclerk told my that there was no such a thing as walk-in rate.
And there was nothing special going on in Cherokee. I don't care for such inconsistency
so I don't know if we ever stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Ramada Limited is now Inn of the Seven Clans, under Cherokee ownership and management, with attractive Cherokee decor. Our room was a double queen, spottlessly clean throughout. Plenty of space for a couple to spread out. Included a mini-fridge. Complimentary continental breakfast included coffee, juice, self-serve waffle maker, apples, oranges, bananas, cereals, bagels, muffins, pastries. Access to breakfast area got congested during busy times. Staff very friendly. Although we stayed during high leaf-peeking season, they did not charge us the weekend rate when we booked an extra night on Friday. Paid very reasonable $85/night (taxes included).
Located right on Bus US 19, across from casino, a few miles from National Park entrance.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Lied about the price upon arrival, rude at desk, male housekeeper was peeping in our window on more then one occasion, (Robert) staring at my granddaughters. He was stopping, staring, backing up looking in window. No shuttle bus available. Iron broke, blow dryer didn't work. WAS TERRIBLE. will never return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Harrah's was full, Ramada advertised a walk-in special. Go with the inside entry as high up as available for less outside noise. Had a nice pool (we didn't have time to use it). Within walking distance of the casino. Pleasantly surprised with the breakfast. Very clean and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thompskr
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

The hotel is right across from the casino's parking lot. You could walk to it and catch Harrah's free shuttle to the door or drive to it, park for free and then catch the shuttle. The hotel also has its own shuttle to the casino leaving at specified times throughout the day, ending at 11 pm. I personally wouldn't recommend walking to the casino's entrance, as it's a bit far and there's construction taking place.

My overall experience was fine. The decor is outdated, and there were problems with the room that -although they didn't put a real damper in my stay- didn't speak highly of the cleaning/maintenance staff either. The towel rod in the bathroom was falling off the wall, as was the outside casing for the AC/heat. There was a black substance -mold?- growing around the AC/heating unit as well. I also found a piece of floss in one of the drawers, and a work table in the room was kind of sticky.

I wouldn't completely dismiss this property, but I will likely try another establishment the next time I'm in Cherokee.

  • Liked — proximity to area attractions
  • Disliked — maintenance problems, some issues with cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherokee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Grand Hotel

Address: 196 Painttown Rd, US 441 and US 19, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherokee Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherokee Grand Hotel is located in Cherokee, NC adjacent to Harrah’s Cherokee Casino. Come stay with us and you can choose to take a leisurely 5 minute walk to the Casino, take our complimentary shuttle on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, or just drive over and use valet or park in the parking deck at the casino. The Casino offers all the live action gaming and slots available plus there are numerous places to eat, from Johnny Rockets and Dunkin Donuts to Brio and Ruth’s Chris, stay with us and you will be in close proximity to some great food and great entertainment! We are also very close to the historical attractions of the Cherokee Indian Reservation, including the Indian Village, Outdoor Drama, Museum of the Cherokee and downtown souvenir shopping. Our Hotel features spacious rooms with many having beautiful mountain views. We offer a number of complimentary hotel amenities including a free continental breakfast, a free shuttle to and from the casino on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, free wireless internet access, free local calls and free parking. Each room has cable offering over 30 channels with a 32 inch color TV, in-room coffee, iron/ironing board, and hairdryers. We also offer triple sheet bedding with a down comforter and a mini-fridge and microwave in our deluxe rooms. We have a meeting/conference room available for your business needs. There is a fireplace located in the lobby for your comfort and each guest room is air conditioned. We also have a few spa/Jacuzzi rooms and connecting/adjoining rooms are available for your comfort. Our Front Desk is open and staffed for 24 hour service and our housekeeping staff takes extra care to provide a clean and comfortable stay. Come, enjoy your visit and let our home become yours. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cherokee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Seven Clans Hotel Cherokee
Inn Of The 7 Clans
Ramada Cherokee
Cherokee Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherokee Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.