We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cherokee Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cherokee Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Cherokee Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   196 Painttown Rd, US 441 and US 19, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Zephyrhills, FL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

After checking prices on different sites on the Internet, I opted to call the hotel directly and actually booked a better price. We wanted to visit Harrah's casino and find a close and reasonable hotel to stay in for the night. The hotel property is clean and accomodating. We had a room with 2 queen beds. It had a microwave and a very small coffee pot. The beds were comfortable and the water pressure in the shower was great. The hotel is located across from the casino, or should I say across the street from the very end of their parking lot (which is huge). We opted to drive over to the casino & park in their lot. I am not sure if they had shuttle service from the hotel to the casino as it was not mentioned at check in nor was it in any of the hotel literature in the room. The staff at the check in desk could have been a bit more eager to help us, not to say we had any problems with them, but they could have presented themselves a bit more friendly (this would have boosted my opinion of the place up a notch). There was a continental breakfast in the a.m. that consisted of juices, coffee, muffins, bagels and a make your own waffle station. Overall, the stay was pleasant & probably would stay again if we were to visit.

  • Liked — It was relatively inexpensive and rooms were clean and beds comfortable.
  • Disliked — Although across from the casino (more like the parking lot), it is not exactly a few steps to their front door as we perceived from the Internet.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    39
    27
    16
    18
See reviews for
33
64
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Inman, South Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Stayed with our two teenage children, Staff friendly and helpful, high speed internet worked very well, rooms clean and well maintained. Easy walking distance to the casino
Breakfast nothing special but well kept and had a variety of items.
We would stay there again.

  • Liked — good location for casino, easy to find
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

This hotel was a disappointment, and I certainly wasn't expecting the Ritz. First problem, our reservation was screwed up, and I even went to the trouble of calling the hotel to book it. I asked for 2 non-smoking rooms on an upper floor because it was just me and a girlfriend and don't want ground floor. They has us down for 1 room. After that was straightened out the guy handed us keys to first floor rooms which I promptly handed back and asked for a higher floor. He said all he could offer was 2nd floor (there were 4 floors). Trust me, this place wasn't sold out. So we took it and thanked God for it.

They advertise that they are across the street from the casino and have a shuttle. What they don't tell you is they are across a 4 lane highway and considerably down that highway from the main entrance to the casino, the entrance being a considerable distance from the casino building itself. So we're thinking no problem, we'll just take the shuttle, which I had confirmed on the phone ran every odd hour until 11pm. Yeah right. They also don't tell you that they can only provide the shuttle if there's more than one person working the desk. We arrived about 4:30 and the guy said the earliest the shuttle would go would be 7pm. So we climb back in the car and use more expensive gas to drive across the road because the hotel can't live up to its promises.

The only bright spots were the bed was really comfortable and the shower was great, excellent water pressure and the strongest shower head I've ever found in a hotel. Was able to wash my hair without spending half an hour rinsing out the soap.

Will definitely never stay here again, the Holiday Inn Express and Fairfield Inn ARE actually directly across from the casino buildng and an easy walk.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountainking_68
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

This hotel was the cleanest and nices establishment I have ever stayed at. The beds were remarkable and the services was great. I really felt at home the front desk clerks were very nice. If you need just a place to get away this is the place.

  • Liked — The Beds were excellent we were told they were pillow top mattresses
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

My brother and I went for one night, just to go to the casino. When we arrived we asked for a smoking room (my brother, in from Afghanistan, had made the reservations online.) We were told they didn't have any smoking rooms available. As my brother was signing for the check in, a couple came in and asked for a smoking room. "We have a King bed or two queens that are smoking rooms." (lie# 1)

We took the luggage to the room, immediately came back and asked when the shuttle to the casino would run. "It runs at 5. He hasn't left yet so wait outside". We waited about 5 minutes when a van pulled up. We asked if he was the shuttle to the casino and he said yes and he would be leaving at 7. (lie# 2)

When we checked out, my brother explained to the manager on duty what happened and he said "So?"

Lastly, the mattress I slept on was horrible. I could feel the springs in my back, no matter where I laid. However, my brother said his bed was fine.

  • Liked — Proximity to casino
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield,OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

My stay was comped by the casino. I was impressed with the landscaping and everything was satisfactory. Then I received my credit card bill-it stated an $87.00 charge by them. So I called to see what it was for. The manager said that they had tried to contact me-but my caller id and answering machine never showed that they had tried to call me. He said the charge was for a small hole that had been burned in a bedspread. I explained to him that we were in a non-smoking room and neither I or my daughter had even used the bedspreads. We always strip them off the beds when we arrive in a motel room and just use the sheets and blankets. He told me that a couple managers checked and the bedspread was damaged-and that waswhat I was charged for. There was not much I could do about that. Has anyone else ever had this problem? I guess we have to check all the bedspreads when we arrive in a room from now on.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peachwhit3
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Average hotel. Nice staff and comfortable beds. We were first given a room on the first floor, but after noticing we were next to the laundry facility we asked to change rooms and were given a quieter room on the third floor. The continental breakfast was good. The pool was clean, and our children had fun swimming in it. The flowers were very pretty on the grounds of the hotel. We met the owner who lives in a house on the property. A very friendly man who served his country in WWII and the Korean War (I think).

  • Liked — continental breakfast
  • Disliked — my in-laws balked at the AARP price they had to pay.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherokee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Grand Hotel

Address: 196 Painttown Rd, US 441 and US 19, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherokee Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherokee Grand Hotel is located in Cherokee, NC adjacent to Harrah’s Cherokee Casino. Come stay with us and you can choose to take a leisurely 5 minute walk to the Casino, take our complimentary shuttle on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, or just drive over and use valet or park in the parking deck at the casino. The Casino offers all the live action gaming and slots available plus there are numerous places to eat, from Johnny Rockets and Dunkin Donuts to Brio and Ruth’s Chris, stay with us and you will be in close proximity to some great food and great entertainment! We are also very close to the historical attractions of the Cherokee Indian Reservation, including the Indian Village, Outdoor Drama, Museum of the Cherokee and downtown souvenir shopping. Our Hotel features spacious rooms with many having beautiful mountain views. We offer a number of complimentary hotel amenities including a free continental breakfast, a free shuttle to and from the casino on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, free wireless internet access, free local calls and free parking. Each room has cable offering over 30 channels with a 32 inch color TV, in-room coffee, iron/ironing board, and hairdryers. We also offer triple sheet bedding with a down comforter and a mini-fridge and microwave in our deluxe rooms. We have a meeting/conference room available for your business needs. There is a fireplace located in the lobby for your comfort and each guest room is air conditioned. We also have a few spa/Jacuzzi rooms and connecting/adjoining rooms are available for your comfort. Our Front Desk is open and staffed for 24 hour service and our housekeeping staff takes extra care to provide a clean and comfortable stay. Come, enjoy your visit and let our home become yours. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Cherokee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The 7 Clans
Inn Of The Seven Clans Hotel Cherokee
Ramada Cherokee
Cherokee Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherokee Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.