We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here, there and won't go anywhere but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherokee Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cherokee Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherokee Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   196 Painttown Rd, US 441 and US 19, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Been here, there and won't go anywhere but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I have made it a mission to stay at the various hotels in the area near Cherokee Casino. We enjoy getting away, even though we live only an hour away from the area, and its our way to pamper ourselves. I can honestly say that we've had some experiences that I hope to never repeat again. We went to Cherokee Grand with high hopes, however, after reading the reviews and remembering that it is within an easy walk to the casino. I don't overly enjoy the casino but the bf does so makes it easy for me to site see while he gambles.

Cherokee Grand was just what we needed! Ms. Queen greeted us with a smile, we barely had to wait and the room was super clean. That evening it happened to shower us with a surprise snow / ice event and the hotel was so fabulous about trying to clean the walkways so we were safe.

While I am not a super fan of the casino, I have become a huge fan of this hotel. Is it spotless? No but it was the cleanest room I have stayed in while in Cherokee. Is it a $200 a night room? No. The ice machine (we were on the 4th floor) is apparently downstairs. No big deal for me. I never did find the password written in our room for the internet access (remember, I don't do the casino so I enjoy playing on the laptop) but again, not a big deal. I was there to relax and relax I did.

Truthfully, I doubt we will stay anywhere else now. Thank you for making me comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    29
    20
    12
    14
See reviews for
26
49
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed over Christmas and the Hotel staff was extremely nice! Everyone was great about the dogs and the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was standard food, and the coffee was good and offered 24/7 in the lobby as well as coffee maker in room. Would definitely stay again with or without dogs.

Room Tip: We did stay in a king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

we arrived before 3:00 and was able to get our room within the hour. we just left to eat and came back to our room being ready.the room was very spacious,smelled clean and fresh when we opened the door. very clean the staff went above and beyond to make it very comfortable. the only downsize (which i didnt complain because we loved the waffles) was the breakfast. it does need attention and im sure management is working on that. we would definitely stay again and will be in the spring. loved that it was across the street from casino and had shuttle service. very nice hotel...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

1) No plates, drinking cups, jelly and very little food for continental breakfast.
2) When we looked for plates in cupboards we found two mouse traps.

This hotel was not worth the money. The only good thing was its proximity to casino and the shuttle driver was nice. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz L, General Manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We want to thank this guest for pointing out their concern and helping us to address this matter. The previous mangement departed less than three months ago and we are still finding areas that need attention. However, rest assured that we are making great strides in improving all those areas and we will not rest until these type of concerns are behind us. As has been shown by other reviews we offer a clean, comfortable and safe property that is in a prime location and proximity to the Casino. Our Hotel property is improving daily and we encourage you to give us a visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball ground
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We were happy with the room and service but the breakfast wasn't so good. There wasn't much of a selection. Starbucks coffee $2. We didn't eat any of it. But even so, we would stay here again and just eat out. Location is almost across from Harrahs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz L, General Manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Quick note to say "Thank You" for the review. We do offer a great property that is in a prime location in close proximity to the Casino. It is an easy five minute walk to the front door of the Casino and on weekends we even offer a shuttle with limited hours. Our breakfast is a continental style breakfast with danish, muffins, cereal, bagels, waffels, juice, milk and coffee. Our Starbucks is a premium offering that we strive to keep at this low cost. Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived for check in at 3:00 as the rules state and our room was not ready. We waited another 45 minutes and the desk clerk said our room was finally ready and apologized for the delay. After checking in we get our room keys and go to the room only to find that the cleaning lady is still cleaning. We get into the room and there is mildew in the bathroom, the carpet is torn and it is ice cold. I visit Cherokee frequently and this is my first and LAST stay here. Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz L, General Manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Our check-in process is continuing to improve and we strive to provide check-in at 3:00pm and often times exceed this. We have even checked guests in by noon if possible. Most of our rooms are located on the inside of the main building and heat is not an issue, but a few rooms are in a older section of the hotel property and have doors that open to the outside. When the housekeepers are cleaning the outside rooms, the open doors are being exposed to direct outside air, and can cool very quickly, especially considering the recent spat of cold weather we have experienced. But all our rooms have great heaters and warm up the room very quickly. We encourage all our guests to point out any defects or other concerns and we strive to address them immediately. Thank you for your review and contact us again if we can be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed this weekend at the Grand Cherokee and found a big change from the last visit in July, The lobby was decorated beautiful and the rooms were much nicer than the last visit. The staff was the same and as friendly as ever. We especially enjoyed the shuttle driver, Chip and the clerk Ira they were so friendly and helpful, made you feel like family. I would highly recommened staying at this hotel..

Room Tip: they do have smoking rooms that are even nice for non smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz L, Director of Sales at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our number one goal is customer satisfaction and we are happy to have succeeded. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to have you come and stay with us again in your future visits to Cherokee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cherokee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Grand Hotel

Address: 196 Painttown Rd, US 441 and US 19, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherokee Grand Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherokee Grand Hotel is located in Cherokee, NC adjacent to Harrah’s Cherokee Casino. Come stay with us and you can choose to take a leisurely 5 minute walk to the Casino, take our complimentary shuttle on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, or just drive over and use valet or park in the parking deck at the casino. The Casino offers all the live action gaming and slots available plus there are numerous places to eat, from Johnny Rockets and Dunkin Donuts to Brio and Ruth’s Chris, stay with us and you will be in close proximity to some great food and great entertainment! We are also very close to the historical attractions of the Cherokee Indian Reservation, including the Indian Village, Outdoor Drama, Museum of the Cherokee and downtown souvenir shopping. Our Hotel features spacious rooms with many having beautiful mountain views. We offer a number of complimentary hotel amenities including a free continental breakfast, a free shuttle to and from the casino on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, free wireless internet access, free local calls and free parking. Each room has cable offering over 30 channels with a 32 inch color TV, in-room coffee, iron/ironing board, and hairdryers. We also offer triple sheet bedding with a down comforter and a mini-fridge and microwave in our deluxe rooms. We have a meeting/conference room available for your business needs. There is a fireplace located in the lobby for your comfort and each guest room is air conditioned. We also have a few spa/Jacuzzi rooms and connecting/adjoining rooms are available for your comfort. Our Front Desk is open and staffed for 24 hour service and our housekeeping staff takes extra care to provide a clean and comfortable stay. Come, enjoy your visit and let our home become yours. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Cherokee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The 7 Clans
Inn Of The Seven Clans Hotel Cherokee
Ramada Cherokee
Cherokee Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherokee Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.