We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here! I've stayed in $40 rooms that were much nicer.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cherokee Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cherokee Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Cherokee Grand Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   196 Painttown Rd, US 441 and US 19, Cherokee, NC 28719   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here! I've stayed in $40 rooms that were much nicer.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived for check in at 3:00 as the rules state and our room was not ready. We waited another 45 minutes and the desk clerk said our room was finally ready and apologized for the delay. After checking in we get our room keys and go to the room only to find that the cleaning lady is still cleaning. We get into the room and there is mildew in the bathroom, the carpet is torn and it is ice cold. I visit Cherokee frequently and this is my first and LAST stay here. Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz L, General Manager at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Our check-in process is continuing to improve and we strive to provide check-in at 3:00pm and often times exceed this. We have even checked guests in by noon if possible. Most of our rooms are located on the inside of the main building and heat is not an issue, but a few rooms are in a older section of the hotel property and have doors that open to the outside. When the housekeepers are cleaning the outside rooms, the open doors are being exposed to direct outside air, and can cool very quickly, especially considering the recent spat of cold weather we have experienced. But all our rooms have great heaters and warm up the room very quickly. We encourage all our guests to point out any defects or other concerns and we strive to address them immediately. Thank you for your review and contact us again if we can be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    23
    15
    18
See reviews for
31
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aiken
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed this weekend at the Grand Cherokee and found a big change from the last visit in July, The lobby was decorated beautiful and the rooms were much nicer than the last visit. The staff was the same and as friendly as ever. We especially enjoyed the shuttle driver, Chip and the clerk Ira they were so friendly and helpful, made you feel like family. I would highly recommened staying at this hotel..

Room Tip: they do have smoking rooms that are even nice for non smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz L, Director of Sales at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our number one goal is customer satisfaction and we are happy to have succeeded. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to have you come and stay with us again in your future visits to Cherokee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel's name has been changed to Cherokee Grand Hotel just two weeks ago. The hotel is very nice and the handicapped room was roomy as was the bathroom. The front desk staff was great in helping us find roads, places and explaining the meanings of the seven mask in the lobby. We got a great rate on the room.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the casino without staying there then this is the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudle mills
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Much to my surprise after making reservations, this hotel has recently changed hands and is now known as Cherokee Grand Hotel. No longer offering shuttle rides to Casino as they have a flat tire on the shuttle van. No heat in lobby. Enough said.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz L, Director of Sales at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Just wanted to let you know we appreciate your review and that our shuttle is back up and running and the heat issue has been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night when they were fully booked and still had great service. It used to be a Ramada but has been renovated and everything was very clean. We stayed in the main building and had great views of the mountains from the third floor. Huge picture window. I also looked into the rooms on the bottom floor wing and they looked nice and roomy and very clean. We had a handicapped room due to them being sold out so it was very spacious and it was right behind the elevator but it didn't have much noise. The towels were new and clean but a little thin. Loved the organic shampoo and soap with aloe vera. Loved that we could park right in front of room and keep an eye on our vehicle. Plenty of good wide parking. Shuttle to the casino runs from 3pm to 3 am. We didn't stay for breakfast since we were going to Peter's pancake house.

Room Tip: Main tower has great views. Single floor wing will let you park right in front of room for easy unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

It was our first stay at the Inn and we could have not been more satisfied. The room was very clean and up to date with the necessary amenities. The queen sized bed we had was very comfortable and provided me with the best night's sleep I've had on this trip. There is free wireless internet. Which is more than I can say for Harrahs across the street. Speaking of which you would have to be a sucker Harrahs would be proud to have to stay there when you could stay in a cleaner and friendlier environment for a fraction of the price. There is a shuttle to the casino provided by the Inn. There is also a free breakfast that was more than adequate for our needs. The staff were very friendly. Ira was especially helpful and made us feel welcome. The rates were very reasonable. I have paid a lot more for a lot less. We highly recommend the Inn of the Seven Clans. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz L, Director of Sales at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate you taking the time to review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

At first I was leary of staying here due to the ugly reviews. I am so glad we stayed.Ira Lively checked us in. He was very polite and helpful.When we got to our room which was very clean,I asked Antonia for extra pillows.She went and got them and asked if we needed anything else There was a family with small children,but it was still quiet.From the parking lot to the lobby evrything was in great shape. The room rate was better than the others and we were treated better here than in other places we have stayed. This will be our first choice.Thanks to the staff for making our stay enjoyable

Room Tip: 3rd floor mountian side very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa B, Director of Sales at Cherokee Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at or hotel. We are currently under new ownership and management so things are getting better every day. With that said we are about to undergo some renovations and changes but to imporve the hotel. We hope to see you again soon and are very pleased that you had a great stay. Follow us on Twitter & Facebook for updates, events, and discounts!
Thanks,
Lisa Wilnoty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherokee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherokee Grand Hotel

Address: 196 Painttown Rd, US 441 and US 19, Cherokee, NC 28719
Location: United States > North Carolina > Cherokee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Cherokee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherokee Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherokee Grand Hotel is located in Cherokee, NC adjacent to Harrah’s Cherokee Casino. Come stay with us and you can choose to take a leisurely 5 minute walk to the Casino, take our complimentary shuttle on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, or just drive over and use valet or park in the parking deck at the casino. The Casino offers all the live action gaming and slots available plus there are numerous places to eat, from Johnny Rockets and Dunkin Donuts to Brio and Ruth’s Chris, stay with us and you will be in close proximity to some great food and great entertainment! We are also very close to the historical attractions of the Cherokee Indian Reservation, including the Indian Village, Outdoor Drama, Museum of the Cherokee and downtown souvenir shopping. Our Hotel features spacious rooms with many having beautiful mountain views. We offer a number of complimentary hotel amenities including a free continental breakfast, a free shuttle to and from the casino on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight, free wireless internet access, free local calls and free parking. Each room has cable offering over 30 channels with a 32 inch color TV, in-room coffee, iron/ironing board, and hairdryers. We also offer triple sheet bedding with a down comforter and a mini-fridge and microwave in our deluxe rooms. We have a meeting/conference room available for your business needs. There is a fireplace located in the lobby for your comfort and each guest room is air conditioned. We also have a few spa/Jacuzzi rooms and connecting/adjoining rooms are available for your comfort. Our Front Desk is open and staffed for 24 hour service and our housekeeping staff takes extra care to provide a clean and comfortable stay. Come, enjoy your visit and let our home become yours. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cherokee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Seven Clans Hotel Cherokee
Inn Of The 7 Clans
Ramada Cherokee
Cherokee Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherokee Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.