We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soggy chips...but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
On the Border
8315 Northlake Commons Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28216-2270
704-612-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #377 of 1,940 restaurants in Charlotte
Restaurant details
NC
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Soggy chips...but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Some friends & i recently met for dinner at the On the Border chain's restaurant in Northlake Commons near Charlotte's Northlake Mall. Great location near to other restaurants and shops off WT Harris Blvd near I-77 exit 18.

While the atmosphere is comfortable and colorful, the food could have been better.

I think this must be a "hit or miss" place. We had to order the complimentary chips 3 times because they were soggy and dripping with oil the first 2 times, so much so that they were inedible. The chips & salsa are usually one of the best features of an evening out at a Mexican restaurant, but that was not the case here. The server was gracious and accommodating, but even on the 3rd try, the chips hadn't dried out.

As a vegetarian, I had expected to see a few veggie options on the menu, but ended up ordering a kid's meal to get a cheese quesadilla.

There are some other good options not far away...like Fiesta Maya off David Cox Road. I'll likely give On the Border another try, but probably only if persuaded by a coupon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    9
    8
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Most delicious mex in Northlake ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Enchiladas are always delicious! Tender chicken, delicious sauce! Prices are very reasonable and the good is always fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Tex Mex food. And good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent tex mex food. Stopped by on Father's Day with family. Food was excellent after I had to send back my fajitas. Food was not cooked all the way for me. They fixed that and manager came by just to make sure I was happy. Good place to go and good customer service

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“great food, service was aight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

been here a few times and the food is always great, but they tend to hire young and inexperienced staff. theres always confusion, or they forget something. lack of training or just inexperience. idk but dont have to high of an expectation for service when dining here

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hair!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hair in food...nuff said. Not sure what part of the body it came from, but was not from head, if you know what I mean. Disgusting. Restaurant only replaced that particular item, not entire plate. Who wants to continue eating from a plate that had a hair in the food? They removed the item from our check, but they could have given us a couple complementary margaritas. Not handled well by management. I will never return to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Border, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.