We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Yorkmont Rd, Charlotte, NC 28208   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Executive Package Savings
Ranked #66 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

I booked the room through Priceline for $60/night (2 nights) and after reading the reviews, was a bit nervous about how our stay would go. Check-in was easy and the front desk person, Sharon, was very helpful. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is located near many restaurants and malls. We stayed here during race weekend at Lowe's and had no problems whatsoever getting to Concord and back.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — Having to pay for internet service.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    106
    72
    41
    16
See reviews for
41
59
36
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

The hotel was very nice. Check in was easy and the rooms were comfortable. I almost always stay in the Hilton chain of hotels and very rarely have had any problems, but there was a slight exception with this one. I chose this location, because I was flying out of CLT early in the morning and I could park and fly from the doubletree. The problem I had was a security issue. Our shuttle was at 4:30am. When we went to the lobby to catch it, there were other guests there dealing with car break ins. Four cars had been broken into during the night. From what we heard, this is not a unusual occurance at this property. The lot is fairly well lit and the cars that were broken into were under lights and torwards the front of the lot. The staff said they believe the break ins happened between 7-8pm, but they didn't call the police until 1am. Then, they didn't alert the owners until 3am. There were no security cameras, only a large sign when walking in from the parking lot telling you to not leave any valuables in your car. One of the groups whose suv was broken into had left all there luggage in the car b/c they were catching a very early flight. They lost everything and had to cancel their overseas trip. Granted, they shouldn't have left bags in their car, they should have been able to trust that a upscale hotel would have a monitored parking lot. The staff did not seem helpful or at all empathetic. I was really worried about leaving my car there, after that, but made sure to make it obvious that nothing was in it for someone to bother trying to steal. So, basically, the building was fine, the parking lot was not.

  • Liked — location, rooms
  • Disliked — security
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

This hotel is a nightmare. I've had the misfortune of staying here twice in the last several days, as I booked through Priceline and couldn't change my second reservation.

Reservation #1: Arrived at the hotel at 12:30am only to be told that the hotel was oversold and there "might" be a room at a nearby Hilton. First words out of the clerk's mouth were "when you booked the reservation today..." Uh, no, I had booked weeks in advance. Normally when hotels are oversold, they put you up at a different hotel at their expense. Not this place -- I was told I was on my own to find a place in the middle of the night and could later request a refund from Priceline. Miraculously, they "found" a room for me at the Doubletree when I pitched a fit and would not back down.

Reservation #2: No problems with securing a room, however I am typing this from the hotel at 3:30AM because I can't sleep thanks to the loud party across the hall. I have complained twice to the front desk, which promised to send someone up to resolve the issue. Since I can hear everything, I'm fairly confident in stating that no one has been sent up here.

The service at this hotel is appalling. To add insult to injury, I did not receive my chocolate chip cookie at either check-in.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

While this was a very nice, clean, beautiful hotel. Upon checking in we received coupons for cookies that we're suppose to be available upon check-in. They were out of cookies. We had reserved our room well in advance, so it is not like we were an unexpected guest. Hotel was very quiet, 99% of staff was very friendly and helpful. However, when returning to the hotel one night after midnight we found the doors to be locked. Nobody had mentioned anything to us about how to get in. To make a long story short, the woman who was at the front desk on third shift on this night, was so EXTREMELY RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL, that I will never, ever give my money to another Hilton hotel. Sad that one person can completely ruin an otherwise wonderful stay, I also think it is a shame that they would have someone with such nonexistent customer service skills to be working with the public.

  • Liked — The extremely comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Extrememly rude front desk woman on third shift
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

When I booked this room through Hotwire, I received an excellent rate ($49/night). I can say that I did encounter a few surprises upon my arrival; i had been booked into a smoking room, though it had been cleaned enough that I could not detect a smoke odor. There was a lingering aroma of cleaning chemicals in the hallway that reminded me of a much lesser esteemed hotel brand.

Check-in was very efficient; the lone clerk on duty was pleasant despite the late hour. I was disappointed to find that internet access is complimentary only in the hotel lobby; in the rooms it is a $9.95 charge per day, which is not specified on the hotel website.

The room had a very comfortable bed. Furnishings were nice, though they are beginning to show their age. The draperies are a definite drawback; there are only the privacy shears and not actual drapes to draw closed. The television is a flatscreen model, but had an annoying box that had "Channel 3-" in the upper left corner that would not go away no matter what I tried. The cable options are very limited compared to other hotels I have stayed at in recent weeks.

For the price I paid for the room, I am quite satisfied. However, there is no way I would have been willing to pay much more than that. If you want a clean, basic room, this is a good option.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the room.
  • Disliked — Paying additional fees for internet access, very thin draperies.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

I got stuck at the airport due to a problem with the airline and they put me up in this hotel. I dreaded the evening, but was quite surprised with this property. The restaurant and bar were really nice (great food) and the room was quite comfortable. When I arrived I figured this would be the typical motel, but frankly I found the property to hold its own against some of the higher end chains I normally stay in. Comfortable bed, great big flat screen televisions, etc. Nice place to stay---especially if you are stranded at the airport.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

We were disappointed with the hotel. Not up to "Doubletree"-snuff. The room was adequate, but we could hear the neighbors, not to mention the airplanes. We requested a cot for our daughter. They brought it up with no bedding and asked if we would like it put it down where we wanted it! I was baffled.

When we returned from our trip, the Courtesy Van took 50 minutes to pick us up at the Charlotte airport. The hotel is 5 minutes away. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport

Address: 2600 Yorkmont Rd, Charlotte, NC 28208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport is just moments from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) and welcomes you with thoughtfully appointed room accommodations and convenient amenities and services including our complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service to and from the hotel. Our Charlotte, NC hotel is conveniently located close to Downtown, local sports venues, area businesses, shopping, museums and other Charlotte attractions. Enjoy the world famous WARM DoubleTree cookie upon arrival. We also boast a full service restaurant and lounge, and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.