We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Nice room. Great location. Front desk staff? Questionable!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Yorkmont Rd, Charlotte, NC 28208   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #70 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Nice room. Great location. Front desk staff? Questionable!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Pretty good deal. Nice property and beautiful rooms. Clean. Comfortable bed.

I stayed at the location on April 13th - April 14th at 1:00 pm

HOWEVER!!! The female desk clerk seemed to have a disconnect and no real interest in assisting. . It was almost a chore for her to accomodate our request regarding a slightly later checkout. She initially told me i full of extended request and I can't. But I explained to her that my car was hit by someone in the parking lot and we were up until 4:30 am handling this issue. She paused, then sighed on the phone and stated, "ok I'll do it this time!". Wow really??? Not customer focused AT ALL!

Also, upon checkout despite her rather rude demeanor over the phone regarding the checkout, I still tried to make "small talk" with her and make light of the her attitude. She seemed more interested in finishing her paperwork that was piled in stacks on top of the counter than assisting me. I was explaining to her about a accident with a car rental that happened to me the night before (which was the reason for the late checkout because we were up late working on that issue FYI: it was not at the hotel) and she basically dismissed me and asked "what was your room number?" and I had already given to her twice. She really had no sympathy or concern for my situation. She kept her head down with no eye contact and basically acted like i was bothering her.

I won't be staying at this location again because of this front desk clerks attitude.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Wunderlust1971,
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry about your experience at the front desk. I can assure you that it is not standard to find someone at our hotel who isn't helpful. We strive to ensure our front desk agents and other team members know how much we value your business. I apologize for any issues you had and I hope you return in the future so you can experience a higher level of service from our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    113
    81
    50
    17
See reviews for
48
61
39
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was adequate for an overnight stay on our way down to the beach. Clean and fairly updated. Staff was also friendly. The location is great if you are needing to stay near the airport or 77. If you are looking at staying at this hotel and can get a good deal, I would recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear BuckeyeBaker,

From one "buckeye" to another, I want to thank you for staying at our hotel and for posting. I am pleased that you found our location and staff to meet your expectations and we hope to see you again on your beach travels. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

While traveling for business I found this hotel online. It had a great location, since it was just a few minutes from the airport. The rooms were quiet. Shuttle provdied from the aiport if neccessary. Very nice rooms, breakfast and close to the downtown area as well. Safe area and free parking!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear SMSchmidt22,

It is always a pleasure to read when a guest is completely satisfied and we do appreciate your comments. We do agree that we offer one of the best locations in Charlotte, where not only are we close to the airport but uptown too. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I checked into the hotel and immediately found the front desk to be warm and friendly, even though the hotel was full and it was very busy. Even though they were booked I wanted a double room to a king room and they helped me out! I ordered room service the crab cakes were some of the best I have ever had. The breakfast server in the morning was friendly and the buffet was hot and delicious. I was only there for one night but I would definitely return. One problem is the cell phone signals. It was spotting in some areas; however, I have found this is true at most hotels in the area. I have AT&T and I hear that is a problem in the Charlotte area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Shawn F,

Thank you for your recent visit and for posting your comments. We always enjoy hearing our guests' feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly pass along your food and beverage comments to the team as they always like hearing how good our food tastes as well as the excellent service! We are working with AT&T to rectify some of the coverage problems in the airport area of Charlotte. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I travel often for work, staying in hotels; I am not often compelled to write reviews; one hotel that did was the DoubleTree in Charlotte NC where several of us stayed at the while attending a conference at the hotel. The hotel van driver was friendly and punctual. The front desk lady that checked us in was friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were a great surprise; very clean and fresh; it looks like they have been updated. We had breakfast in the restaurant and the service was great and I liked being able to order omelets and other items. The homemade muffins were also delicious. The bartender at night was friendly and we ended up eating dinner at the bar. The management and staff were friendly and very helpful during the conference which resulted in a smooth hassle free event. This was our first trip to Charlotte and the DoubleTree lived up to the goods things we had been told about Charlotte. Overall, a great staff, clean rooms, good food and I would be remiss if I forgot to mention your incredible cookies. We are looking forward to returning to Charlotte again.

Room Tip: The workout room has enough equipment to let you get a good workout. The equipment was in very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear RichardR,

It was a pleasure having your as our guest during your recent conference at our hotel. We are thrilled that you found our staff and hotel of excellent quality and we hope to host your group again in Charlotte. Thanks again for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We selected the hotel because of its proximity to the Charlotte airport (about 5-10 from the airport, 5 minutes to the airport). Good size rooms, friendly excellent service, and a fairly good restaurant where the kitchen was quite accommodating on changes to the menu items.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear NERoth,
Thank you so much for staying at our hotel and for your kind remarks. We will certainly share your comments with our team. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This Doubletree is conveniently located close to the airport. They have a free shuttle to and from the airport that is great! We were greeted pleasantly and were given the pre-requisite chocolate chip walnut cookie! Check in went smoothly and we were given a room on the top floor facing the courtyard. The elevators are placed on either end of the hotel, so if you have a middle room, it can be a bit of a walk to get to your room. The room was well furnished with a very comfortable king size bed. We were just there for one night, so we didn't really use any of the facilities although they do have a fitness center. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning before our early flight. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Travelgirlslife,

Thank you so much staying at our hotel and for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our property even if you were only here for a short time. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thanks again and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport

Address: 2600 Yorkmont Rd, Charlotte, NC 28208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Charlotte Airport is just moments from the Charlotte Douglas International Airport (CLT) and welcomes you with thoughtfully appointed room accommodations and convenient amenities and services including our complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service to and from the hotel. Our Charlotte, NC hotel is conveniently located close to Downtown, local sports venues, area businesses, shopping, museums and other Charlotte attractions. Enjoy the world famous WARM DoubleTree cookie upon arrival. We also boast a full service restaurant and lounge, and room service is available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Charlotte
Charlotte Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Charlotte Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.