We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   242 East Woodlawn Road, Charlotte, NC 28217 (Montclaire South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #79 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
NB Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“really good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

where at this hotel, for one night, on a road trip to Florida

extra good value, $66, CAN............ with continental breakfast, but we didn,t eat , because the choices was poor
coffee was ok

nice spot for a quick stay
and Domino's pizza is right acroos the street, and the service delivery is A+, and the pizza.. A+ too

Recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    67
    43
    17
    19
See reviews for
47
49
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I stayed at this Best Western location for a business trip and found it to be an average Best Western hotel. I stay at BW hotels when I can as I am member of their loyalty program which is a pretty good one.

The hotel is in a good location and is right next to a train stop so you can get downtown in a matter of 15 - 20 minutes which made it a great location for us.

There is a BBQ restaurant across the street which is VERY good and had a good after hours nightlife scene as well which fit into our style nicely. It is a Harley Davidson themed restaurant that does attract a biker crowd but not the rowdy bunch we found out.

All and all I found the hotel to be good quality and clean as well. They also have a free airport shuttle service which works out nicely as well.

For the price and location it is a great find in Charlotte.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

very close to the train link into downtown, brilliant if your attending the Conference center real added bonus traveling around is so easy from this hotel.
Staff are great friendly and helpful . I noticed a number of airlines use this hotel for their staff what could be a better recommendation ?

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

We traveled to Charlotte, for the Panthers vs Bears game. The hotel was very easy to get to and was in great shape. check-in was very efficient and took less than 5 minutes. The front desk staff was very helpful in offering dinning options that were close to the hotel and when requesting a few things that I had forgotten to pack.

The room was great, loved this little chairs. The bed was a little harder than what I prefer, but all in all was fine. Check-out was a breeze and then we were off to the game.

A great weekend in Charlotte. Go Bears!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

There was a mix up with my reservations and the front desk would not even help me fix the problem. They just gave me an 800 number to call and the number I called could not help be the hotel was individually own. The room had a strong odor of smoke, was old and needed updated and a good cleaning. It was not worth the 200.00 they charged me for it. That was the first time I had stayed at a Best Western in some time and now I remember why I don't stay at them. There are a lot of better Hotels out there to pick from.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The area leaves a lot to be desired, but it worked out well for what I needed. I stayed there because it was a block away from the light rail. I took the light rail 7 stops to Uptown for a seminar. Left the car in the parking lot at the hotel with no problems. Rooms are very outdated, wifi did not work too well, and the air conditioner was very LOUD!! Fitness center was also very outdated. BUT, what do you expect for $54. I can't complain too much.

Within walking distance there is a gas station and a couple of fast food restaurants. Also, just up the street is a Walgreens & CVS.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

we checked into this hotel and while the hotel itself was clean, everything from the lobby, to the halls to the room itself-when we walked into our room it smelled horrible like mildew. it was so bad that you felt like the floors were wet and the chairs, bedding and pillows. i asked to be moved to another room and it was the last result. I tried a third room and although the stench was not as bad-you could still smell it. i was told i could not get a refund if i decided not to stay which is crap considering how bad it smelled. I have no idea what would make it smell like that as i have never experienced this before. but i cannot recommend this hotel at all based on that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites

Address: 242 East Woodlawn Road, Charlotte, NC 28217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Montclaire South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sterling Hotel Charlotte
Best Western Sterling Hotel And Suites
Best Western Charlotte
Charlotte Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sterling Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.