We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stays for a a show at the music factory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Charlotte Center City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Charlotte Center City to your Saves list
Hilton Charlotte Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   222 East Third Street, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Second Ward)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi
Ranked #46 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stays for a a show at the music factory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stays for a a show at the music factory, it was about a ten minute drive. Place was clean and beautiful . Was not thrilled with having to pay to park, and having to hike it and take elevators to find the lobby. But it really wasn't a big deal. Hotels convenient to Epicentre and other places.
The room was very clean and very comfortable.
The rate was reasonable for a city hotel, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark W, Food and Beverage Director at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the close proximity to the Epicenter. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    231
    126
    44
    27
See reviews for
95
169
46
297
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Excellent central location. A typical Hilton brand hotel. I personnaly dislike old carpets in rooms. No particular services. No charm, but good generally good looking. I found it quite expensive. Next time will look for better value hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
MiklosAlmasy: Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient Uptown location. Our rates do fluctuate based upon what’s happening in Charlotte, but our top notch service and excellent location remain constant. I hope the next time your travels bring you to Charlotte you will give us another opportunity to serve you. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed for three nights during a training and trade-show we were attending at the convention center, literally a five-minute walk down the block! The staff was friendly, the room was clean, the location close to the convention center, restaurants, stadium, and public transportation. Having never been to Charlotte, and having valet-parked the car and left it there for the entire stay, I was pleasantly surprised at how neat down-town Charlotte is to walk around. Lots of art, statues, parks, historic sites etc.

Hubby is a hilton honors member, so we had key access to the executive suite. That means we got free breakfasts, free soda and water, and at dinner time, they had free snacks and a cash bar. Since the price of the room was more than we normally like to pay, we felt like we made up for that by basically only having to pay for one meal each day if we chose. The evening snacks were quite filling and good!

I only have two complaints:
They messed up the billing and put it on the wrong credit card, even after we gave them the preferred card we wished to be billed. We had to go back to the front desk and ask for it to be corrected again and it took 5 days to drop off the "pending" on the other card.

The shower had no water pressure either!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark W, Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the location. Since your review we have addressed the water pressure issue and I thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Hilton City Center in Charlotte NC were we stayed was not only convenient to the trade show we attended. The parking was convenient. The room and beds were super comfortable. Only wish I had more time to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Tammy M: Thanks for choosing to stay at our hotel! Glad to hear you had a great stay! We look forward to your return! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Its a good location, while not exactly the center of downtown but close enough. The only negative is that the parking and hotel registration are on different levels so that was a bit confusing. Parking is a bit expensive but all in all it's a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark W, Food and Beverage Director at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the location. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the third time I've stayed here and the quality keeps going down. Room door key lock was damaged and parts missing... Still worked though. Shower area had damage (bad caulking, broken soap dish)... Really poor wi-fi for an expensive price... Service was OK, but nothing outstanding... I'm not an incredibly picky person, but when you charge a lot of money and advertise as an upscale business property, you do expect something more... I just don't get that here. I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Luchtmc: Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay, and I appreciate you bringing them to our attention. After looking into things we were able to determine which room you stayed in and we were able to correct the issues you mentioned. I was disappointed to hear that you found our service to be only ok because it is our top priority to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. We truly appreciate your business and you sharing your comments. I hope the next time your travels bring you to Charlotte you will give us the opportunity to turn things around for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wanted to be in the center of things so we stayed at the Hilton Center City. Staff was friendly, when we got there we got to up grade our room for a few extra dollars to executive suite which included cocktails and breakfast the following morning. The bed was heavenly with abundance of pillows.

Room Tip: pay the few extra dollars to get to the executive suite and the perks.. check out time 12:30
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan S, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte Center City, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear AugustaOnTheGo2010: Thanks for staying with us and for sharing your feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Hope to have you return soon! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Charlotte Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte Center City

Address: 222 East Third Street, Charlotte, NC 28202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Second Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Charlotte
#28 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Charlotte Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte Center City Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Charlotte Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.