We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dorsett/Adams wedding!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Charlotte Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Charlotte Marriott City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (First Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #50 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Charlotte,NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dorsett/Adams wedding!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here on March 29th to attend a friends wedding that was being held at Founder's Hall. Check in was a breeze. The room was clean & up to date. The only problem was finding a spot to park in the parking deck. The hotel is a few blocks away from the Epicenter. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    185
    67
    17
    15
See reviews for
67
104
25
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Walking into this hotel, my first impression was great. It smelled fabulous, the service staff held the door open and I was able to check in quickly. My room was clean and spacious. The gym was clean and well stocked with towels. I especially liked the 5th floor outside lounge area. Cons: No parking, no microwave or refrigerator in my room. Our tub was Backed up the first day. The lock on my door jammed, so I had to regularly swipe my room key twice to get in. Since this was a business trip, all of our activities were at the hotel. Most of our meals were catered by the hotel and were ok...not great.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This property was located close to all of the touristy spots. The walk to food was short, and the activities in the area were plentiful. I was here for an academic conference so the great access to WiFi in the lobby was important. The rooms were great and the sports bar downstairs had excellent food.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located at N.Tryon and Trade Streets, The Marriott is at the center of UpTown and within walking distance of the new baseball park for the triple A Charlotte Knights and the Panther Football Stadium. All the fabulous restaurants are an easy walk from the hotel.

Cost to park at the hotel if staying here is $18 per day. The Marriott is an easy drive in from the airport and has long been one of the best places to stay in UpTown. The hotel has been updated and modernized and offers nice size rooms with 50" TV's, writing desks with multiple electric outlets and two speeds of internet connections.

It was easy for me to use Marriott Points to secure this room and we stayed here 2 nights. The staff is friendly and quite competent. A nice restaurant (Champions) is attached to the hotel and you can sign for F&B. Bathroom in the room is small with only a one-sink arrangement and a shower-tub combo. Room is bright and airy with pleasant wall coverings, but looks to be "pop-corn" type of ceiling. Room and hotel are very clean and the air in our room worked well and was very quiet.

Nice hotel----we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Concierge level and a view of the new ball park. The concierge room has B'fast in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

It was my first time to visit Charlotte. I went for a conference and the organizers picked the Marriott City Center as the location of the meetings. The staff at this hotel are very friendly. The room was clean. Great location in the middle of the city within walking distance to many nice shopping opportunities and restaurants. The meeting rooms were centrally located and easy to find. Overall very pleased with both the hotel and conference center.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I would liked to have given this hotel 5 stars. The room was clean and comfortable with a great shower; the fitness center, pool and whirlpool very nice; and the service people were just great -- BUT, a hotel is primarily used for sleeping and this was made very difficult by the outside noise: on one side of our room was a screaming baby and a coughing father; on the other side was a group who talked and laughed til after 4 a.m. The hallway noise and ice machine were constant. If they cannot soundproof it any better, they should supply an ambient soothing noise unit to drown out the cries, laughs, shrieks, coughs, clinks, etc, etc. Bring ear-plugs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary O, Manager at Charlotte Marriott City Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking your time to review your experience during your stay at the Charlotte Marriott City Center. We appreciate your comments regarding the service provided by our staff and we regret to hear that the noise level during the night prevented you from getting a good night sleep. We are currently addressing the noise issues with appropriate members of our team and focusing on preventing such disturbances to happen in the future.
Again, thank you for your review and we do hope to host you again during your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Back to Charlotte for meetings and once again picked the Marriott City Center. The staff at this hotel are very friendly. Upon check in they are very helpful and didn't have to wait in line. My room was neat and clean as you would expect from Marriott. The location is perfect in the middle of the city. They have a Starbucks right next store and in the lobby (important to me). For a business traveler this is a great place to stay, quiet, clean and friendly. I will be going back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlotte Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott City Center

Address: 100 West Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > First Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlotte Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 438 room luxurious Charlotte hotel is located in the heart of Uptown Charlotte's business district. And, it is moments away from Charlotte's finest restaurants, shopping, nightlife & museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Charlotte Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott City Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlotte Marriott City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.