We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Service & Integrity!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Charlotte Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Charlotte Marriott City Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202 (Fourth Ward)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast is on Us!
Ranked #46 of 171 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dovescry21
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Awesome Service & Integrity!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I was in Charlotte for the first time for a 2 day work conference. This Marriott hotel was in a great location in the middle of the city. There was some amazing places to eat all within a few blocks, which was very convenient. The hotel itself didn't disappoint and held up the Marriott reputation of being an awesome hotel! I'm really big on sleep quality based on the beds and the beds in the hotel was amazing...very comfy and plush with a really nice and fluffy comforter. The entire hotel oozes with luxury from the lobby restrooms to ballrooms and all the common areas! Very nice. I also left my Coach eyeglasses and case in my room when I checked out. It took me 4 days to realize that my glasses were missing. I called the hotel and the housekeeping staff located my glasses and mailed them to me free of charge! I was super impressed with the level of customer service and integrity I received. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again even if I had to pay a bit more!! Worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    203
    76
    19
    16
See reviews for
76
125
26
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tiffin, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This hotel has great location, and is easy to navigate meeting rooms, etc. The bar, Champions has great food and drink (although it's a little dark); The cigar bar, Cutter's, is a nice place to relax after a day of meetings. The hotel staff was very attentive and the rooms were clean. I only wish there were more outdoor areas to enjoy onsite. There is a rooftop sitting area on floor 5 outside the pool, but it leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. Walpole
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a typical Marriott but smaller. hard to tell what they did but the rooms barely accommodate two adults. This seems like a trick they are playing with these double rooms. The beds are full size and not queens. This is an under served hotel base dupon the sleeping rooms. They are charging full price for rooms that are smaller than normal for marriott.
The bathroom is smaller than normal. It is a real stretch for two adults to be comforatble in these rooms.

They are also really pushing their bed products, pillows and blankets.

I am a lifelong Marriott customer, lifetime platinum status, and this is the smallest room I have ever had for a Marriott. Definitely not up to their global standards. I don't think it was an optical illusion

Room Tip: Ask for a king it is the only way to not be cramped.
See more room tips
Green Features: Passable but nothing special just getting by in their efforts to be more environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed here for two nights for a work function and wished I had picked a different hotel. The location of the hotel is good for walking around the city but it makes other aspects of the hotel worse. First on that list is the quality of sleep you'll get which for me was poor. The hotel is unreasonably loud. Every police siren, car exhaust, bar crowd, conversation in the hallway, drop of a soda from the vending machine, toilet flush can be heard from inside your room, and I was on the 9th floor facing the W. Trade Street. The walls must be made of paper. The bed was lumpy and worn, the pillows were terrible, some too soft, some too firm, some should have been thrown out. The bathroom and shower were clean, in fact the whole room was, but the shower had poor temperature control. It was either scalding hot or ice cold and the slightest movement of the handle made a for a big swing.

I didn't eat at the hotel and didn't see a need to as Charlotte is filled with good restaurants. The only other service I used at the hotel was wireless internet in the room, 24 hours costs $9.95 which is simply absurd. Overall, TripAdvisor illustrates that there are better hotels to choose from in Charlotte, do yourself a favor and go with anyone of them over this.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary O, Manager at Charlotte Marriott City Center, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with about your stay at the Charlotte Marriott City Center.

You indicated in your review that you were not satisfied with the noise level during the night as well as the comfort of your bed and the Internet charges. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

We thank you again for choosing our hotel during your travels and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights for a conference in April 2014. The hotel, and particularly the rooms, we clean and comfortable. The cigar lounge was excellent. It's located within easy walking distance of area attractions, and several nearby restaurants. I would certainly recommend the Marriott City Center to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The wife and myself stayed here a couple of weeks ago while attending a Cher concert.

The one way road system coupled with the ongoing roadworks made entering the hotel a bit of a problem but after circling the block we pulled in. The only problem with the entrance way is it is very narrow and not a lot of room in the semi circular driveway. My wife stayed in the car while I checked in and then we went down to the parking garage. I can tell you it is very tight and the parking spaces are VERY close together... It is 'almost' impossible to get out of both sides of your car.

We took the elevator up to the main floor, changed elevators and went up to our room on the 18th floor (concierge level).
Our room was very clean and well laid out and extra towels were provided as per my request. The bed was extremely comfortable. The shower and tub had great pressure, a bonus in my eyes.

We had received a pre welcome email a few days prior to our arrival, asking if we needed any help or directions. A shame that I was NOT the person named in the email?

We walked into the club lounge and availed ourselves of the free water and sodas. After returning from our show the lounge was closed and unfortunately so was room service?

I think that (room service) hours could be changed or extended a little more.

Upon receiving our bill I noticed we had been charged for Valet parking which was incorrect as we had parked our car, they corrected the mistake when I approached the front desk staff.

All of the staff were very efficient and friendly and the hotel front desk/lobby area spotless.

We will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: High floors are quiet. Concierge level worthwhile if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I left my house at 6 am wrecked my car by 8 on the way to the airport to find out at 9:45 that my flight was canceled. Sat at the airport from 10:30a until my flight left at 4p. I got to Charlotte, hopped in my rent car to get to my hotel and was greeted by the best 2 guys EVER!
Nelson and Charlie were the best ever! They noticed I was a tired mess. They helped in every way possible. They treated me so good! Charlie even had my elevator open and ready when I turned around from checking in.
I travel alot but few people stand out as GREAT...but these guys take the cake!
Thank you both for making a tired, grumpy old woman feel special!
I can't say enough about the wonderful service I received here!
Did I mention Charlie and Nelson really made my bad day so much brighter. Thank you both!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlotte Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Marriott City Center

Address: 100 West Trade St, Charlotte, NC 28202
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#44 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#45 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charlotte Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exciting transformation of guest rooms, lobby & public areas is underway at the Charlotte Marriott City Center as we bring the future of travel to life. More local. More authentic. Located in the heart of Charlotte's business district, our hotel offers easy access to some the city's premier destinations, including the Bank of America Stadium and the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Our hotel is perfectly suited for both business conventions and wedding receptions with 20,000 square feet of dynamic meeting space. The Charlotte Marriott City Center has everything you need for truly brilliant travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlotte Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Marriott City Hotel Charlotte
Marriott Charlotte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlotte Marriott City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.