We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the nicest Holiday Inn I have ever stayed with” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8520 University Executive Park, Charlotte, NC 28262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
“Probably the nicest Holiday Inn I have ever stayed with”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Visiting my daughter for a couple of days over the weekend. Our room had a fridge and a large updated King bed with nice pillows. We were on the 6th floor and it was quiet even though there were several youth athletic teams on the property. Breakfast was good and the staff was excellent .... I would definitely stay here again.

Dave B.
Dublin, OH

Room Tip: I'm not sure all the rooms on the lower floors were as nice (had a fridge) but you can ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    61
    24
    18
    20
See reviews for
53
25
24
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Service and stay at this location was a breeze for me. Check-in and check-out are seamless, breakfasts and complementary services are even better. Everybody is super friendly here. The shuttlebus service is always awesome.

One of the shuttle drivers, Rasul, really blew me away with his service. Outgoing, friendly, attentive, and prompt. He was courteous and professional, and dressed sharp as a razor. Very open and welcoming personality. It felt like driving around town with an old friend!

Room Tip: Hotel has 6 rooming floors, ground level has no rooms. Seventh floor is closest to the lounge, but h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I will always stay here no matter what. I had an issue with my car and asked for assistance from Rasul....from the moment I asked for his help until the very end, he never left me. He made me feel like I was a part of a family that actually cared. His service will definitely keep me coming back to this hotel. I will recommend this hotel to everyone I know because of Rasul....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Was here for a horror/scifi convention, so I was expecting judgmental staff -- nope. Super good humor and respect as soon as I walked in. This immediately put me at ease. I was in and out throughout the day and night, from 8 am until 3am, and each shift had great staff at the front desk.

My corner room was tidy, with nice towel arrangements and all of that froufrou, which was groovy. It had a fridge, which was great. Microwave, even! Lots of space, too. The lighting was rather dim, and switches hard to find, but it was manageable.

One thing I appreciated was the foresight to buy earplugs at the Walgreen's just down the road, because the hotel room walls are paper thin. Shame there's no equivalent nose device, because despite the no-smoking policy, the room was lightly permeated with varying scents every night.

The one way roads here make traveling as a visitor difficult, but it is a very convenient location for eating and shopping. An all around solid, safe hotel with great service.

Room Tip: Corner room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear PotatoFiend,

Thank you for your feedback. It is lovely to hear your compliments of our staff and your room accommodations. However, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We appreciate the feedback you have provided which will help us as we continually enhance the product and service experience. We appreciate the feedback you have provided which will help us as we continually enhance the product and service experience.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I Celebrated mu 50th Birthday here. The event committee was Awesome. The food the bar the all crew treated me and my guest as if we were celebrity. Several of my guest stayed over night. The rooms were very clean. Room service was good and the breakfast was awesome. I will recommend this Holiday Inn to my family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I wanted to share with you the wonderful experience received during a Dinner at your Hotel. Keith, Ola, Ingrid and Steve made the experience unforgettable. They were courteous, friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I planned a weekend trip in Charlotte for 80 people. We stayed at this hotel and used one of their conference rooms for the weekend. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. I worked with the group sales department and they managed to meet our tight budget. The rooms were nice and clean and everyone had a wonderful time. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Address: 8520 University Executive Park, Charlotte, NC 28262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#49 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place is located in the heart of University Area Charlotte, NC. We neighbor Carolina's Medical Center University Hospital, Wachovia, Solectron, Phillip Morris, IBM, BellSouth, AT&T, Allstate, Verizon, EDS, TIAA CREF, EPRI-NDE, McKesson Downtown Charlotte, SouthPark Mall, and the Charlotte Convention Center. All while just 20 minutes away from Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Additionally some of the more EXCITING ATTRACTIONS within 5 minutes of our hotel include: Lowes Motor Speedway, Concord Mills Mall, Northlake Mall, The Charlotte Bobcat Arena, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, Douglas International Airport, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University Research Park and Bank of America Panthers Stadium. Our restaurant is a great first stop to enjoy a hot breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order selections. Guests can stay productive with complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Complete your stay by recharging in our Fitness Center and/or our Seasonal Outdoor Pool. When visiting Charlotte, we hope you will feel at home with the Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.