We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8520 University Executive Park, Charlotte, NC 28262   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“NICE HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel staff was very hospitable. Eunice ROCKS! She was always greeting us with a smile, and was very helpful with letting us know places to eat and go for site seeing during the day. Breakfast was good every day. We were here for a church conference. The hotel is undergoing renovations, but the stay was still very nice. The beds are extremely comfortable. I wish there were vending machines for snacks. We ended up going to Walgreens and getting snacks for the week. That was actually cheaper to do. It was great having a fridge and microwave in the rooms.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Lisa J,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a great stay! I will personally make sure that Eunice receives this great compliment you left her and we hope you return soon to the Holiday Inn Charlotte University!

Sincerely,

Anthony White
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    61
    24
    18
    20
See reviews for
53
25
24
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights August 2-4. The rooms were great. The housekeeping was applaudable. Even though they were doing major renovations, the place was not dusty or uninviting.
The only thing I had a problem with was the 100.00 room deposit policy. I have never stayed at any hotel (except Hawaii) where the room deposit was so high. It is very limiting in these tough times for people who might be travelling on a budget.
If you leave a cash deposit, you have to wait until they complete a room inspection to get your money back.
Despite that, I would stay again. It was in a great location, the beds were comfortable and the hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Gardens, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed here for a family reunion. They are under renovations and it was a horrible stay so far. I have the lady cleaning my room saying she can't change the towels yet or bring in clean sheets because the laundry people did not come in until 9am so they have no clean sheets or towels.. Really!!!! How is that my problem. So that means i can't have clean sheets or towels??? Really.. Wow where is the management on this. Totally a disappointment. That is definitely very poor service. Seems like the last time I came to North Carolina it was the same. Stayed in Holiday Inn. They were under renovation as well. I mean always renovating but never completed. I think this will be the last Holiday Inn for me in Charlotte.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitea, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear lady1realtor,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. The issues that occured will be discussed with the appropriate department for necessary actions. We hope to get the opportunity to show you an improvement on your next trip to Charlotte.

Sincerely,

Anthony White
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I was at your hotel for a convention. Location-perfect. Rooms,even though the hotel is under renovation, I was impressed with the rooms. Very modern. The hotel staff is very friendly. Eunice was extremely helpful, and very professional. We plan on holding the conference in charlotte next year. I am looking forward to seeing the finished product.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

There was fairly major renovation going on during our visit, and the place was clean and welcoming in spite of it. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all details. The rooms were large and comfortable, having been recently renovated. Thank you Katya, in the Concierge Lounge for a fine breakfast both mornings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The room was very nice and newly remodeled. The entire lobby however is closed and under construction which was really no big deal to us. We enjoyed the outside pool, it was very clean and a nice size. My only complaint I have is that they put a $100 charge on your card to cover any issues that may happen. I've never had a hotel actually charge the card.. I've had them all hold the card number to charge IF a problem happens but this place actually charges the card at that time. It takes 5-7 business days for it to be refunded back to the card. We haven't seen it put back on yet, but it's only been 3 days. I find that policy to be a difficult one to accept. If it weren't for that... we would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at The Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place for 5 weeks, on business. Everyone was extremely friendly, helpful and polite. I am a priority member and I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast every morning with Katiya. The bartender, Tee was super friendly and the cook, Shayla was impressive. Every morning and afternoon the front desk staff would greet me, Mark, Bethany, Naomi, Eunice and Chelsea. I felt like it truly was a home away from home. If something wasn't totally right in my room, Cookie the maintanance engineer, came and took a look at it immediatly. I wil lbe traveling back to Charlotte in a few weeks for business and I will msot definitely be staying at The Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place!!

Room Tip: If you're traveling for business I suggest the single queen or king bedroom. There is more room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place

Address: 8520 University Executive Park, Charlotte, NC 28262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#17 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#48 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place is located in the heart of University Area Charlotte, NC. We neighbor Carolina's Medical Center University Hospital, Wachovia, Solectron, Phillip Morris, IBM, BellSouth, AT&T, Allstate, Verizon, EDS, TIAA CREF, EPRI-NDE, McKesson Downtown Charlotte, SouthPark Mall, and the Charlotte Convention Center. All while just 20 minutes away from Charlotte Douglas International Airport. Additionally some of the more EXCITING ATTRACTIONS within 5 minutes of our hotel include: Lowes Motor Speedway, Concord Mills Mall, Northlake Mall, The Charlotte Bobcat Arena, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, Douglas International Airport, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, University Research Park and Bank of America Panthers Stadium. Our restaurant is a great first stop to enjoy a hot breakfast buffet and cooked-to-order selections. Guests can stay productive with complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Complete your stay by recharging in our Fitness Center and/or our Seasonal Outdoor Pool. When visiting Charlotte, we hope you will feel at home with the Holiday Inn Charlotte University Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charlotte-University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.