We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charlotte stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Charlotte University Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Charlotte University Place to your Saves list
Hilton Charlotte University Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8629 JM Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SeaLife Package
Ranked #17 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Georgetown, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charlotte stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Charlotte University Place this weekend for a convention.1st time here for us and this convention.Staff were very nice and accomadating.Restaurant had a great breakfast buffet.Beds were comfortable and roomy.Elevators were a bit slow,very crowed on Sat,so we took stairs sometimes,but all in all a very good time.

Room Tip: We were in room 612. A good view of the boardwalk behind it.Quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Hammockman2013,

We are pleased that you shared your wonderful comments about your recent stay regarding our property. We strive to go above and beyond in our customer service and was glad to hear that our team made you and your family feel very welcome here. We look forward to you selecting Hilton Charlotte-University Place as your "must stay" location the next time you are in town.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    205
    68
    30
    15
See reviews for
149
119
45
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringgold, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Nice and large suite. King bed with fully furnished living area, chairs, table and full length dresser. Large juccusi and free standing bar in an area the size of a regular room. Towels folded in shape of swans. Full floor to ceiling windows overlooking lake. Two sectioned area for bath and vanity. Large flat screen TV on wall swivel for viewing throughout the suite. Too bad the trip was only for one night. Remainder of hotel was very nice. Full cooked to order or buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Davidpond911,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful jacuzzi suite! The opinions of our guests are of the utmost importance to us, because our goal is to provide each and every guest the "Ultimate Stay Experience"! We look forward to you selecting Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location the next time you are in town.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

this hotel is located near the speedway and hosts many conventions, so you would think they would have enough parking for their guests..they do not! This weekend I stayed at the hotel and a convention at the hotel had blocked of a large part of the parking lot with a tent, and two other times in the past when I have either stayed here or attended events here, you could not find a place to park. even their valet parking would fill up. So EVERY Single time, we would spend up to an hour trying to find a place to park, with most local businesses towing, because they are tired of the hotel guests taking up parking reserved for their customers. There is just no excuse for making your guest either pay for valet, and hope it's not full, or walk blocks. And if you are handicappped, forget it! And if you do find a parking place, you can't take the chance of leaving to go somehwere to eat, because it won't be there when you get back. So, I was captive all weekend at the hotel. Next, they only had a buffet for the meals all weekend and they wanted $19.00 per person for brots and hamburgers and cold french fries and salad bar. The next morning was only a breakfast bar for $13.00 which was loaded with pancakes, waffles, bread and some home fries with some steamed, prepackaged "eggs" and fruit. Well, my sister is on a low carb diet and I'm gluten free. We have rarely been to a restaurant where we could not find something to eat, but we went without this weekend. You had no option of ala caert or ordering from a menu. Lunch was also sandwiches and pre cooked, cold fries and a chicken salad for $7.00. Luckily, there was a mexican restaurant across the lake from them and we hiked it twice a day. I'm a Hilton member, but I doubt I will ever be back, as they just don't care enough to resolve their problems or care enough about their guests. So don't stay here, eat here, or hold an event here. Sorry Hilton, but you just don't seem to want to resolve your problems and many told me that they are requesting events be moved to another hotel.

Room Tip: don't stay here, parking is impossible, unless you want to walk eve6y where you go and every tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Liz R,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. You expressed some valid concerns and I appreciate you sharing ways in which we could improve in the areas in which we fell below your expectations. It is defintely not our desire for any of our guests to leave feeling dissatisfied with the service that they have received at our property. We do value each and every guest and we look forward to you allowing us an opportunity to render you the type of service you have come to expect from a Hilton property. Please contact me at the email address below so that we can "make things right" with you.

Best Regards,

Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
marieta.bryan@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Our family was looking for a great wedding place that was half way between Ohio and Florida. So we chose Charlotte, NC as the city where we'd all meet for my daughter's wedding day. Let's just say we are really glad we chose this Hilton hotel. The location for the ceremony was perfect, the food was excellent, the rooms were top-notch, and the staff went out of their way to make things run perfectly. Our event planer at the Hilton (Jenna Morrow) did an EXCELLENT job helping us plan the perfect March wedding. Even though our little group (about 20) didn't spend a ton of money, we were treated like celebrities. Jenna made great recommendations and everyone in our family raved about how well-planned this incredible weekend was. (THANKS Jenna!). As the father of the Bride - I couldn't be prouder of the place we chose for my little girl's special day.

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms/suites are worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Brian P,

Thank you for taking the time to share the wonderful comments about your daughter's wedding. We were so delighted to hear that our staff, especially Jenna, went above and beyond to make your daughter's wedding very special. We pride ourselves in going the extra mile to make each guest feel special and I am glad that you had an opportunity to experience our newly renovated rooms as well. We were honored that you chose the Hilton Charlotte University Place as your venue for your daughter's wedding! Congratulations again!

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I use the Hilton brand hotels when ever I travel. My wife and I spent the night on our way to Atlanta. The room was clean and well made up. However, the air conditioner had a noisy compressor that kept us up most of the night. In addition, the mixing valve in the shower didn't regulate the water temp well. The hotel restaurant was ok for dinner but better at breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful. If we were spending more than one night I would have requested to have my room moved

Room Tip: Away from the elevators and make sure the air works properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Jeff J

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Charlotte University Place. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room; however, we were distressed to hear that the water temperature in your room would not regulate, along with the HVAC unit preventing you from sleeping. It is never our desire that any of our guests leave dissatisfied. Please contact me via email at marieta.bryan@hilton.com to see if we can rectify this situation. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We really enjoyed to convenience of the location of the hotel and eating places around the hotel. The staff was very pleasant and the rooms were very well laid out and roomy. The view from the room was breath taking and the shopping area was very nice to just enjoy an evening stroll.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear 348charlesf,

Thnak you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. We are glad that the local area was so convenient for your needs and that you were able to walk around the lake visiting various shops and restaurants. Our staff is always willing to assist our Guests in whatever way possible to enjoy the local area around the hotel. We were glad that you enjoyed the view from your room. We look forward to you selecting Hilton Charlotte-University Place as your "must stay" location the next time you are in town.

Best Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Due to a conference in the area I couldn't stay in my downtown area. Reviews were positive so I decided to try this location. I was impressed. Very clean room with a great view. I would stay again and recommend to others. They had 4 elevators that ensured you didn't have to wait long.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieta B, Guest Loyalty Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Kennie Dale A,

This comes as a personal thank you for taking the time to post your comments concerning your recent stay at our property. The opinions of our guests are of the utmost importance to us, because our goal is to provide each and every guest the "Ultimate Stay Experience"! We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you selecting Hilton Charlotte University Place as your "must stay" location the next time you are in town.

Warm Regards,
Marieta B | Guest Loyalty Manager
Hilton Charlotte University Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte University Place

Address: 8629 JM Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#12 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte University Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside multistory hotel & adjacent tower located mins. from University of North Carolina-Charlotte & Charlotte Motor Speedway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Charlotte University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.