We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Charlotte University Place

Save Saved
You added Hilton Charlotte University Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Charlotte University Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8629 JM Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SeaLife Package
Ranked #21 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Advance, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was pleased with our stay. The room was very clean. The staff was friendly, we had daily conferences and they were very attentive. I didn't get to go and visit the outer malls but they were very invited. The Hilton restaurant had the best spinach and goat cheese salad, yum!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    185
    61
    27
    13
See reviews for
126
105
42
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at many Hilton brand hotels and this one by far was one of the nicest. Service was great, rooms were very clean and location was good. The food at the bar was also pretty good for bar food.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great business hotel
Fantastic breakfast buffet
Nice, clean rooms.
4 floors (of 12) are reserved for HHonors Exec members. While rooms are not a huge upgrade, its nice that they do care enough about elites to offer a differentiated product.
Lounge access for all exec floors, food in evenings and breakfast, beer/wine has a small charge.

Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: include your HHonors number!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel had a very strange smell in the lobby and in the elevators. The room felt like a steam room and an inferno!! I basically checked out and checked into the Drury across the street. I don't even care that I am out the money for the night that I am not staying there!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel once every 4-6 weeks for the last 2 1/2 years. It is walking distance to several pretty good restuarants - mexican, japanese/sushi, sports bar, italian, bar bq. It also has a good walking/jogging track behind it that circles the lake. There is several stores in the strip mall near by. The hotel is clean, the staff is extremely nice. I held a meeting for my team there last year and the planning staff was extremely helpful. The executive level has a nice lounge and the staff there is super. The only downside is that it has large meeting facilities so the hotel is often full/busy with various conferences.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel itself and the staff were great !

My biggest concern was the huge amount of people hanging out in front of the hotel and in the lobby area for hours on end. There was a roller derby event and there were hundreds of peolpe just hanging out. Many of the women were pretty scantily dressed. If we did not have an event to attend at the hotel itself, we would not have checked in and would have gone to another hotel. We also had an issue with noise from the room next to us- lots of people in and out and people smoking in a non-smoking hotel. This was even after they put us on the Executive level. We did call security and things were ok for a while, but then they started back up again.

While it is not the fault of the hotel who checks in for events, just be aware that this is a convention type hotel and you may want to ask before you make a reservation what type of events are planned for your dates. While chekcing in and asking for a quiet location/room in the hotel, the person at the front desk told us that we should have seen it on another very busy weekend- that there were more people. Just be aware.

At no time did we feel unsafe. There were several security personnel. This hotel did not seem to be in an unsafe area- it was just the large groups of people hanging out- some literally. We did sit in the bar / lobby area for a while with another couple and people watched. :)

The bar tender was worn out, but she did serve us quickly. There should have been more bar tenders scheduled when the hotel was full for several large events.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We checked in early and were surprised at the the number of people in the lobby. There was a skating convention happening and the hotel was almost full. At first we were put off with the noise and activity and feared that we wouldn't get any sleep, but the staff put our fears at ease. In fact we spent time in the lobby late that evening and learned a lot about skating. The ony downside to the evening was the service in the bar. The bartender looked worn out and although we sat at the bar for almost five minutes she didn't even notice us until we called her over. I forgot to mention that the bar was almost empty.
The room was fine and the beds were very comfortable. We slept great and enjoyed breakfast in the hotel bar. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte University Place

Address: 8629 JM Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#14 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte University Place 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside multistory hotel & adjacent tower located mins. from University of North Carolina-Charlotte & Charlotte Motor Speedway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Charlotte University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.