We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel name should be changed to jilted!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Charlotte University Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Charlotte University Place to your Saves list
Hilton Charlotte University Place
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8629 JM Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SeaLife Package
Ranked #21 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Hotel name should be changed to jilted!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Check in and out ran smooth. The room was spacious but the bathroom was very small. My coffee pot did not work the whole time of my stay. And as always the housekeeping forgot the main essentials! No sugar!!! And after a long day of work I returned to my room with the way I left it in the early morning hours! No clean towels, bed not made and no coffee or sugar. I don't think I will be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djgdjgdjg, Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I have spoken to our Housekeeping team in regards to the issues you faced to help make sure others do not face the frustration you faced. We look forward to having you back to the hotel in the future to show you this is not a regular occurance at the Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    193
    63
    28
    13
See reviews for
132
107
42
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For a Hilton property this was a disappointment. Location is great, check-in was a breeze and front desk staff very pleasant.....however the rooms need a major gut job. Bathrooms are very small with sinks that sit above the counter and look nice but are not functional. Tile/tub and flooring are all old school. Plumbing noise from other rooms can be disturbing to some. Sheets/pillows were fine but beds are on their last leg. Temperature was diffucult to control in the room. Gift shop in the lobby was nicely stocked and convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djgdjgdjg, General Manager at Hilton Charlotte University Place, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with your guest room. Our guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration, in fact, I have made sure to pass your comments to our corporate offices to ensure that we can continue to provide customers with the best hotel experience. We hope you can give us another opportunity next time your travels bring you back to our area..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Recently stayed here on business (conference). The conference was located in the hotel. Overall this place is very good: the rooms were clean and spacious, the conference space was comfortable and functionable, and all the food i ate at the conference was excellent. The business center was fully equipped, a fully functional gift shop, and very helpful staff. Room service was quick and the food very good. Breakfast, although expensive, was the freshest, best tasting I have had on the road-worth the price. One interesting feature about the hotel is that it is located in the center of shops and surrounded by strip malls- all with in walking distances but not so close as to be a distraction or cause you problems sleeping at night. Food choices was limited
one or two chain resturants and a mexican place are right out side along with a few pubs. Overall not a bad place to spend a few days if business leads you to Charlotte.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water feature (East side) are fine, just request a room on the 7th floor or higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

From the moment we stepped out of our taxi from the airport onto Hilton property, we were smitten! A gentleman bell-hop greeted us; we experienced considerate & efficient check-in & even though we did not have an executive room or lakeside view ~ we enjoyed a clean, good-sized comfortable one on the 8th floor. The hotel dining is elegant & delicious & the wait staff couldn't be more accommodating. Our every need was met, including needing a dress bag (long story)! We only stayed one night (for an Irish dance competition) but left feeling like we had a mini-vacation too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My stay was very comfortable. I was especially grateful for the large desk, comfortable chair and availability of accessible outlets at the desk. Good food in the restaurant. This hotel is very comfortable for business travel. But what a nightmare pulling in and out. From the freeway exit to the turn is maybe a mile and took me at least 15 minutes. I had to cross 5 lanes (single direction) of traffic to make the left turn. The next morning it took me 25 minutes to drive 1.8 miles to my destination. This is not a pedestrian-friendly area so walking wasn't an option. This Hilton is great but there's a Marriott on the drive going into my company's campus that I'll stay at next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have stayed twice at this hotel, both times for Irish dance competitions. Each staff member we encountered was courteous and friendly, able to help with our needs, even offering a better rate for an extra night's stay. The room (11th floor, executive) was quite large with two queen beds, requisite desk area, and seating. There is a small coffee feature, but no fridge/micro combo, so don't expect to keep food in the room. The bathroom was smallish, especially considering the large size of the room itself, but sufficiently furnished. I would have liked to see rooms on a non-executive floor for comparison, and will make a note of that the next time we visit. As far as the location of the hotel, it is right off I-85 on the north side of Charlotte, near Ikea, the UNC Charlotte campus, and plenty of shopping/convenience areas. Because it is a convention center, there is a great deal of coming and going; sometimes parking is at a premium, but we did not experience that at our event. Valet parking is available, but you can self-park in the surface parking for free. A full breakfast is available; I am unsure of the cost because we received free vouchers, but there is an omelet station and self-serve buffet. All in all, this is a very accommodating hotel with excellent staff and the sort of service you would expect from an urban Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while spending the weekend in Charlotte on a family trip (3 nights). They gave us a very nice corner room on the top floor when they found out we were visiting and really trying to enjoy ourselves (being a Hilton diamond member probably helped a little as well...). Breakfasts were good and the room was clean. Nice walking area including a small lake with some good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Charlotte University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Charlotte University Place

Address: 8629 JM Keynes Dr, Charlotte, NC 28262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#13 Business Hotel in Charlotte
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Charlotte University Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside multistory hotel & adjacent tower located mins. from University of North Carolina-Charlotte & Charlotte Motor Speedway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Charlotte University Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel Charlotte
Hilton Hotel Charlotte
Charlotte Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Charlotte University Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.