We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3127 Sloan Dr, Charlotte, NC 28208   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 170 Hotels in Charlotte
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This motel was very clean. The front desk personnel were professional and helpful and breakfast was more than adequate. The cleaning staff was friendly and competent, even though it was a busy weekend with a large convention in town and the motel quite full. It was the best value for the money I have experienced at any motel brand in quite awhile. I am a frequent traveler and stayed here for three nights.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2040, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    124
    58
    30
    18
See reviews for
106
75
56
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Bay, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Tried to check in late on a snowy night traveling with our teen daughter, having just finished the college tour swing through NC. The room for 2 adults had been pre-paid online through a major booking website (name starts with "hot", but not so, as it turns out).

Reception person Eric refused to accommodate our completely reasonable request for two beds (of any size) because, obvious to him as well, a 17 yr-old girl does not want to sleep in the same bed as a parent. I had called ahead and yes, they had plenty of rooms in inventory with 2 doubles. (In my experience, it's far more common to find hotels running out of king-bedded rooms these days.)

Eric flatly refused to assign us to anything but a one-bedded room. We pleaded, begged, and cajoled. He also refused to consider a rollaway alternative. He admitted that he had plenty of double-bedded rooms in his inventory that night, but callously blamed the online booking through which we purchased our room the night before, which, again, is not so "Hot".

We tired of arguing, and went back out into the parking lot to sit in the car on the phone begging with the not-so-"Hot" people for some type of assistance. I waited for 20 minutes on hold. Spoke with a very surly "Ed", who sounded like he was working for the DMV, not a private company wanting to grow business and please people. After gyrations from fury to capitulation, he called Eric, and got La Quinta to cough up one of the many empty rooms with 2 beds for 2 adults (as booked) from La Quinta North's substantial inventory of empty rooms (wonder why?).

The main reason I would stay away from this hotel is not just that the rooms are noisy and not that well maintained (it's an older property also), but that the uncaring and unbending attitude of the staff person at the desk was something out of a holocaust camp movie. He could absolutely have cared less about whether you even had a room at all. And it's not that making a small accommodation to a customer would have cost anything, or jeopardized his job. He admitted that offering a 2-bedded room would NOT have gotten him in hot water with Management. He just couldn't care less. You'd think we were asking him for a 3-room oceanside suite for free!

And that attitude why you should stay far away from this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2040, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Major booking websites are a great tool for the traveler. They provide a great price for the room types available, while also providing the terms of usage that the website requires. This includes changing room types of a pre-paid reservation at check in. We apologize to this guest for their experience at our hotel and thank them for their feedback about our hotel and their booking website experience, including the importance of understanding the terms of usage that the website they used required in regards to changing room types at the time of check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Nothing wrong with this hotel, just nothing special - when the La Quinta Charlotte South is so close, stay there (see my review of that location - newly renovated). I have been staying at different La Quinta locations so that I can compare them to each other - so that when transitting, say, Charlotte, I know to stay in the La Quinta south location.

This La Quinta is in a good location right off the highway. The rooms were quiet and clean. There is plenty of room to walk your dog outside (and La Quinta is unbeatable when it comes to their pooch policy - no extra cost). The "Bright Side" breakfast features basic items to get you going in the morning. Staff was generally friendly - we found them not quite the usual welcoming group that we see at La Quintas, and we've stayed at a few.

So...it's average. If I was tired while driving, I'd certainly stop here. If I had a choice, I think I've been clear what that would be.

My little non-nuclear family travelling together on this, with one pooch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2040, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Charlotte, NC offers 2 great La Quinta's for your travel needs. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed here for an overnight connection in Charlotte en-route to Jamaica. Called for shuttle upon landing. Shuttle arrived within 15 minutes. Friendly driver, 10 minute commute to hotel. Quick friendly check in and was in room within 5 min. There is a Waffle House across the street if you are hungry and a convenience store if you require a few "12 ounce sleep aids" as I did. Had my 4 "sleep aids", got 5 hours of good sleep and up at 5:30 for the 6am shuttle. Breakfast not totally out at 5:50 but there were fruit and muffins. I would recommend an airport hotel putting full breakfast out a bit earlier as people have to be at the airport at such ungodly times. Driver to the airport was very friendly also, overall a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2040, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tully
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for an overnight on our way to Florida. Hotel was very pet friendly; were given room on first floor which made it easy to walk dog out. Room was average size, clean, and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was average fair for continental. Only complaint was that we registered for 5 people (2 adults and 3 children) and when we got there we were told a roll away bed would not fit in room. Five year old ended up sleeping on floor for the night with some extra blankets and a pillow.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed at La Quinta for one night while travelling over Thanksgvining. I was happy with the location and the service at the hotel. The price was right and the room was basic, but clean and tidy. The linens and furniture seemed new enough. Some hotels in this price range are down right grungy, but this one was nice. The breakfast was basic. They do allow dogs though with no pet fee which we loved since we travel with a small dog sometimes. I would definitely stay again for a no-frills one night stop.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located near the Charlotte/Douglas International Airport. Van service is available from 4:30am to 2:00am. Nice rooms. Friendly Staff. Elevator. Breakfast is OK, but nothing special, and ends at 9:30am.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North

Address: 3127 Sloan Dr, Charlotte, NC 28208
Location: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Charlotte
#47 Family Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Charlotte Airport North Hotel Charlotte
La Quinta Charlotte
Charlotte La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Charlotte Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.